3/11 Tiger AMPS 290 Dental Update

Status
Not open for further replies.

gigiviolet

Member Since 2014
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=115188

I was quite moved to find your messages asking about Tiger and I feel really bad that I didn't post an update last night or this morning. I'm so sorry. I waited for Tiger to be home and settled (and make 21 other dinners and do "tuck-ins") and then I just collapsed...so exhausted. I'm kicking myself for worrying you all who have been so supportive and made all the difference. Somehow I didn't realize...I'm used to being on my own. It won't happen again. I've just been so happy to have you guys!! Wendy, thanks for posting the info you had.

Tiger had 3 upper molars extracted (all abscessed, poor sweet boy), he's much braver than I. PMPS was 92 so I skipped his shot. We woke up to a 290. He seems to have somewhat of a fever today, he is getting Clindamycin and eating well. I had printed Tiger's SS for the vet to see...they were so excited about it and impressed. The vet said "you test him at home??!!!" and "now that he's had his dental, you can probably just test him like once a month". Good grief!!

Amy & Julie, thanks so much for your well wishes and it's wonderful to meet you! Julie, thank you for your thoughts on the pm shot and for sharing with me about Devon, Mocha and Peter. ;)
 
I hope the toof fairy remembered to come and leave Tiger something special for losing all them toofies!!

Yeah, the vets don't always get it, do they? We all hope that the dental makes a big difference for Tigers numbers, but it's not a miracle cure either. Some cats numbers go down (and even occasionally OTJ) after a dental, and some don't.

We understand about life being so busy. Sometimes all you have strength to do is fall into bed.

Hope Tiger does well now that it's all over with!
 
Chris, Awww- such a wonderful message! Somebody forgot to inform the toof fairy ;) I love the idea and wouldn't have thought of it myself. Thanks!! It's 1:30 am and Tiger's BG is 99. China's having some lovely numbers!
 
I'm glad Tiger is eating well and getting used to his new mouth. That's quite the drop for his +3 tonight. Any change of getting up in a couple hours to see how he's doing? If not, make sure you leave plenty of food for him in case he goes low. You may find that you need to back the dose off as the abscess clears up and the antibiotic does it's thing.
 
;) Wendy,
Tiger's having a "snack" at the moment. He lives in the kitchen. What a smart kitty. On the nights when he is lower, I just stay up until he's squared away. I told him I can sleep when I'm dead. :lol:

I'm especially alert not knowing how BG might change now that the abscesses have been taken care of. Fingers crossed!
 
Thanks for letting us know how Tiger is doing. We tend to be a pretty protective family and like it or not, you and Tiger are members of the LL family.

Keep an eye on the fever. The clindamycin is a good idea -- it's the same AB I get for periodontal work!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top