? 3/16 Winnie AMPS 403 - TR for a bouncer

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kerrie & Winnie

Member Since 2015
I'm just switching to TR from SLGS and think I made a mistake last night. We increased from 0.75 to 1 on Mar. 14. Numbers yesterday looked way better than they have for ages. But her PMPS yesterday was 105 and because she's a bouncer I decided to be cautious and only gave her 0.25, hoping that would stop her from going too low. Doesn't seem to have worked because she's clearly bouncing again. Today, my vet told me that it would have been better to get her number up with HC food rather than reducing the dose. Any advice??
 
You are right, reducing the dose last night may not have been the best thing to do. There may be some element of a bounce today, but it's probably just too low a dose of insulin that caused the high numbers. The methods (TR protocol or SLGS) we use here recommend consistent dosing, though SLGS does suggest s reduced dose if kitty is a lot lower than usual at preshot time. We determine what dose to give kitty based on how low it takes her, not so much the preshots. I'm glad you went back to 1.0 unit today.

Usually if you shoot a lower number, the cycles are a lot flatter. If you see a lower number at preshot again, and you can monitor the cycle, try shooting the regular dose. If she goes low, you may need to feed high carb food, but often kitty will keep on surfing those same numbers just on low carb food. I used a human meter, but I loved it when Neko gave me a preshot in the 80's. It was like a magic number. If I gave her full dose, she usually wouldn't move more than 0 points the entire cycle. Both Lantus and Levemir are great and keeping lower numbers flat. Take a look at some of the heading for other kitties here and see what happens when people shoot a lower number.

The more time that Winne spends in lower but normal numbers, the more her body will learn that they are OK and will stop bouncing as much.
 
Take a look at some of the heading for other kitties here
Sorry - not sure what that means - ?
OK, I think I'm beginning to understand what "consistent dosing" means. Sounds like a no-brainer - but then the emotion/worry gets in the way. I have 3 more days in town, then away for a week. I'm hoping that leaving Winnie at 1 unit with the cat sitter for that week is OK, but a bit uneasy. We haven't been on that dose for that long. And it's a high dose for us. My cat sitter is great but she DOES have a full time job. I guess I'm being premature. I should wait and assess on Sunday - yes? :(
 
Consistent dosing means give the same dose all the time, unless she earns a reduction or needs an increase. You have three days to see how 1 unit will do for the cat sitter. The nice thing is that it's easier for the sitter to measure. And yes, I would post here the day before you leave and ask for suggestions on a petsitter dose. You will have to decide before then if you want to do TR or stick with SLGS, so we can suggest a dose appropriately.

"Take a look at some of the headings for other kitties" means, look at some of the other posts on this forum. Read the titles and see how people post the blood sugar numbers throughout the cycle.
 
Just noticed that you said that you "loved it" when Neko gave you a pre-shot in the 80s. Past tense. I didn't know that. I'm so sorry.
 
Yes, I lost my girl in December. As you can see by my signature, she had a lot going on. But with the help of FDMB, we had 5 really good years, a lot more than I would have without the help here.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top