3/10 China PMPS 150,+1 164,+2 151,+3 123,+5 91,+7 72 (Reduced) ??? about bupe

Status
Not open for further replies.

Chris/China (GA)/Garfield

Member Since 2013
Our very long night

3/9 AMPS 82,+3.5 101,+6.5 85,+8.5 118, PMPS 144,+2 82,+3 53/3.5 58,+5 48,+6 54,+7 64,+9 75

With China not eating very well at all, I chose to reduce her dose this morning so hopefully it'll keep her a little safer. Last night was a long night and although China in the 40's and 50's isn't anything new, the inappetence is!

Going to make a dash up to the vet this afternoon to pick up some new bupe. Asked if I could get injectable instead of oral since she really hates the oral (and I assume I wouldn't want someone shoving something in my mouth if it hurt either!) They said they'd ask about it, but either way, I'll be picking up something!

They also suggested some A/D...I think I'll pick up a can or two. I know it's not low carb, but maybe she'll eat it. Haven't really made up my mind on it yet

Hoping that maybe when I get back, I might be able to get in a short nap before PMPS time too....I'm beat!
 
I sure don't blame you for the reducie. I'd have done the same. I hope you are able to get the injectable bupe. Poor China. I know it must seem like Friday is sooo far away right now.

Drive safely to the vet. I hope you can were able to get some sleep in.

Sending lots of healing and appy vines. :bighug:
 
Lots of vines to you and China. :bighug:

I, too, hope you can get injectable bupe. Oral meds for a kitty with a broken tooth just sounds like torture. Good luck getting your nap!
 
China, I'm so sorry you don't feel very well. I know is that awful tooth. Please try and eat. Your Momma is making the fuds easy to eat with lots of delicious flavors.
Lots of Meows & Purrs,
Cuz Michael
 
See if you can get some Royal Canin Recovery or Iams Max Cal, both are low carb options if you need to syringe feed. I've heard injectable bupe doesn't work as well in cats. Sending vines for Miss China.
 
Well I only got about 1.5 teaspoons of Gerbers chicken into her for PMPS, so I'm hoping the reduction kicks in and the depot doesn't!

The vet gave me the injectable, but only gave me 3 syringes with directions to only give once/day. Doesn't make any sense to me!

It's .3mg/ml (inject .20ml) 1 syringe under the skin once a day....Does it matter where I shoot? I understand it's still sub Q just like insulin but should I give it someplace different than her insulin? All I can say is for $25 each, it better help!

If I can only give it once/day, I think I'll give it about 8pm tonight....that should hopefully get her some relief (and hopefully eating!!) and carry over until AMPS at 6am (I hope)
 
our vets aren't legally allowed to give it in injectable syringes but I remember last time I was asking (after a dental), and suggesting I could just inject the oral doses myself, they said I could but we're pretty worried about me doing that. The vet checked what the dose would be and it was very very tiny in comparison to what to give orally. I didn't end up doing it but I had asked about injection sites and they said I could shoot it anywhere I would shoot insulin. I would probably pick a different spot to the surrounding insulin injections though.

So sad she has to wait until Friday :( sending appy and pain vines and also some extras for safe surfs.

Hey China, you want to come visit, Friday will come faster here - Vyktor
 
I've been a bit preoccupied and missed that poor China broke a tooth. Sending tons of prayers for you guys...I hope the bupe helps get her through till Friday. Same thing happened with one of my civvies a couple years ago...we had to wait from Friday till Monday, and the bupe did help a lot with getting is through.

It'll be OK soon, little girl!!
 
I'm pretty sure that the oral and injection are the same. Your vet is also overcharging. My vet gave me a vial along with the syringes and I don't think it cost what you're paying.

I wouldn't inject in the same spot where you inject the insulin. You don't want the bupe to interfere with the Lantus forming a precipitate. You can inject on the opposite side.
 
I am going to ask about the cost ....don't have the receipt anymore, but it seems like when she had the dental, I got 14 syringes of bupe (oral) for about $75 total
 
That price on the bupe doesn't sound right to me either. As for the Hills A/D, that stuff is awesome when you have a cat that just won't eat. It's probably not a good choice for a FD cat normally, but if you're desperate, it's great stuff. You can easily syringe it too, and it's a whole lot of calories in just a little food.
 
Well I got her to eat about 3 baby teaspoons of FF watered down pretty well and served one spoonful at a time. If I put it in her bowl she won't touch it, but if I sit there and spoon it out, she'll lick it off the spoon

Went ahead and gave her the first syringe of bupe at +2....Hopefully it'll work well for her and she'll eat better later on
 
sending lots of feel better vines to Ms. China.....Skooter feels your pain and hopes you get to feelin better real quick like!
 
I've never injected bupe but will see what I can find out. I noticed with my cats that different flavors make a difference with baby food. Tiffany wouldn't touch the chicken but liked the rest and Max likes the ham and beef the best but will eat chicken and turkey. AD syringes easily should that become necessary. Hugs and vines.
 
that's an outrageous price for the bupe. I switched from oral to injectible for punkin and he got it twice a day for months. There's no way it was that much - I can't look at the price now but i know it wasn't $25 per day.

I did read that the injectible isn't as consistent of response in cats as the oral is. I'd go back to it. Just get it on her gum under her lip.
 
Is the injectible the same stuff, just with a needle attached?

The only oral I have is from her last dental and is over a year old

She was fighting me pretty hard about getting it into her mouth which is why I thought we'd try the injection
 
She ate a little better at 9 (+3) but since then she's really not interested in eating. I hoped the bupe would make her feel well enough to want to eat, but I also wonder if it's making her a little nauseous. I don't have any cerenia (if I remember right, that's better for nausea), and Ondansetron is better for actual vomiting (I do have a little of that)
 
It's the opposite. Cerenia is better for vomiting and Ondansetron is better for nausea although ECID. If you have any ondansetron I'd try it. Poor baby.
 
OK I thought it was the other way around since the Ondansetron is used for chemo patients to stop them from throwing up. I've got some that ondansetron here that one of the hospitals sent home with my mom when she was so nauseous and vomiting. I guess I could try
 
It can't hurt. What strength are they? Most cats need 1mg but some like Max need 2. It can help with vomiting too by the way.
 
They're 4mg ...smallest size they have I think
Okay, that is what I have. You start with 1/4 and can give more in 8 hours if needed. I usually give it every 12 hours and Max needs 1/2 a pill. Everyone starts with 1/4 though. Did you try it? How is she now?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top