3/15: Sammy - AMPS 115; +2 81; +6 68; +10 121; PMPS 81; +2.5 45

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tina & Sammy

Member Since 2010
Good morning LL,

Yesterday's Condo

Yesterday was an ALL GREEN day, but it was pretty uneventful, and Sammy hasn't really been in the 50's much since going to the 1 unit dose. I am pretty sure that the goal is to get Sammy to a range of 50-80 for most of the day, and I am not sure that is happening on this dose. He is getting down into the 60, barely, and seems to start rising back up within the hour and doesn't seem to go back down during the cycle.

So I am wondering if we really need to increase the dose a smidgen, maybe not quite to 1.25, but maybe just a FAT 1 unit to see if that will bring Sammy down just a bit more. Any thoughts on this????
 
On the Rescue Remedy, there is one specifically for animals that has no alcohol and that is the one you want to get.

I wouldn't reduce him yet but it would be better if you could annotate his SS in the unit column with "sk1u" . I know you have it in the remarks but it's easier to pick out in the U column and the dose should be correctly identified there.

Thanks, I will make sure to get the pet Rescue Remedy, and I have annotated the spreadsheet with the skinny shot.

When a kitty is as close to an OTJ trial as Tonka was last week and we see higher numbers mid cycle, we call it an inverted curve. Inverted curves can be the result of too much or too little insulin but in this case, it was likely too much and he was ready to start his trial.

I was just looking at Tonka's spreadsheet and I am now wondering if Sammy would do better on less insulin. It looks like Tonka was having similar numbers to Sammy when he was on 1.0 unit and then dropped down to .5 and was doing even better. I am not sure that I would want to drop to .5 units but maybe we do need to decrease to .75 instead of increase in this case. Would you mind taking a look at Sammy's spreadsheet and providing some insight.
 
The normal range is 50-120. Except for a few stray numbers that were barely outside that range, Sammy is sitting right in it beautifully.

Personally, I would hold the dose for a while longer...neither increase or reduce. To reduce, you either want to see all normal numbers for a week, or see him drop below 50 (unless you're using 40 since he's back from The Falls). He's doing so awesome...I wouldn't rush it or rock the boat by moving in either direction too quickly!
 
@Amy&TrixieCat You are right I don't want to rush it and when and if Sammy makes it back to the Fall I want it to stick. I will see how the next couple of cycles goes.

Last night @julie & punkin (ga) suggested a decrease, but I never got a response from her about my follow up question.

@julie & punkin (ga) Thanks for the information about the reduction after 7 days. The only problem I see is that on Wednesday and Thursday I accidentally shorted the shot by a drop or two and Sammy had higher PMPS numbers both days. So in fact he had a couple of over 130 readings this week. Would you still recommend giving the reduction a try? Those two days Sammy was also getting different food, 9Lives Flaked Tuna and Cheese, because he wouldn't eat anything else, so that might have also been the problem and not the slight dose reduction. I have since gotten him to eat the Wellness Turkey and the Friskies Special Diet Turkey and Giblet that he was eating before, I have also been adding a bit of another food that I think he likes just for a bit of variety. So far on the revised 1 unit dose things seem to be working out okay.
 
This just hasn't been Sammy's best day. He threw up at +7.5 and has not risen up to 107 at +8. Is this common? My guess is that since it is late in his cycle he will continue to rise to PMPS. I just gave him a different snack, more of the 9Lives that he was eating earlier this week when he wouldn't eat anything else. I hope that we either see a similar number at PMPS or a drop, but I just don't know if that is going to happen.
 
How is he feeling now? Hopefully it was just one of those passing things. A BG increase after an event like vomiting is not uncommon. He may not rise any more much more...it could very well be a "momentary" thing that will settle as his tummy settles.
 
I was out of town til after midnight last night - sorry i didn't get back to you yesterday. You got lots of good answers already to your question, fortunately. :D Thanks for correcting the doses you gave. Those things make a difference!

glad he's feeling better now.
 
Sammy is not having inverted curves. He's flat. He comes up a little after nadir but Tonka was starting in green, coming up into blue at nadir, and then going back down. Also, Tonka was on a tiny dose and having an inverted curve which is what led me to think he was ready for a trial as opposed to it being too much insulin.

I'd hold the dose as others have also suggested.
 
@Marje and Gracie I have been looking at Tonka's spreadsheet a bit more closely today and I see a couple of times where Tonka had inverted curves, but not always, or maybe it was that there weren't enough tests mid cycle to really know for sure.

I have also reviewed Sammy's spreadsheet and food habits over the last week. I think I have determined that I need to remove the Tuna from the his diet. When he ate the Tuna earlier this week the numbers were higher on top of the Skinny Dose.

Yesterday, when I included more 8% food throughout the day Sammy seemed to do better, where as today I didn't include the 8% and allowed Sammy to eat the 9Lives tuna, and Sammy hasn't had the best numbers this afternoon. I think Sammy is going to require a bit more variety in his diet and when he doesn't get that he gets bored with what he is eating.

My plan for the next couple of cycles will be to continue to include the Max Cat Venison along with the Wellness Turkey and Friskies Special Diet Turkey and Giblet. If we can maintain numbers under 120 then I might try a reduction later this week.

Hopefully with this plan and with Fluids tonight we will see some much better numbers and will be able to try that reduction later this week.
 
Well, I wasn't expecting that PMPS, I might have to rethink the whole plan. I did give fluids tonight because it was schedule, so I will probably need to watch a bit more closely to make sure he doesn't drop too low. The last few times he had fluids he either didn't get into the 50's or just dipped his toe, but each of those times he started at a higher PS number.
 
It looks like Sammy is finally on the move. I don't typically like to take a reduction if Sammy goes below 50 on a Fluids Night, but I will wait to see if it happens and what it takes to bring him up if he does fall below. I will also make the final determination at AMPS tomorrow morning. This is all in contingent of if Sammy drops below 50 tonight.
 
Sammy is being a :cat: and keeping you guessing! Hang in there! Hope you get some rest tonight!

Ella & Rusty

You got that right! Just when I am thinking we will be holding this dose for another few days he drops a low. I am still unsure whether we will take the reduction tomorrow. We will wait to see what the rest of the night show and where he is in the morning.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top