You are right, reducing the dose last night may not have been the best thing to do. There may be some element of a bounce today, but it's probably just too low a dose of insulin that caused the high numbers. The methods (TR protocol or SLGS) we use here recommend consistent dosing, though SLGS does suggest s reduced dose if kitty is a lot lower than usual at preshot time. We determine what dose to give kitty based on how low it takes her, not so much the preshots. I'm glad you went back to 1.0 unit today.
Usually if you shoot a lower number, the cycles are a lot flatter. If you see a lower number at preshot again, and you can monitor the cycle, try shooting the regular dose. If she goes low, you may need to feed high carb food, but often kitty will keep on surfing those same numbers just on low carb food. I used a human meter, but I loved it when Neko gave me a preshot in the 80's. It was like a magic number. If I gave her full dose, she usually wouldn't move more than 0 points the entire cycle. Both Lantus and Levemir are great and keeping lower numbers flat. Take a look at some of the heading for other kitties here and see what happens when people shoot a lower number.
The more time that Winne spends in lower but normal numbers, the more her body will learn that they are OK and will stop bouncing as much.