3/15 Frank, AMPS 469 dose increase???

Status
Not open for further replies.

Delma and Frank

Active Member
I am having a hard time being patient with Frank's bouncing....but still continuing on with 2U today

I look over Frank's SS and 2.5U seems like it tackles the bouncing but brings his BG too low. Look at week 2/9. At 2.5U ,although there are no PS bgs, those numbers just don't look like there was bouncing. However, on the 7th day of 2.5U the BG becomes too low. I get scared and lower the dosage to 1.75U next AM. Boom---a bounce or was it just not enough insulin??

I think that if I could be at home all the time and test him constantly I would stick at 2.5U, feed when necessary and we wouldn't have any bounces. But it can't be that way. Not enough data really on 2.25U. Would like to try 2.25U on my days off to see his response. That's not until Friday. Do you think it's a good idea to try him at 2.25?

Why, recently, are his bounces all in the AM?
 
I guess I don't look at a number in the 40's as "too low." That's a number that earns a dose reduction and is easily steered with food. It takes a little bit of getting used to but 40s aren't a reason to be scared.

Delma & Frank said:
I get scared and lower the dosage to 1.75U next AM. Boom---a bounce or was it just not enough insulin??
I think it was both. If Frank is bouncing after earning a decrease, it's OK to shoot the old dose the next cycle. It can help to shorten the rebound.

I don't know if this was your experience with vetsulin, but it's not that unusual for a bounce after a drop into the green numbers. Yesterday, for example, that was a big drop from the pink at +1.75 to the 85 at +7.75. It's not surprising that Frank had bounced to red by AMPS.

The bounces in the morning may be due to Frank's numbers working themselves back up by the following AMPS. It may also be that he's going lower in the evening cycle than when you're testing. I'm not sure when your shot times are, but it may make sense on some nights to get tests past PM +3.

I think there's room to increase the dose once the bounce clears but let's see what some of the others have to say.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top