3/16 Buzzy AMPS 115 = 1u; +6.5 (66); PMPS 117 = 1u

toomanycats

Member Since 2020
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...1u-pmps-96-1u-losing-hair-on-head-now.227053/

So, I am considering attempting a decrease. I haven't really been able to do TR since I'm having to do minimal testing due to Buzzy's ear issues right now, and by SLGS guidelines, I should've decreased a few days ago for a fall under the 80s. I'm not sure. These numbers are pretty, and I don't want to mess w/ them, but I'm also not sure right now just how low he's falling. For all I know, he could've hit the 40s in there somewhere.

We're 100% off chicken as of yesterday afternoon - hooray! His food is turkey, though, and I know that might not be enough of a change...we will see. Nothing new to really report on the ear front. Hard to know how much grooming is "excessive," but I haven't seen any scratching in about a day now - just some head shaking occasionally. KNOCK ON ALL THE WOOD lol. Still doing 2.5% hydrocortisone 2x a day (at test times).

I was able to grab one more container of one of our old, scented litters vs. the free & clean ...stores are wiped out. Fortunately, I did also find the digital Target receipt to be able to return the tubs of free & clean at some point (or exchange).

He's cuddled up next to me lookin' cute right now <3 I do need to go get more syringes today...pray Walgreens has them!
I don't think I'm going to refill the Lantus quite yet. We are going through the 1 pen so slowly, and even though it doesn't expire for a long time, we are so broke due to all the shopping we've done to prep for likely being locked in for a while.
 
Not sure about the dose. You could try 0.75 units and see what his numbers do. It's hard when you can test as much as you would like, but I understand. Glad he's off the chicken. I hope you can find turkey food. Chewy is shipping slower than normal right now. Glad the scratching is less. Sending prayers.
 
Not sure about the dose. You could try 0.75 units and see what his numbers do. It's hard when you can test as much as you would like, but I understand. Glad he's off the chicken. I hope you can find turkey food. Chewy is shipping slower than normal right now. Glad the scratching is less. Sending prayers.

fortunately I got two cases of big cans of this turkey food from chewy already; I’m having my other cat eat the leftover turkey/chicken case & may even start mixing in Friskies with hers if we have to (although poor cat has eaten so many different foods lately), so we have a good amount of food - I will likely go ahead and order more at the end of the week to give it time to get here.

Of course, if this does work, we won’t know if it’s the food or litter change lol darn it. But I like the American Journey food, so if this does work, I’ll just stick with that anyways. And if it doesn’t; it’ll be onto the next protein... fun fun
 
I just snuck a test & thought at first it was going to result in no reaction but, nope....ear is definitely bothering him after that, though it seemed calmed down prior to.
Trying to remind myself that this makes sense - any messing w/ his ears has been inflaming them & it doesn't mean the testing itself is causing the issue.
I did put a teeny bit of neosporin on the tip of his ear bc I poked it seriously 6 times to get blood ugh - our testing is sucking lately. And I coconut oiled them after when I could tell they were bothering him a bit.
 
ugh his poor ear that I tested is now twitching so much and sooo irritated that I caved and put some hydrocortisone on it even though that's more often than I want to use it.

I dunno guys...I really might have to take a literal testing break. It just seems to be causing so many issues.

I may need to just reduce his dose and not test for a week like the vet suggested :\ idk.
 
He's being a butt and not wanting to eat right now, but I gave him his shot 'cus he's also begging for food....so I'm going on faith he'll eat here in a minute
 
So I'm not sure what to do.
He's stubbornly refusing to eat the turkey food, which he's been eating OK the last 24 hours.
I imagine it's bc he smelled his sister's different food.

I'm at the end of my rope with him. Honestly.
He's had maybe a few tsp of food now with his insulin. IDK what to do. He's begging me for food but won't eat it.
 
nvm...2 hours later, gave him fresh food & fed his sister same food & he gobbled it up. After trying to run away from me when I went to feed him.

This cat is going to send me into pre-term labor y'all
 
Back
Top