? 3/14-Phoebe - amps 413

eva eva

Member Since 2022
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/3-13-phoebe-amps-369-insulin-0-5u-given.299098/#post-3253477

Amps high-- is this part of the bounce?
I leave their food down all night. It is all low carb. In the am, I am not sure if Phoebe ate in the last few hours. Should I be taking up all their food when I go to bed?

on another subject--I am leaving Sunday am after her insulin, and coming back Tuesday by 2pm. I have a friend who will give the insulin. She won't check sugars or stay all day. She comes twice a day. Suggestions?

@Wendy&Neko
@tiffmaxee
@Bandit's Mom
 
Last edited:
trending sugars today +3,6,9
tonight will be +2 and +4 --not sure if this is good to switch the times from every 3 hours to just every 2 hours.

Again, asking for suggestions about me leaving town Sunday night through Tuesday am. I have a lady who will give insulin. but won't test or stay all day.
 
They suggest taking up food 2 hours before the shot time to get a non-food influenced number. On the testing, you’ll learn over time what tests are most valuable to you.

I think giving insulin without testing BG is a risk and a decision you’ll have to make on your own. Can that person learn to test the BG? I would be nervous in this situation.
 
I am on the TR path. I thought we are to leave some source of food down at all times. normal feeding I thought.
yes it does make me a bit nervous not to do a sugar before shooting.
When Phoebe was on insulin before I did leave her with the same person.

I wonder if giving just a tad less the 2 1/2 days I am gone would be better.
that is one of the reasons I am doing more checks --- she has relapsed because of that tooth. I will stay up late and hopefully get one at +6 also.
Until the tooth is removed or whatever they are going to do and the stress of that is gone, I have a feeling she is not going to go down too much.

@tiffmaxee
@Wendy&Neko
@Bandit's Mom
 
Let's wait another day of numbers before deciding on a petsitter dose. If she's bouncing in response to that lone green, she should clear it tomorrow. Ideally you wouldn't leave her on a dose getting numbers in the 70's, but some cats also have an initial response to insulin that might not be sustained. Another day of data will help with the decision.
 
Back
Top