3/10 Minnie PMPS 164, +2 267

Liz & Minnie

Very Active Member
Minnie left the party but is still singing karaoke..."Yesterday..."

Mama is too chicken to increase the dose today and also overslept so missed getting a PM+10 reading/feed. Ooh were they ready for breakfast - but at least managed to pull another 30min closer to schedule!
 
Maybe tonight? We need some green nadirs.
:nailbiting: I know...maybe tonight or tomorrow morning. For some reason (I'm not saying it's rational) I've got a mental block against PM increases. Although... I guess if I increase the dose at night, I should expect any drop to happen the following daytime? Subject to NDW and ECID of course. Yes I'm thinking out loud.
 
Not blue yet but looks like we might be on the way there...green too with any luck, but I'll be satisfied with blue - the days of black and red are still fresh in my memory!
 
Just fed her 1tsp LC 3% or does it need higher %? and when do i next test?
ETA - Just read the don't panic sticky :) I think it's 30min re-test. Just need guidance on the feeding strategy.

She appears to be fine (and the novamax backup test gave a 77, it seems to run quite a bit higher than the freestyle...though I know we're not supposed to compare!)
 
Last edited:
Can you just feed her a meal right now? I mean, is she interested in food? Darcy eats all the time so I was just wondering. It's plus 6 right? I guess you are wondering whether to feed her HC or what?
 
Gave her 1 tsp 3% @6, then 2tsp 10% @6.25.

67 @6.5. Gave her 1tsp 3%. Still hungry and want to keep it that way!
 
Last edited:
"Hungry hungry hippo" (is that a song or just an ad jingle?) Thanks for the response!!

Hungry like the wolf!!
Yes, I guess not everyone eats like Darcy. He eats meals all day long. That's how I know if something is wrong... he won't eat. I guess if he ever gets better numbers he won't be as hungry. The few times he's dropped low though he got very hungry and wanted to feed himself up all on his own.... I didn't have to coax.
 
You want her up at some point for 2 hours without food before it's safe to stop testing.
Thank you! Will add all this to my notes for next time :bookworm:. I didn't give her anything after the +7 test but she's still mad and thrashing her tail, scowling at me.

Question, since her tolerance to poking is pretty low and I usually give her a little food after testing as reward, can I give her a tiny bit of 0% Tiki Puka Luau?
 
Yes, I guess not everyone eats like Darcy. He eats meals all day long. That's how I know if something is wrong... he won't eat. I guess if he ever gets better numbers he won't be as hungry. The few times he's dropped low though he got very hungry and wanted to feed himself up all on his own.... I didn't have to coax.
That seems to be how Minnie is too, she was so alert and hungry! Though it wasn't too low by normal standards, but anything remotely green gets my adrenaline kicking in! Thanks for keeping a lookout for us.
 
Yes it's fine to give her a tiny bit of the Tiki as a reward. Just a dab of it shouldn't ruin her surf.
Thank you. Info to file for next time, she is not desperate for food now but super cranky!

So summarizing for myself for next time:
+6 57 - gave 1t 3% frick
+6.25 - gave 2t 10% DM select
+6.5 67 - gave 1t 3% frick
+7 88 - no food
+7.5 97 - no food

If she keeps on going up at +8 I think that tells me next time to stick with 5 or 8% or only 1t 10% DM select. Just killing time now for 20minutes, though I think she will beat me up at the next test.

thanks everyone - I know this technically wasn't a 911, but I should be more self-sufficient next time!

PS Minnie had enough time for one round of "surfin USA" at the karaoke
 
She is rising slowly, which is good. You have some good data from today on how she responds to carbs, so you can use it next time as a guide. However, her sensitivity (or insensitivity) to carbs can change. Also depends at what point in the cycle she drops. If early on in the cycle, I'd be inclined to feed her a bit of 10% when in the 50s because that's when onset is. Toward middle or end of cycle, she may just surf on a little 3%.
 
Beginning to drop at +8. Hold off the food and test in 30 then feed 3% if still dropping? Or..? thanks

+6 57 - gave 1t 3% frick
+6.25 - gave 2t 10% DM select
+6.5 67 - gave 1t 3% frick
+7 88 - no food
+7.5 97 - no food
+8 85 no food
 
Didn't give her anything at +8.
+8.5 - 84. Gave her 1tsp 3% chicken frickazee. She pretended she wasn't interested in it til I walked away, finished it all and came to look at me asking for more!
 
I forgot and spoiled the data a bit by giving her 1tsp 3% at +8.5 so I didn't get the full 2hour stretch of readings without food.

+10 was dinner time so I gave her another feed, hopefully to last through to PMPS....and then I'm guessing I might have a sleep-friendly bounce to follow. Be glad when this range of numbers is not such a new thing, she does NOT like the tests every 30min!

Thanks again for the support and training. I have a bit of a headache from everything I've learned so far today!
 
It’s okay about the 2 hour stretch without food as long as you are prepared to keep testing if needed.
She is having a beautiful cycle!
And yes it is sooo intense when you are managing active cycles but it gets easier with practice. Minnie, your mama needs more greens so she can practice what she is learning!:joyful:
 
Thank you. Info to file for next time, she is not desperate for food now but super cranky!

So summarizing for myself for next time:
+6 57 - gave 1t 3% frick
+6.25 - gave 2t 10% DM select
+6.5 67 - gave 1t 3% frick
+7 88 - no food
+7.5 97 - no food

If she keeps on going up at +8 I think that tells me next time to stick with 5 or 8% or only 1t 10% DM select. Just killing time now for 20minutes, though I think she will beat me up at the next test.

thanks everyone - I know this technically wasn't a 911, but I should be more self-sufficient next time!

PS Minnie had enough time for one round of "surfin USA" at the karaoke
You are on a roll with the songs!
 
What a beautiful cycle Minnie :):)

great job Liz :) looks like you will have a low preshot in the evening cycle but as you said i would expect a bounce from all this green :)

good luck
 
:oops: I got a bit comfortable and shot without checking the rules first, but all seems ok as PMPS >150! And her ears get a break for a couple of hours. Minnie appreciates the cheer squad.
 
:oops: I got a bit comfortable and shot without checking the rules first, but all seems ok as PMPS >150! And her ears get a break for a couple of hours. Minnie appreciates the cheer squad.

you shot before blue so it’s ok. It is on you now to decide if you will test +1 or +2. 164 is not dangerously low and she will probably bounce but if it where Chico we would still probably take the +1 just out of paranoia haha
 
I was feeling reckless and waited til +2. She says today we get more beauty sleep. Up to 267 at +2 which I think means bounce and I don't need to get up in the night to test? Wait til morning?

@Bandit's Mom...you are the Minnie whisperer! Do we re-set the clock for counting cycles now? - "when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing."
 
I was feeling reckless and waited til +2. She says today we get more beauty sleep. Up to 267 at +2 which I think means bounce and I don't need to get up in the night to test? Wait til morning?

@Bandit's Mom...you are the Minnie whisperer! Do we re-set the clock for counting cycles now? - "when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing."
Looks like a bounce to me too but let's wait for @Bandit's Mom :)

Good night :)
 
Back
Top