3/10 Latte AMPS-250,PMPS~265

Status
Not open for further replies.

carolynandlatte

Member Since 2009
Good Morning LL!

Last night:
pmps-301
+5.5-390
amps-250
*Most certainly went into red, since +3 is almost always higher than +5.5/+6

yesterday:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=8550

I'm not so sure about this new habit of Latte's - standing next to my face staring me into a waking state 30 minutes before the alarm. :lol: It's both heartwarming and appreciated. But I get so little sleep as it is!!!!!

Latte was very brave this a.m., as the first thing she wanted to do was check out the back patio. All it took was one big rain drop to hit her and in she was, looking defeated. She felt up for a second run a little while later. She sped to the other side of the deck as quick as she could, magically in between all the raindrops, only to come accross dead grass in her pots. :cry: Poor thing! Then the hurricane type wind blew and in she ran back inside. I think she felt a little more proud of this attempt!

She has been very social in the short time we have been awake. Slowly, but surely eating pretty well. Looking bright eyed and happy. I lost her wrapper in the kitchen that she has been begging to play with, so we will have to resort to the peacock feather later. I think she is due for a big, smelly poop! :lol: I hope she can handle it okay.

Im home through a +4ish this a.m., but wont be back again until pmps.
I need to figure out daylight savings, since I will be working up to her normal shot time on Saturday...doesnt make it easy. When I figure it out, I will post it and maybe someone can dbl check.

Have a great...Wednesday (already?!?!) :mrgreen:
 
Re: 3/10 Latte AMPS-250

Yuppers! Thanks Linda!
Guess I can put it out there now.
Our shot time is 6am/6pm.
I wont be home from work until 5:30/5:45 on saturday. So the soonest I can do ANY adjustments would be Saturday night. I prefer to make any of the bigger ones in the pm, since she is always high (might actually help her out a little).

I was thinking:
5:30pm Saturday 30 min early
5:15am (new 6:15am) Sunday 15 min early
5:00pm (new 6pm) Sunday 15 min early

I have a new phone since the last day light savings, which serves as my only alarm. I have to figure out if it switches on daylight savings by itself or????

I will have to be on schedule Monday due to work both in the am/pm.
 
Re: 3/10 Latte AMPS-250

To bad we can't send any of this beautiful NYC spring weather your way so that Latte can luxuriate in it! Good luck with your alarm clock. Maybe Latte will find another neat plastic wrapper!!
Ella & Stu
 
Re: 3/10 Latte AMPS-250

Regarding your post on Health about twice daily dosing of pred.

The first concern would be whether the pred would be effective if divided into two doses. Your vet could address that. My vet said that it would be OK to split Bear's dose, but he is on a higher dose than Latte. I found this link: http://www.vin.com/vindbpub/searchpb/pr ... r00427.htm which refers to twice daily dosing.

Quote:

Corticosteroids are the cornerstone of treatment for idiopathic inflammatory bowel disorders. Mild to moderate cases often respond to prednisone or prednisolone at a starting dose of 0.5 to 1 mg/lb divided twice daily for two to four weeks followed by a gradual decline in 50% increments at two week intervals. Cats with inflammatory changes graded as mild usually respond quite well to the lower dose and alternate day or every third day treatment can often be achieved by two to three months. Occasionally treatment can be discontinued altogether by three to six months.

If biopsies reveal disease that is moderate to severe a prednisolone dose of 1 to 2 mg/lb divided twice daily is used for the first 2 to 8 weeks or until clinical signs resolve. I do prefer to use prednisolone over prednisone in cats with inflammatory disorders of a moderate to severe nature, as there may be improved bioavailability in some cats with prednisolone. This dose of corticosteroid is usually well tolerated in cats. In these cases a dose of 0.5 to 1 mg/lb per day may be necessary long term (months to years) to maintain clinical remission.


In terms of effect on BG: It seems intuitive that it would smooth out BG levels, though they may be slightly higher overall. If you look at my SS, I tried BID dosing on Jan 27. You can see a more level pattern than what he was doing prior to that, where he was high at amps and lower at pmps (pred given with pm shot). I did not give it a really fair trial before I bailed out, but I think it did achieve less fluctuation in BG.

Hve you considered an injectable form of steroid? That could alleviate your concern about vomiting the pill. Also, some IBD kitties do not absorb oral meds well. I can't address your concerns about not being able to dose 12/12 - I don't know how it would affect a very sensitive kitty like Latte.
 
Re: 3/10 Latte AMPS-250

I think the way you want to handle DST is fine. The 15 min. shifts work but so does a 30 min.

Great WCR! I'm terrified of letting my guys out on the balcony. I suspect Gabby and Gizmo would be scared of the big world outside.
 
Re: 3/10 Latte AMPS-250, +2-159

Awww....that's a lovely WCR today!

I'm just exceedingly grateful that it's raining and not *snowing*.... I think Jack was a bit surprised to be hit by a few big, fat raindrops on our porch this am, too! But you can feel it - spring IS coming! It's not just a vicious rumor! :lol: Though now I need a small boat (or hip waders) to get from my driveway to my back door!I'll still take it over snow!!

Hope your day goes well!
 
Re: 3/10 Latte AMPS-250, +2-159

That's a very nice +2 there Latte!! Sorry about the rain, so dont get down :sad: --My two sleep & hide on a rainy cloudy day--That's their way of dealing with it--We are also trying to figure out how to do DST--We did it 2 yrs already, but cannot for the life of me recall what I did-- :lol: senile :lol: --Have a great day!
 
Re: 3/10 Latte AMPS-250, +2-159

Morning Carolyn...that post from Sienee was excellent...that really takes the guesswork out of it...
Hopefully, it wont' mess us up this time like the Autumn one. the daylight signaled time to eat when it was an hour too early...this time, maybe it won't be as bad
Can Latte come this afternoon and then spend the whole evening....we can take a break from decorating to have some dinner and I do have the baby food here in case we put on our finicky clothes today....everyone is welcome to come and help so it will probably be another party-before-the-real-party!!! :lol:
 
Re: 3/10 Latte AMPS-250, +2-159, +4~249

Where ya going Latte? Downstairs is nicer.

I think most phones switch automatically, but you may want to call you provider and ask. It's pretty important!
 
Re: 3/10 Latte AMPS-250, +2-159, +4~249, PMPS~265

AMPS-250
+2~159
+4~249
PMPS~265

Looks like she went up @ +4 and either surfed, or went up higher and is now dropping....which of course will be brought back up shortly because of pred. But then what? This is the pattern she had before I got the amps of 103 the other day. She has shown this pattern a few times before, leading to similar scenarios.

Since I am talking about it, of course it wont happen. But just in case...
This time I will not and cannot be home past +2.5 tomorrow a.m.

I dont know what I would do yet, or what cut off numbers I would have for no shot, bcs. I cant delay because I have to shoot and run to another job in the p.m.

I guess I will need to get a +11 and get up at 5am Arg.

Any dosing guidance appreciated....for the "just in case scenario".

Thanks!

ETA: I think I lost a bit of my cconfidence in judgement the other day, which is why I ask for some help.
 
Re: 3/10 Latte AMPS-250,PMPS~265 Dosing plan for tomorrow a.m.

I was gonna leave my ? just sit, but she has something up her paw.
+3 (pred peak) and she has not budged....269.
Just getting a bit more anxious.
 
Re: 3/10 Latte AMPS-250,PMPS~265 Dosing plan for tomorrow a.m.

I'm not sure what your question is, are you looking for a no-shoot number?

I don't really know how to plan those ahead, there are so many variables involved and in the end it often comes down to gut feelings. Definitely get the +11 if you are concerned, that will help (and your before bed test will help too).
 
Re: 3/10 Latte AMPS-250,PMPS~265 Dosing plan for tomorrow a.m.

Libby and Lucy said:
I'm not sure what your question is, are you looking for a no-shoot number?

Well, yes. But I guess that is hard to say. I can shoot the same number two seperate days and get completely opposite reactions under almost exactly the same circumstances.

Libby and Lucy said:
I don't really know how to plan those ahead, there are so many variables involved and in the end it often comes down to gut feelings.

Thats the problem. I think I lost the confidence in my gut feeling after shooting a low number the other day. If I skip, I hurt her. And if I shoot low, I hurt her. Two months ago I had a good idea, because she seemed to have a more consistent pattern. Now, Im clueless.

There is not usually anyone around in the a.m. for our shot time, especially if i cant stall. So I thought I would try to predict and plan...just in case.

After I bumped this, I looked over her ss again and fully realize there is no way anyone could probably guide me. Its a clustermess (to put it nicely).But thank you for popping in and acknowleding our question. Really appreciate it!

After all this she will probably go pink and surf it all day tomorrow, even with a full dose.
 
Re: 3/10 Latte AMPS-250,PMPS~265 Dosing plan for tomorrow a.m.

you can always BCS too. Even 1/2 dose is better than skipping, but should keep her safe. Just throwing another angle in to further complicate things. :razz:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top