3/11 Jax has on his mountain climbing gear

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lisa & Jax

Active Member
Good Morning All! ~O)

After a crazy run of long duration cycles I flirted with reducing the dose to 1.4 and seems like *I* got a swift kick in the pants behind it. Jax has pulled out his hiking gear and is starting to climb. No longer content to be an astronaut he has decided he wants to give wilderness exploration a go. Perhaps he caught wind of my desire to go camping. Who knows?

The last few cycles have given me fairly ugly PS's. Coming in close to topping 400 with this morning finally breaking that threshold. AMPS was 416 only because I shot him early. Blech.

Anyway, I did run back to the hills of 1.6u and I hope that whatever was working previously, starts working again. My fear is that the pancreas may have been helping out a little and it's packed up and left the building. We shall see if this nightmare continues.

The recap!

PMPS 397 1.6u given and fed
+3 266
+8 215 fell asleep, missed nadir. Gave snack at this time because I slept thru the normal time I would have
PMPS 416 1.6u given and fed. Shot 30 mins early. He is now on a schedule I cannot maintain so I'm hoping beyond hope that he gives me a longer run this evening as I hate for him to stay in high numbers for hours at a time, especially the reds. The current trend doesn't support this tho'. Sigh.

Hope everyone has great cycles filled with blues and greens. Including us!
 
Good morning, Lisa -

ugh on ugly PS's - I do hope you find relief in the return to 1.6 and that we all have a have a blue-green day! :-D
 
Well you had to reduce, so you did, now you know you have to go back up. Some kitties like it better if you keep the pressure on, and maybe Jax is one of those. Hopefully this time around 1.6 will be the perfect fit. Fingers and pink kitty toes crossed for ya here :-D
 
I'm not convinced.

The best day you've had was 3/8 on a dose of 1/4u, but he went from +11 116 to PMPS 213 which suggests he saw a string of greens during the cycle followed by a slow rise to high flat cycles that is pretty common as their liver gets used to the good numbers again.

But then you raised the dose and on 3/10 got a 75% to 80% drop followed by a high flat cycle again and then the 416 this morning. Bounce. You'll drive yourself crazy chasing bounce numbers because we can't control them, the best we can do is wait them out.

I personally would go back to the 1.4u and try for another string of greens.

Just my 2 cents.
 
Good observation.

My gut was telling me to reduce to 1.4 as I thought that something inside was being kickstarted and I didn't want to drive him too low. So, I tried it out. Basically trying to reel in the insulin bringing him too low, with balancing how he tends to rocket off the last hour to PS. A balancing act for sure. Been toying with the idea of dusting off the u40's to give 1.5.

It is one of those things that can drive you crazy. You want to keep the momentum and hate to lose pace, uncertain if you drop the dose it may place more strain on an already burned out pancreas or to ease up because it's too much.

Guess I'll drive myself crazy for a few more hours while I mull this over. Thanks for all the input. Much appreciated.
 
I’d be really happy to be wrong and have you get good numbers on a lower dose! :-D Go for it!
 
The other thing you could try is adjust by the preshot. Not technically a sliding scale, but maybe draw a line in the sand at 300 or 350 and shoot 1.6 above or 1.4 below? If you are trying to avoid the steeper drops that give you the bounces, you can try to buffer the drop by feeding some at +4? That might avoid the greens, and lessen the bounces, but hopefully bring the PS numbers down without dropping the nadirs. Flatter curve, but less bouncing. Just a thought...

Carl
 
Yeah. I always give a snack at +4 or +5 to ward off the greens. That is in the arsenal already. I'm really looking to keep him in the low 100's around nadir to keep the bounces at bay. I know we all hope to catch some green but I may be the only person on the board that really doesn't want to see any # under 100. At least for now. On occasion I have forgotten to give his snack on time, and the #'s do reflect that. He goes lower than I'd like. Bad me.

I think I do like the idea of drawing that line in the sand whether 1.4 or 1.6 around the PS. I may test out 300 first and see where that takes us.

Thanks everyone.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top