3/12 Sebastian PMPS 146 +9 325. Fasting test in the AM

Great cycle last night, Sorry about the lack of sleep.

i'll check in later, see how you're doing.
when are you testing next +1? +2? I'll set an alarm so I come back on line
 
103@+3. Very similar curve to last night's cycle. I'm going to get +4 since I didn't last night and want to see what it looks like and then unless that does something unexpected I'll give him a break until +6 or +7. We've got a vet apt at +8.5 to get a lump in his abdomen checked out, order a fresh superchem and cbc, and discuss the Cushing's and Conn's (is it pronounced Cone's or Con's?) testing. For the Cushing's I'm going to ask about the urine test vs the aldosterone/renin blood testing price/diagnostic value. If a positive urine test only indicates we should follow up with the blood tests, I'm just going to jump straight to the blood tests.
 
Looks like two cycles in a row of a late nadir. At 3 and +4 when mid cycle nadir cats would start to be dropping, that is when Bubba would go up and then start to go back down again at the end of the cycle.

Good luck at the vets today.
 
94@+4. Pretty much what I expected. So if he follows the same trajectory as last night he won't hit the floor until about +7, which is good cause I definitely need a nap so I'm gonna go grab a few hours until then.
 
Nice +4, pretty flat.

Remember stress can inflate BG, (lower BG in some cats) fwiw George measured 87 at home before vet visit when I got home he was 159, then back down to 80's a couple of hours later, this was when we were approaching the end of his 14 day no insulin trial. You may need to bear that in mind after the vet visit today.

ETA actually it was April 12 2016 just before his trial
 
Back from the vet, physical exam was good, they drew blood and urine for the routine panels and drew some cells from the lump in his abdomen to analyze. Vet thinks it's just a fat deposit but we'll see.

They want to do an ACTH test for the Cushing's, which is a fasting blood test, so I need to know how to handle that with his dosing. I'm dropping him off for the test at 7:30AM (am+1) and they said it'll be about 2 hours, and he needs to fast for 12 hours. So I need to pull his food tonight at PM +1 and he won't get to eat again until AM +3 tomorrow. So what do I do about tonight and tomorrow morning's dose given that he'll be on a reduced calorie load tonight and fasting when his AM dose normally would be?
 
Good news about the lump being a lipoma. My cubbies cat Forrest has one in his abdomen.

I’m not really sure about tonight and tomorrow’s dose. Tonight seems to be the biggest consideration for fasting since tomorrow you could feed him around +3 around onset. Hoping others chime; I really don’t know what’s best.
 
Little hard to say right now what to do for dosing. If Sebastian’s body freaks at all the green he’s seen lately and starts a bounce, it’ll be easier to shoot the full dose. Maybe catch a +11 and post for suggestions? I would also feed him a good sized meal around +9.5, so he’ll have food on board for tonight. Otherwise you will be listening to a lot of whining.

I thought you were going for the urine test first?
 
I would also feed him a good sized meal around +9.5
I'm about to take +11 reading, so....

I thought you were going for the urine test first?
Nope, I said I was going to ask about the urine vs the blood test and if the urine test was just a screening we'd go straight to the blood. Vet confirmed that's the case, urine test is just screening and then a blood test would be necessary, so we're just going straight to that.
 
So, need advice on what to do now to account for the testing.

Please if you can provide options for what to do both if he is starting to bounce and PMPS is higher or if it's not and it's lower. Don't want to get stuck 15 minutes before dose time trying to scramble and figure out what to do.
 
I'm just going to go ahead and feed him now so we can get as much food into him as possible before we need to start the fast. With it looking like he's about to bounce I don't think it's going to skew the PMPS with regards to that.
 
Given his lower BGs of late I think I'd be conservative tonight and give him a good sized meal with half dose shot (2.25u) similar to what is often done with dental patients on the day of surgery. He may be running a little high tomorrow but better high than too low.
 
PMPS 146. Can't really tell if it's a bounce yet or not. He ate a decent amount an hour ago and the 10 extra points is probably just that. Still could use some more input. If I don't hear anything else I'm just going to go with a half dose tonight and then in the morning a full dose unless he's really low since I'll be able to feed him by onset
 
I've no experience with the situation you are in. What you are proposing makes sense, we would expect the early part of the cycle to play out the same and the effect of the dose reduction would be seen later on tonight.
Make sure he eats as much as you can get him to by +1 hopefully that will stop him chewing your arm of in the morning.
 
I've no experience with the situation you are in. What you are proposing makes sense, we would expect the early part of the cycle to play out the same and the effect of the dose reduction would be seen later on tonight.
Make sure he eats as much as you can get him to by +1 hopefully that will stop him chewing your arm of in the morning.
Yup, just going to play it safe and gave him a half dose. I'm also giving him some FF Gravy just for the sake of getting more food in him. He had his fill of the LC but he'll chow down on as much of the whitefish as I put in front of him. I'll give him his regular dose in the morning and then feed him as soon as he gets back from the vet, probably spike him with a little HC gravy at that point too just so the onset doesn't hit too hard.
 
Yes, definetly take your food to the vets when you pick him up at +3 to feed him. He might be stressed there and not wanting to eat while at the office. Take a bowl and if you have to feed him in your car you can.

ETA: Probably a very safe call to 1/2 the dose tonight. He probably would have started a bounce but, the green cycles are an uncharted territory for him. Safety first. You will get him reined in fast.
 
Last edited:
Back
Top