3/15 Newbie Star AMPS=416 +6=437 PMPS=352 +4=264

Status
Not open for further replies.

quilterkitty

Member Since 2013
yesterday's condo

Had planned to do a glucose curve today but think I got a fur shot first thing this morning, :roll: so I'm waiting until tomorrow. D'oh!

Update: it has now been six cycles since the one-time low of 149, and nadirs remain high (except for a 292). Time to raise the dose by another .5 units? And, secondary question, is it fine to do a curve the day of/after raising the dose, or should I wait a few days? If so, how many? I don't mind doing two curves in the same week, and I don't think Star will mind too much, but if it's better to wait (or it doesn't matter one bit) then I'd rather just do one. Thanks for your help!

We'll see what tomorrow morning's AMPS looks like before deciding whether to increase the dose. Good night, everyone!
 
Re: 3/15 Newbie Star AMPS=416

Those dreaded fur shots! We all do that at some point - nothing to do but wait it out and try again. Have a great day!
 
Re: 3/15 Newbie Star AMPS=416

Do you want to pose the question tonite/tomorrow about a dose increase? She is still pretty high and i think its been 6 cycles now since the 149?
 
Re: Question for the group--time to increase dose?

Ha, Rhiannon! Seriously, we need a "like" button. :-D I'm really tired of the 400's. Thought yesterday Star had turned the corner, but when he did there was a pie in the face waiting for him. Not cool.
 
Re: Question for the group--time to increase dose?

Have your read the guidelines for the Tight Regulation Protocol re: dose increases? His numbers are high (I do hope he comes down!!!) I would think a fur shot would cause elevated numbers, since you aren't sure if your cat got the insulin or not....? I am sure an expert will be along soon. When is his PM shot due ?
 
Re: Question for the group--time to increase dose?

I have read the guidelines, and they indicate a dose increase UNLESS I am to consider the nadir of 292 on 3/14, which would suggest that I need to restart the count from that day. But I think he needs his dose increased. Just want to hear from someone with much more experience than I have. Last time he had a suspected fur shot his numbers didn't go this high, but I'm sure you're right that getting little or none of this morning's dose is at least partly to blame. He is due for his evening dose at 6:30.
 
Re: Question for the group--time to increase dose?

quilterkitty said:
Update: it has now been six cycles since the one-time low of 149, and nadirs remain high (except for a 292). Time to raise the dose by another .5 units?
i wouldn't raise the dose tonight. star's bounce from the 149 is due to break soon (could be tonight ... some kitties throw a high before a break). you don't want to increase the dose as the bounce is breaking.

"if" you did give a fur shot...
obviously, it could be influencing the cycle today.

before increasing the dose i'd see what happens tonight first. whether you increase the dose tomorrow is up to you. it depends on how aggressive you want to be and if you will be available to monitor. generally, we hold the dose for 5 - 7 days after seeing a blue nadir, but with a mid-blue nadir... let's say you have lots of wiggle room for a dose increase.

quilterkitty said:
And, secondary question, is it fine to do a curve the day of/after raising the dose, or should I wait a few days? If so, how many? I don't mind doing two curves in the same week, and I don't think Star will mind too much, but if it's better to wait (or it doesn't matter one bit) then I'd rather just do one. Thanks for your help!
curves: imho, you'll get more info from frequent random spot checks than you'll get from a curve done on any given day. i wouldn't bother running a curve on the cycle of the increase, but i'd still get a nadir check if possible. remember, the action of lantus/lev is cumulative. *usually* it'll take a few cycles to see the full results of what a particular dose can do... and this is different for every cat. typically, i can see a response to a dose increase with alex on the third cycle of an increased dose. this last increase, star showed a marked response to the increase on the second cycle. although, the early response could have been from an increase of 0.5 unit. if he had been increased by only 0.25u, it might have taken a little bit longer to see a response to the increased dose. watch for these types of patterns. they'll help you decide when testing will yield the most information.

example: if kitty is bouncing from a previous low a curve will only show high numbers (like the AM cycle on 3/13). data collected that day won't tell you too much.

hope this helps a little...
 
Re: Question for the group--time to increase dose?

Thanks, Jill. That is extremely helpful! I didn't know I'd have to become a scientist to take care of my cat. ;-)
 
Re: Question for the group--time to increase dose?

lol! it sounds harder than it is. pretty soon star's patterns will pop right out at you! :mrgreen:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top