3/17 mocha pmps 228 +3 173

Status
Not open for further replies.

PeterDevonMocha

Member Since 2009
http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=9315

WCR: is eating breakfast with twix. Had a long day yesterday and I'm surprised her numbers aren't higher then what they are, after all her HC and karo. We'll see where she takes this number today. This could be just the start of her rise.

Patricia, I hope brownies dental goes ok. Mochas vet also said a half dose friday morning and no food after midnight. But I'm nervous mocha is going to drop to low and we are going to HAVE to give her food.
 
Re: 3/17 mocha amps 281

When Angel had his dental back in June my vet had me skip his insulin altogether that am. If Mocha goes low that might be preferable to feeding her. I think having food in the stomach while under anesthesia is a potentially dangerous thing. You might want to check on that scenario ahead of time, since she certainly is tending to run low lately. So nice that she didn't bounce real high this time!
 
Re: 3/17 mocha amps 281

Im very nervous about her dental, and about the possibility of having to feed her, to bring her up. She will be getting her regular shot thursday night, and a half dose friday morning. Maybe we should only do a half dose thursday night? I just don't know what to do. We have bombarded the vet doing the dental with 1000 questions. I'm sure she thinks we are crazy cat people.
 
Re: 3/17 mocha amps 281

I agree with Lynn. If you're worried, don't shoot. My vet had me hold Gabby's dose the morning of her dental. Remember, anesthesia can drop BG levels. Food the morning of a procedure where anesthesia is involved is a big no-no. You're better off not giving insulin if you will be less worried.
 
Re: 3/17 mocha amps 281

I guess if we test her in the morning, and she is low from not eating overnight, we won't shoot. But now what about her shot thursday night? I'm concerned about that shot causing her to go low thursday night, where we might have to feed her to bring her up. Should we do half a shot thursday night, and prepare for not shot friday morning?
 
Re: 3/17 mocha amps 281

AWESOME SURF yesterday and a dose decrease. Way to go! Hopefully the bounce won't be too long (or maybe she'll just bounce thru the dental?) I can understand being nervous about the lantus and food etc but some of your decision will need to be made at the time. Remember you are shooting a reduced dose so may effect shed, you may have some higher numbers rest of week anyways. See how your pm is thursday - can always adjust then - and can always opt not to shoot friday am if your number is too low.
 
Re: 3/17 mocha pmps 228

I think mocha stayed high today. Didn't do much spot checks because I was in and out of the house all day and she was tired from all her excitement yesterday.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top