? 3/14 Vesper, AMPS 63, +2 73, +5 128, +9 358

Kelly and Vesper

Member Since 2025
Hi all,

We bumped Vesper's dose up a few days ago and have consistently seen better numbers. I'm still trying to learn the TR protocol though and wasn't sure what to do this morning when her AMPS was far lower than we had ever seen (75 on first test and 63 on second test). We decided to skip her dose, but I'm wondering if that was the right call? I know her number is likely to rise before the dose would take effect, but I hadn't even seen it that low and got worried. Could you please advise on when it is appropriate to hold off when dealing with low pre-shot numbers so I can know what to do next time? I've read through the TR protocol posts a few times but I still don't feel confident that I know how to handle it. Thank you!

I should also add that she's eating less lately, because she doesn't like the FF pate as much as the gravy food, so I think that's affecting her #s too.

Also, we haven't yet switched her to budenoside from the prednisolone, which she's on daily for her chronic pancreatitis.

Last post: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/3-8-vesper-amps-234.298950/
 
Hi Kelly, Vesper is seeing some great numbers! Congratulations!

You've probably read it (and re-read it, as I do when Jude has had lower than normal pre-shot numbers), but I'll go ahead and post the sticky:

https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...y-to-shoot-handle-lower-pre-shot-numbers.147/

It's scary shooting those first greens. What I did toward the beginning when I would get lower than normal preshot numbers is jump on the forum, if I was able, and ask for advice. Someone with experience is first going to ask you if you have plenty of supplies if you do decide to shoot, so now that Vesper is getting into those lower numbers, you want to make sure you have your hypo kit and a lot of extra testing strips, etc., on hand because if you shoot a lower than normal preshot number, you'll likely be doing a lot of testing and possibly carb manipulating, if Vesper's numbers go too low.

Also, I try to understand how Lantus works, that it's designed to keep our cats in a flat curve. To me, it logically seems when I have lower than normal pre-shot numbers, that if I shoot him, Jude is just going to go off a cliff once the insulin begins working, but that's not the case. Sometimes, I have had to carb manipulate him a bit, but other times he responds well with a flat curve and no food manipulation. Studying others' spreadsheets, especially people I know who often shoot in the greens, helps build my confidence with this.

I know someone will pop in and give you some feedback about this morning. But the fact that you are needing to consider what to do with lower than normal preshots is really good news for Vesper. He's getting closer to regulation!
 
Last edited:
Hi Kelly, Vesper is seeing some great numbers! Congratulations!

You've probably read it (and re-read it, as I do when Jude has had lower than normal pre-shot numbers), but I'll go ahead and post the sticky:

https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...y-to-shoot-handle-lower-pre-shot-numbers.147/

It's scary shooting those first greens. What I did toward the beginning when I would get lower than normal preshot numbers is jump on the forum, if I was able, and ask for advice. Someone with experience is first going to ask you if you have plenty of supplies if you do decide to shoot, so now that Vesper is getting into those lower numbers, you want to make sure you have your hypo kit and a lot of extra testing strips, etc., on hand because if you shoot a lower than normal preshot number, you'll likely be doing a lot of testing and possibly carb manipulating, if Vesper's numbers go too low.

Also, I try to understand how Lantus works, that it's designed to keep our cats in a flat curve. To me, it logically seems when I have lower than normal pre-shot numbers, that if I shoot him, Jude is just going to go off a cliff once the insulin begins working, but that's not the case. Sometimes, I have had to carb manipulate him a bit, but other times he responds well with a flat curve and no food manipulation. Studying others' spreadsheets, especially people I know who often shoot in the greens, helps build my confidence with this.

I know someone will pop in and give you some feedback about this morning. But the fact that you are needing to consider what to do with lower than normal preshots is really good news for Vesper. He's getting closer to regulation!

Thank you! Yes, it's very intimidating! I'll make sure I have everything for the hypo kit stocked up and look at other spreadsheets to keep learning. I do feel encouraged we are even in this situation!!
 
Back
Top