? 3/12/20 Hugo 111 AMPS. What to do?

Elle D & Hugo

Member Since 2020
Hi everyone. Hugo is suddenly adjusting to his insulin dose, and is throwing up some good numbers, but they seem a little too good. His AMPS was 111 this morning, and my boyfriend gave him a reduced shot of 2 units instead of 3. Now we're sticking around to see if it's ok to go to work. Was this the right thing to do? I've never seen his numbers this low and I'm panicking a bit. I'm thinking we're gonna keep him at 2.5 after this, until we really see how his body reacts.
 
Last edited:
About an hour after it's at 162? Help? Should I leave out food and go to work? Will he be ok or do I still need to watch him?
 
Can you get a +2 before going to work? If he is still at or above preshot value you can leave food out and go to work.

Nice to see those blues. :cool:
 
Can you get a +2 before going to work? If he is still at or above preshot value you can leave food out and go to work.

Nice to see those blues. :cool:

Ok cool. That's what I was planning on.

Yeah, the blues are nice but they came up suddenly. Should've listened to y'all when you said to ignore the vet and go slower.
 
How much food is he getting now? Do you still ne d the appetite stimulant?

Here is the link to your previous post, for continuity http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/hugo-111-amps-what-to-do.226943/

We feed him a full 5.5 oz. can of Friskies pate, morning and night. Most of the time he eats most of it, which he did last night and this morning. I'm still giving him a dot of the appetite stimulant in the morning, just because I wanted to see how his appetite was doing before really going cold turkey. He seems good. He was actually playing and tussling with his brother last night, which he hasn't done it a while.
 
I would suggest going back to the 3.0u dose if the numbers warrant it. If you reduce a dose due to a lower than expected pre-shot, you go back to the usual dose.
 
Back
Top