3/11 Hershey - NEED 8:15AM DOSING ADVICE

Status
Not open for further replies.

Doug N Libby

Very Active Member
Happy Saturday - I hope y'all are enjoying a beautiful almost 60 degree day like we are!!

Recap:

03/09/12
AMPS (388) 5:30am .9u
+6 (267)

PMPS (249) 5:15pm - Tested at 5:15, so could start moving it up a few min.
5:30 retest (244)
5:50pm retest (259) .6u
+6 midnight (60)
:15 retest - just for my peace of mind (73)

Start to a mini-curve to try to figure out what's going on with Hershey...

03/10/12
AMPS (317) 6:10am - .8u
+6 (160)
+9 (187)
+11 (293) 5:00pm

PMPS (329) 6:45pm - .8u, to get him to a normal time for next week
+3 (276)
+6 (39) 12:45am - retest (36) - fed (1/4 can 4% Wellness) - seemed uber hungry after eating
:15 retest (42) - fed 1/8 can 4% Wellness
:15 retest (36) - fed 1/8 can 4% Wellness - was agreeable to the idea of eating, but not ravenous
:15 retest (50) - no food
+7 (42) - guess I should've fed; fed 1/16
:15 retest (45) - fed 1/16
:30 retest (45) - no food
+8 (45) - fed 1/16 - TOTAL FOOD: roughly 5/8 can
:30 retest (56) no food
+9 (51) - fed 1/16 - was afraid not to feed, in case he needed it and if I wait much longer it may mess up his AMPS - FOOD: Roughly 11/16 can in 3 hrs
+10 (78) - Wondering what AMPS will be. Going to change the Subj of this thread
+12 (137) - fed normal 1/4 can - HOW can he be hungry?? Left 'a little mouthful'
+13 (251)
+14 (270) - shot .5u


Libby (and Hershey, too!)
 
Re: 3/10 Hershey mini-curve

Not bad at all. Little higher but maybe a flatter curve the day after a low nadir? I think he is looking good, Libby!
 
Re: 3/10 Hershey mini-curve

Pretty darn nice curve after that low last night.

I think that the night of 3/7 Mr. P paid a visit so stay on your toes.

I would leave the sliding scale where it is until you get back from your trip.
 
Re: 3/10 Hershey mini-curve

PMPS (329) 6:45pm - .8u, to get him to a normal time for next week
+3 (276)


Can y'all see all the values on my SS? I can't see the PMPS .8u at 6:45pm on my other computer...weird...
 
Re: 3/10 Hershey mini-curve - Is PM +6 REALLY (39)??

+6 (39) 12:45am - retest (36) - fed (1/4 can 4% Wellness) - seemed uber hungry after eating
:15 retest (42) - fed 1/8 can 4% Wellness
:15 retest (36) - fed 1/8 can 4% Wellness - was agreeable to the idea of eating, but not ravenous
:15 retest (50) - no food
+7 (42) - guess I should've fed; fed 1/16
 
Re: 3/10 Hershey - Is PM +6 REALLY (39)??

Whoa, stop the presses. Is Hershey okay? Just peeked at your SS and don't see an update after the hypo..
Very surprised he threw that curveball!
 
Re: 3/10 Hershey - Is PM +6 REALLY (39)??

:15 retest (45) fed 1/16 can and hope I can wait :30 to retest, he's losing patience with me...Not sure I should wait that long...
 
Re: 3/10 Hershey - Is PM +6 REALLY (39)??

Ae you still feeding low carb? I see that he is not dropping, which is good. How much has he eaten so far? Is he starting to tire?
 
Re: 3/10 Hershey - Is PM +6 REALLY (39)??

Good morning, Lisa :-D

He's eaten his normal 1/4 at feeding time and since has had 1/4 + 1/8. He seems okay about eating, but it's not like it's tops on his list. (Yes, he's still eating his normal 4% carbs) It seems he is trying to avoid me right now as all he wants to do is go to sleep - fat and happy. I'd love to wait at least another :15 to test (that'd be :30 since last test) as I know he's getting tired of being poked. Me? I'm just TIRED - know what I mean? ;-) Silly me, I thought I would do the +6, feed, move the clocks forward and get a few hours of sleep so I don't fall asleep in church tomorrow, but, once again, Hershey had other plans. Sure wish he'd clued me so I could've taken an afternoon nap! @-)
 
Re: 3/10 Hershey - Is PM +6 REALLY (39)??

Sorry, Lisa - Don't know how your first post got by me. I didn't see this one coming, either - even though Robin warned me to be on my toes. He has this thing about Sat nights though...thinks I like Sat night slumber parties or something ;-)
 
Re: 3/10 Hershey - Is PM +6 REALLY (39)??

Morning Libby, ~O)

Have no idea why I'm up. I know Hershey is probably annoyed at the ear pokes but it is best to be on the safe side. From what it looks like he held the # without food for 30 mins then started to drop some so at least he isn't in freefall. You've been managing it well. I think I would have broken out the higher carbs on a 40 but he is holding. I don't really know Hershey's behaviors but will he continue to eat if you need him too? (if #'s start to drop again) I'm concerned that he may get filled up on the lower carb food.
 
Re: 3/10 Hershey - Is PM +6 REALLY (39)??

I've never filled him up (much like my son) ;-) although that has been going through my mind, too. I just don't want to throw him into those 500's if I can help it. Every time he's done this (but one) we've managed with the low carb food. I still have the higher carb food and karo handy, just in case.

I was wondering why in the world you were up at this hour. Thanks for checking on us. Almost time to test again, it will have been :30 since last test.
 
Re: 3/10 Hershey - Is PM +6 REALLY (39)??

I'll hang out with you until you are out of the woods.

I agree with you on the 500's. If you can manage it thru lower carb, great. It sounds like if you need to crack open the gravy that he would still go for it. He may not be able to stay away from all that high carb goodness.

Looks like he tried to pull this stunt on you last night but didn't quite drop hypo levels.
 
Re: 3/10 Hershey - Is PM +6 REALLY (39)??

Retest (45) - didn't feed. Will retest :15 to see if he's holding or just what he's decided to do. Surely he should see a little rise from the food soon. I'm so confused with the time change...let's see...he ate almost two hours ago. How long before it shows up in their numbers?

Thanks for hanging out with us. Wish I had coffee and cake to offer you :smile:
 
Re: 3/10 Hershey - Is PM +6 REALLY (39)??

If I figured correctly, at this point, he has eaten 1/16 less than last time he hypo'd which was 2/24 PMPS. And, I think you're right about his at least thinking of trying this last night. I have no idea when his nadir is, I don't think I catch it very often. I've seen it from +4 to +7 when doing multiple checks. So, that (60) last night at +6 could've been on the way up from who knows what...
 
Re: 3/10 Hershey - Is PM +6 REALLY (39)??

I would take you up on the coffee but hold the cake. I have a vacation coming up soon. :smile:

After two hours in we should be seeing something... unless the food is what's holding his # now? I'm really surprised that you didn't get a bounce off of the 60 last night. That's good news at least. His liver isn't panicking to the lows.
 
Re: 3/10 Hershey - Is PM +6 REALLY (39)??

I had shared with my daughter (Jessica is 18.) what I read on one thread about during hypo's the kitty gets extra treats and the bean gets ice cream or something. Last time he hypo'd she said, mom - you never did get any ice cream. Well, we have ice cream every Sat night, so maybe he figured I had already had MY treat - HEY! Maybe that's why he does this on Sat nights! ;-)

Time to test - brb
 
Re: 3/10 Hershey - Is PM +6 REALLY (39)??

Ok. Sorry if slow in responding. My laptop is giving me some problems and I just hate sitting at the desk to use the desktop. Guess it's time for a replacement.
 
Re: 3/10 Hershey - Is PM +6 REALLY (39)??

Lisa & Jax said:
Ok. Sorry if slow in responding. My laptop is giving me some problems and I just hate sitting at the desk to use the desktop. Guess it's time for a replacement.

I'm currently on my laptop as my desktop is running slow. My computer savvy son sent me an inbox from school about how he noticed I was using ccleaner regularly nor doing regular updates. He's coming home the end of next week, guess I should see about doing some of that before he gets here. ;-) That's one BIG thing I've missed with him being gone to college!
 
Re: 3/10 Hershey - Is PM +6 REALLY (39)??

I haven't been walking him lately. I couldn't tell if he was too distracted (with Oreo, Doug and Jessica always moving and doing) or if he'd lost interest or if it was uncomfortable for him. Depending on the weather or if he's slept long periods of time or I don't know what, he favors that surgical hip. And, I didn't want to do anything to cause him pain. But, while I'm fixing his food he does often do a couple of laps around the island.
 
Re: 3/10 Hershey - Is PM +6 REALLY (39)??

A funny story for you... Dh was saying that Jax needed some exercise as he's an indoor cat. Well, I immediately thought of you and decided to 'walk' Jax around the sofa while carrying his food dish. He followed me for 1.5 times around the sofa and then just sat down. I think he was thinking, "I'll just wait here for her to stop walking around the sofa. She'll get tired soon enough." It was the funniest thing. Oh well...have to think of something else for my lazy fellow.
 
Re: 3/10 Hershey - Is PM +6 REALLY (39)??

LOL - literally - Oreo would just sit and watch Hershey walk with me. In fact, he'd regularly be a roadblock for Hershey to have to go around!

I know what you mean about have to find some kind of exercise for them. Both of ours are strictly indoor kitties - Oreo is a chunk, but races up and down the hall, has a 4 ft + vertical jump and plays fetch. Hershey is underweight, but I know he'd feel better if he moved around more, especially if he didn't allow that hip to stiffen up on him. That's why I had bought the harness to try - don't know WHAT I was expecting. But, I think I'll try again after we get home from our trip next week.
 
Re: 3/10 Hershey - Is PM +6 REALLY (39)??

Good luck with the harness. Take pictures. :lol:

You know, looking at Hersheys SS...this was such a curveball. No rhyme or reason. Looks like the same dose, same food..like previous cycle. One cycle gives you a 160, the other a 39. It's like a switch just turned on.
 
Re: 3/10 Hershey - Is PM +6 REALLY (39)??

I know what you mean. I know I'm ignorant about fd, but he's making me feel stupid! Looks like after two months there should be a pattern, a rhyme or reason -

Just retested (56). I really appreciate you hanging out with us, but you should probably go get some sleep. I'd like to think ONE of us gets to go to bed! :lol: Not sure how much longer I should stay up with him. I want to make SURE he's not going to drop once the food starts to wear off, so I'll be up at least another :30 or so. In times past, I usually stop worrying (and worrying him!) once he's closer to 80. :YMSIGH:
 
Re: 3/10 Hershey - Is PM +6 REALLY (39)??

Also got a really low run for most of his AM cycle. Stayed in nice numbers for the majority of it. Wondering if his pancreas is trying to assist tonight.
 
Re: 3/10 Hershey - Is PM +6 REALLY (39)??

At least he is on the rise. I'll let all the mini dosers help you work out an AM dose because I have NO idea! I'll ship off to bed then. Will catch the AMPS come daylight. Good night.
 
Re: 3/10 Hershey - Is PM +6 REALLY (39)??

I sent his pancreas an invitation months ago, I'm guessing it got lost in the mail! But, maybe he's finding his way. I feel like the more numbers I get, the less I know. I read others' threads and y'all sound so together...I'm still feeling confused. But, today I was re-reading some of my initial posts and I don't that I KNOW any more, but I don't feel as overwhelmed as I did in the beginning. So, that's at least a start.

Goodnight, Lisa - THANKS for the company!!
 
Re: 3/10 Hershey - Is PM +6 REALLY (39)??

+9 (51) - fed 1/16 - was afraid not to feed, in case he needed it and if I wait much longer it may mess up his AMPS - FOOD: Roughly 11/16 can in 3 hrs
Hindsight says I shouldn't have given him all of regular 1/4 can meal at +6

Going to take ~ hour nap and retest

+10 (78) - Going to change the Subj of this thread. Wondering what AMPS will be. I think he's safe now, so won't test again until then. My ~:40 nap was appreciated. I awoke to a commercial about...diabetes :smile:
 
Good Morning Libby!

If you can, it would be interesting to check Hershey again in an hour. It would be interesting to see if the number drops or goes up with the food. It would be great information.
 
Well, what do you know? Hershey left 'a little mouthful' (as my grandma would say) - guess you CAN fill him up! :shock: :o (Of course, since 12:45 he's had ~15/16 of a can!)

I'll do my best to get that 1 hour after eating test. Struggling to keep my eyes open for some reason ;-)
 
Looks like you were having a fun evening!!!! Does Hershey ever seem hypo when he throws those low numbers?

*Now I know where MR. P ran off to last night.....
 
Alright....so looks like he's going to bounce, probably see a 400 in the next few hours.

*that is, if he responds like the last time he did this to you....took about 6 hours after he left the green zone. But maybe the BG is just that much higher because you fed him?
 
+13 - 1 hour after eating 1/4 can (251)

I need him to be on a 7:00 shot schedule by Tues for the kitty-sitter. So, if I shot 7:30 Tues morn, 8 Mon night, 8:30 Mon morn, 9 tonight and 9:30 this morning that would still work. Of course, it would mean shooting RIGHT now and knowing the (251) wasn't just from the food, so he'd still be safe.

What to do...what to do...

And, no, Hershey has never shown any signs of hypo. I only know it because I happen to be testing at that time.
 
Yeah, my cat neither...starting to think that the pancreas is causing these long, low runs of numbers and that though it's scary for us the cat is fine with it. I'm still gonna test when I see a 60, but just saying. Micro dose? Mr. P seems to have left the building.
 
It may be his pancreas trying, honestly, I'm too foggy to know what to think. I'm still concerned that on a normal day he gets stressed at testing and it drives his BG up. So, we dose on that stressed increase and that may be when he goes too low. But, it doesn't always work that way, because he doesn't drop really low after those tests when he was noticeably agitated, so - who knows?? I try to keep as much constant as I can control, which isn't much ;-)
 
I'm even newer than you, and my cat is so sensitive I would not shoot on that number after food. But ECID. If he's up after this latest test you will have to decide what to do, Skip or as Kim told me, shoot a token dose, something really tiny, but I'm already shooting 0.05 so I can't. I would say, newbie guess, that the numbers are food influenced but that he's also just naturally coming up from last night, whether he will really bounce I don't know.
 
100+ point jump is a big one for just being angry about an ear prick. If Mr. P was there you would have had a +1 after food reading of the same or lower. My cat threw a +12 136 today too, skipped and fed, +12.5 123, +13.5 97. That is Mr. P.
 
I would test again now and see what's happening, if it's food he might have climbed enough to make you feel like he's shootable on a small dose.
 
I can hang for about the next 30 minutes, but I have to go to work, just gonna throw some clothes on and BRB....sorry, I know I'm not the best person you could have right now.
 
Doug N Libby said:
It may be his pancreas trying, honestly, I'm too foggy to know what to think. I'm still concerned that on a normal day he gets stressed at testing and it drives his BG up. So, we dose on that stressed increase and that may be when he goes too low. But, it doesn't always work that way, because he doesn't drop really low after those tests when he was noticeably agitated, so - who knows?? I try to keep as much constant as I can control, which isn't much ;-)
Yeah, I hear you on that one. I wouldn't worry so much about the tests being off, he's probaby about the same amount of pissed after each test really, so you're always shooting on the same pissyness! Kind of like doing weird doses on the syringes...you may call it a .25 but who knows what it really is? All that matters is you do it consistently every time.
 
So, if you get another test and it's up, and no one else comes on here and has anything for you, you can either skip or shoot a reduction. If it were my cat and I had been dosing like you I would be thinking somewhere around 0.2 because I would be exhausted and want to play it safe. With that tiny of a dose I was also told I could shoot as needed after +8, I would always wait longer, but that would mean you also might be able to adjust further back than a half hour tonight as long as Hershey plays along.
 
Thanks - gonna retest in about 10 min. Not sure what number to even hope for...

Sent Doug and Jessica off to church without me :sad: because I knew I couldn't make it with ~2 hrs of sleep, but instead of sleeping, here I sit watching the clock...
 
Hi Libby,

I tried to read back through the thread but am kinda lost. What number are you seeing now and at what time after the last shot?

Nice to see low numbers, but he doesn't seem to have much a pattern for throwing them. And that certainly means long nights and worry for you.

Clearly, reduce or skip. Will skipping let you get on the schedule you need?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top