3/17 Mouzer: AMPS 177;205/+1 209/+3 179/+5 180/+8 193/+10 236/PMPS 259/+1 342/+3 271/+8 275

Cherryl & Mouzer

Member Since 2017
I am going to be watching Mouzer today.
This is exactly what happened when he went into remission before.
I know it could mean nothing but I still need to keep an eye on this.

Based on June 12, 2017 PMPS +12 183 blue +12.5 204 and I gave the shot of 1.25u
Mouzer was with an AMPS of 351 the following morning and then he went to the blues and greens and with one yellow and then soon in remission.

I was scared to give this am shot but I kept in mind how I did give the June 12th shot and I was scared then too but I did it. I did not want to skip this shot because I would hate to think I skipped THE shot that counts.
I will get a +1 and going by June 12, 2017 - if that day repeats itself, I will be testing every hour today, at least until I feel safe.


3/16 Mouzer: AMPS 378/+1 373/+4 315/PMPS 303/+2 284
 
Last edited:
Don't skip. He is headed up. Give him the shot. Unless you cannot monitor him today.

ETA: I see that you shot him. Well done! Yes, start with a +1 and +2. :)

I felt like I would have been a fool to chicken out on the shot, so I did it!
I am glad that I have 2017 information because if I did not see that I did that shot then, I would have been too scared now :D
I did have something to do today but have put it off and see if I have time tomorrow.
Today is on hold hahaha

Mouzer did not eat as much as usual yesterday and had me a little concerned.
He only ate about .5 of friskies this morning.
I hope if he goes low, I can get him to eat.
 
Last edited:
I felt like I would have been a fool to chicken out on the shot, so I did it!
You did great! I am glad you shot! :bighug:

Mouzer did not eat as much as usual yesterday and enough less he has me nervous.
He only ate about .5 of friskies this morning.
I hope if he goes low, I can get him to eat.
As their numbers start coming down, that ravenous appetite also reduces. You have a little time before the onset of insulin for him to eat.

Let's see where he is at +1 :-)
 
Good job shooting. I hope Mouzer slides down and surfs safely today.

Thank You! I am hopeful, although scared to get too hopeful because I have watched so many of you with yours and I see it can be up, down, up, down hahaha



You did great! I am glad you shot! :bighug:
As their numbers start coming down, that ravenous appetite also reduces. You have a little time before the onset of insulin for him to eat.
Let's see where he is at +1 :)

OK! He has ran under my bed because yesterday he got so annoyed at the ear sticking and I even cut it out to give him a break but he has not forgotten the past days and is hiding. I might have to chase him around some today but I will get a hold of him, even if it runs some minutes after the very time I would like to get him.
+1 will be coming before too very long and I will get a +2 for certain. That +1 is too close to shot time to me, to be able to make a decision on when to test next.
 
@Bandit's Mom

I just caught Mouzer finishing up about .5 more of friskies I did not get put away. I forgot that one plate was out for the others.
It is 10 minutes before the +1 ... I will get the test but for certain now a +2 because I wont be completely sure due to his eating a little more food so close to test time...
And I guess I need a +3 to be two hours after he ate this food.
 
Last edited:
A +2 - or even a +3 - if you want a gap between tests - might be okay.

OK! I will wait for +3 ... to give Mouzer an ear break, so he doesnt continue to hide.
I think he is high enough at +1 to wait for +3. I am not experienced to know if a small amount of friskies ten minutes prior to test could impact the numbers any.
 
I am not experienced to know if a small amount of friskies ten minutes prior to test could impact the numbers any.
Food takes 20-30 mins to affect numbers. But it is good for him to eat smaller meals spread over the first 2-3 hours of the cycle. So don't worry about it. See you at +3.
 
Food takes 20-30 mins to affect numbers. But it is good for him to eat smaller meals spread over the first 2-3 hours of the cycle. So don't worry about it. See you at +3.

OK!! LOL I am trying not to get my hopes too high but the anxiety is way up there for me :D
And at the same time, I am already feeling the depressed state that his levels will rise high again and take more time, which I fear is most likely.
I did tell Mouzer to keep on coming down, let us get out of this mess we are in, get back to normal and have our lives back ...
And there will NEVER be any high carb food in this house ever again, so he cannot get into any at all!
 
He may very well bounce from here, but look at his SS in the last few days! So much more blue and yellow! Not that flat high ugly pink!
It's a matter of getting him to a good dose. :-)
 
He may very well bounce from here, but look at his SS in the last few days! So much more blue and yellow! Not that flat high ugly pink!
It's a matter of getting him to a good dose. :)

at amps +3 is 179 and he ate four and a half tablespoons of YA.
Should I be concerned and test every two hours?
Or three hours?
Or?
I know I want to test more but with trying to keep Mouzer cool about it, the least I can get by with will be best in that regards. But if it is vital to do more tests, I most certainly will do that. I need your advise on how far between tests would be where we are comfortable that he wont fall too low or are we safe now to know that he wont fall too low?
 
Lovely cycle thus far! How about a test at +5?

Will do that +5! I am happy to see blue and hope it sticks around for some time throughout today at least.

I have the Zero Mature YA. Today was the first time he ate it and he loved it and that is how he ended up eating four and a half tablespoons of it. I have been giving him Dr Elsey's lately. All of the dry food kitties loved Mouzer's Zero Mature YA but it does not have all that they need.
The reason for the Dr Elsey's is because I have been trying to figure out what to do...

Zero Mature is for the diabetic cat only. The other kitties need something different.
So, I got the Dr Elsey's and was trying to figure how to use these two.
I have to keep all dry safe for Mouzer, but good enough for the five kitties who only eat dry.

I was thinking that if the Formulated for all cats from kitten to adult, less than 6% starch, YA food, is low enough in carbs to mix with Mouzer's Zero Mature that the others will eat, and this way if Mouzer did get into the others' food, he is safe. He will only get the Zero Mature when it is his direct feeding times and he will only ever get into the other's that I will mix, when it is an accident. If this is safe for Mouzer, I want to buy that particular YA rather than to seek out Dr Elsey's.

Is the less than 6% starch equal to less than 6% carbs? Is the starch the carb count?
 
YA Zero and YA Zero Mature are less than 1% carbs. Dr. Elsey's chicken variant is ~4.5% carbs. Both are okay for diabetic cats.
But since we are following TR, that requires Mouzer to be on an all wet diet.
 
YA Zero and YA Zero Mature are less than 1% carbs. Dr. Elsey's chicken variant is ~4.5% carbs. Both are okay for diabetic cats.
But since we are following TR, that requires Mouzer to be on an all wet diet.

Mouzer cannot eat the YA now?
And if not, I guess not hahaha

The YA for kittens and adults show less than 6% carbs.
If I mixed YA Zero Mature with the YA for kittens and adults, and if Mouzer ever got into it, would it be safe?
 
amps +5 180

I am going to go do something I do need to do. I will try to get back in time for a +7 but if by chance I cannot get back at that time, I am sure I can get back by +8 and I will catch a reading then.
 
I guess Mouzer is bouncing now.
I will get a test sometime in two or three hours, just in case he comes down, so I can know what to do about the rest of the night.
 
Looks like he's bouncing. A +3 should confirm it. Don't bother testing through the night if he is flat or higher.
 
Looks like he's bouncing. A +3 should confirm it. Don't bother testing through the night if he is flat or higher.

OK! I am sitting here waiting. I was going to get the +3 and make a decision based on that.
If all looks like I could grab some sleep, I wont set an alarm but if I do wake in the night, I will grab a test just to work on filling in those late hours.
I have 10 more minutes before pmps +3 test.
 
Might make more sense to grab one early in the morning. +9 or +10. Only if you happen to wake up. He will probably be bouncing.

Mouzer woke me at +8 being hungry, so I went ahead and grabbed a test.
I wont bug his ear between now and amps because I do not know what this day will bring, if I will have to be sticking him to death.
I wont comment on this thread any more, so in three hours, the new day will begin with a new condo.
 
Last edited:
Back
Top