3/15 Ruby PMPS 88/+2 90/+4 77

Katherine&Ruby

Member Since 2020
Yesterday on Ruby & Friends. :cat:

Am having a busy morning and could not keep as close of an eye on her as I should have. Could not retest that 53 until +4 and as a result she's earned a reduction. Fed some MC, testing again in a few minutes. We go back once again to .25.

Healing thoughts for all of the sick kitties and hugs to you beans. Happy Monday! :bighug::bighug:
 
Any thoughts out there from the powers that be on a shaved reduction? .375 instead of .25?

ETA: We've done this before and didn't stay long at .375, reducing after the 5th cycle (see 1/8/2021) possibly due to the .5 depot, so I wouldn't reduce further to .25 until we had well cleared the 6 cycles after the decrease.
 
Last edited:
glad ruby came up for you and has a good appetite today :cat:
Thanks! I'm getting better at being Zen about Ruby's eating and to not freak out about it when she doesn't eat because she inevitably makes up for the missed calories later.
She dropped quickly today huh? Good luck with the decision Katherine! It's a tough one.
I expected the drop at +2.5 but did not expect it to continue after she ate her yummy yummy bowl of bison, so she was really insistent on that reducie.
 
Ruby looks great! Congrats on the reduction. Because you've bounced around between these lower doses and had failed reductions, I'd probably do the shave again. Just my inexperienced opinion of course and I'm sure the experts will be around with theirs:joyful:.
 
If you think she's not holding reductions well, your other option is to wait for 3 drops between 40 and 49 before reducing. But then you'd have to take the full 0.25 unit reduction.
 
If you think she's not holding reductions well, your other option is to wait for 3 drops between 40 and 49 before reducing. But then you'd have to take the full 0.25 unit reduction.
I didn't realize this option was available to us since Ruby isn't a long term diabetic yet, but this sounds like a very good idea. I've been much happier with Ruby's numbers while on .5, and perhaps if we're on it for a little while longer they will flatten some more. Thanks, Wendy!
 
This would give me a heart attack! Good luck. Maybe Ruby is going to go into remission soon...
What part of this would scare you? The low numbers? It used to happen a lot more often; I have a pantry full of super high carb food to prove it. :joyful::rolleyes: A few months ago I thought she was heading towards the word I dare not utter, but we seem to be stalling at these low doses. Ruby's not ready yet and I've been reminded time and time again to put on those patience pants. She seems happy and healthy at the moment so that means something even if she's still on insulin.
 
What part of this would scare you? The low numbers? It used to happen a lot more often; I have a pantry full of super high carb food to prove it. :joyful::rolleyes: A few months ago I thought she was heading towards the word I dare not utter, but we seem to be stalling at these low doses. Ruby's not ready yet and I've been reminded time and time again to put on those patience pants. She seems happy and healthy at the moment so that means something even if she's still on insulin.

Yep, the low numbers but only because I never see them in my life... and yes... happy and healthy is everything!
 
Miss Ruby is looking great!
If you choose the route of reducing by .25 after 3 times falling between 40 and 49, it isn't really scary like YOU know! The thing that would keep me from "fear" of those numbers, is knowing that cats not on insulin can go into the 40s naturally, on a human meter.

Good luck with your decision, you two:):cat:
 
I went ahead and shot .5 again. Today's will be drop #1 below 50 on .5 units.

If you choose the route of reducing by .25 after 3 times falling between 40 and 49, it isn't really scary like YOU know!

I'm not scared at all. I might miss out on a few hours of sleep but Ruby's pretty polite and comes up easily <anti-jinx>.

The thing that would keep me from "fear" of those numbers, is knowing that cats not on insulin can go into the 40s naturally, on a human meter.
Please tell this to her vets who think she should be off insulin. :rolleyes:
 
Last edited:
Back
Top