3/18/12 Max AMPS 312 +2 397 +4 486 +10 564

Status
Not open for further replies.

max&emmasmommie

Member Since 2012
Hello, I am from Lantus (Relaxed). I need to make choice: Drop to 1uBID and SLGS or raise dose to 2.25u? I am posting here in the hope that I'll have a few more opinions/suggestions for the AM shot time on 3/19/12. I would appreciate any advice, suggestions, sharing of past experiences, etc. that will help me make this decision. Thank you.

The relevant post in Relaxed is here: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=32&t=66485

I'm leaving for vacation on Friday, March 23, and I'll return April 1. My pet sitter is going to come twice a day, and vet's office is 5 minutes away, including emergency. (This might be a good reason to not raise the dose?)

My signature has his food, etc information. Her is a little more info:

3/17/12 Max PMPS 600 +2 398 +4 269 +9 246

Dx 2/3/12 intial prescription 2u Lantus

No consistent BG test values since diagnosis.

May have bounced four times since diagnosis: 3/9/12; 3/11/12; 3/15/12 (at PMPS) and on 3/16/12

May have been a missed dose/fur shot at AM shot time 3/17/12 and 3/15/12.

Today: Shot at 9:15 am; Went outside at +7 and +9; Ate at AMPS +2, +4 +6 +7, +9.

Unable to check for ketones.

Walking poorly at +6, but not on hocks.

May currently be on the high end of another bounce?
 
hi dale - i read through your post in relaxed - all of those folks giving you advice there are regulars on this TR forum. sienne is one of our most experienced people and she looked at max's ss. you can trust her advice.

i would disagree with your vet's comment about the dental cleaning. we have seen cat after cat improve following a dental. if it's bad enough that you are seeing red gums, it's likely bad. it's not at all uncommon for cats to need teeth removed and then to see a tremendous improvement in BG numbers. it is often near impossible to get cat's BG regulated if they have infections around their teeth.

however, your vet's comments of his past experience would make me want to find a different vet dentist to do the cleaning. there are vets that specialize in that. at least your dentist is being upfront about his skills in this.
 
Thanks, Julie. What about having his teeth cleaned without anesthesia? I have heard it's wonderful, ang then again, I have read that some people think it is uncessarily cruel. However, with his kidney issues, diabetes, age, etc.? Has anyone tried this? Were you there as the cleaning was done to see the effect on the cat? Of course, if he needs an extraction, that's probably not going to be possible without anesthesia.
 
i think you could not clean a cat's teeth without anesthesia. the cat wouldn't understand what was happening and would be terrified. i wouldn't even consider it.

what you need is a good vet with the proper equipment to monitor max and keep him safe for you.

take a look at mikey's ss: mikey's ss

just scroll down while you're watching the dose column on the left hand side. notice all the dose increases. then see february 1st when he had a dental done. notice the dose column after the dental.

mikey has just started doing a trial to see if he's ready to go off of insulin.

eta - i was not there with him. i know they knocked him out for his dental, which i am convinced is the right thing to do. some vet dental offices have a person just to monitor the anaethesia - if you're really concerned, i'd find someone who does that.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top