? 3/11-Phoebe---327 this am 0.5units given ? TR ?

eva eva

Member Since 2022
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/3-10-phoebe-sugar-baby-235.298997/#post-3252371

Good morning to all,
Phoebe is up this am. I gave her 0.5units and will check her every 3 hours to see where she goes. Reading the TR pathway of getting her controlled faster, I am a bit confused. Here are my questions:

Do I only go up with her insulin once every 3 days, 5 days?
Can I do her evening sugars every 2 hours so I get in at least 3 before bedtime?

0915 - she started chirping and meowing--bs +2 = 275. Should I do her bs every 2 or 3 hours?

@Bandit's Mom
@Wendy&Neko
@tiffmaxee
 
A curve is either a test every 2 hours for 12 hours, or every 3 hours for 18 hours. You pick. You can test more if you want. I suggest that if you see something close to 100 your next test should be sooner than 2 hours. Note, since you've just started her back on insulin, the depot is just starting to build, so it could be several days before you see what the initial dose can do. You hold the initial dose 5-7 days with TR, 7 days with SLGS.

With TR, the rate at which you increase the dose depends on the nadirs she is seeing. If above 200, you go up every 3 days. If between 100-199 it's every 3-5 days - I held longer for low blues. And with green nadirs you hold 5 days.
 
Thanks! that is very easily understood. I am doing every 2 hours today for 12 hours. numbers are on the sheet.
Question: Do I have to take up all the food after she eats in the am or do I leave it down?
I normally, leave all am food down till pm feeding and then change all out for fresh pm feeding.
 
sideline on surgery for Phoebe:
I had to take One-eyed Jack into Vet today. He is my FIV, oral resorptive, herpetic eye, steroid induced heart failure- orange cat. He has been sneezing once in a while lately--big goobers last night. upper respiratory --viral but with his history --is now on Zithromax. 7 days. hear murmur still soft-good.
While I was there, I spoke with the Vet again on Phoebe's numbers, her inflamed tooth causing higher sugars, and the surgery so far out. almost a month. She had Phoebe's labs back and they are not bad. She was happy with them. She again reiterated wanting to see what Phoebe's going to do with insulin again and her sugars. she doesn't want to add more stress from the anesthesia and she is gone the last of the month. I suggested the other vet and said I have total comfort with either of them. She asked the other vet and no luck. But they did put me on a cancellation schedule. Hope--and fingers crossed. I am not sure how to upload her labs to the site. the option of uploading tells me I am not allowed to do that. I did somehow get it in the conversation on Phoebe
 
Last edited:
Do I have to take up all the food after she eats in the am or do I leave it down?
Do what you normally do. You want to do a curve showing normal feedings.

There is a Labs tab on the spreadsheet, you can input the values there. I like using that as it lets you see trends over time. My civvies also have labs spreadsheets.
 
Labs posted on spread sheet.
One other question for the day.
I am leaving Sunday am and will be gone till Tuesday pm. The person that will take care of the cats does not do sugars. She can give insulin. and can give meds. But doesn't stay long at the house. Does come twice a day. 730am and 430pm


Dosing for Phoebe ideas?


@tiffmaxee
@Bandit's Mom
@Wendy&Neko
 
I did take it off. so sorry to give you a heart attack. My stupid interpretation was Get Assistance.-----Lesson learned.

I thought it meant "Georgia" when I first got on the forum, and I kept wondering why there were so many people on here from Georgia.:)
 
Phoebe blood sugars trending down tonight after her insulin of 0.5 unit. monitoring hourly till she omes up.
I think the nadir has dropped --now 72
 
at
+4 -72 she ate a little raw rabbit---I couldn't get blood @+5 after multiple tries, @ +6 --153.
LOng night. She hissed at me alot.
I don't know how much insulin to give in the am. This was only one full day with 0.5unit am and pm.

@Wendy&Neko
@tiffmaxee
@Bandit's Mom
 
Back
Top