3/10 Baby PMPS 64 +6 73

Status
Not open for further replies.

Nicole & Baby

Member Since 2009
Good morning, Lantus Land :YMHUG:

Yesterday

**Question** Any tips on how to bring down the AMPS #s? It looks like everything is falling into place - but the AMPS #s are running a lil high - could be just her bouncing to the blues & still in LTS. If so.. then there is nothing but time that will heal that!

But if not.. I did read that feeding at +9 may help out - I tried that the past two nights - setting my alarm for 12:45am & feeding at 1am - since her shot is at 4am. But it did not seem to do any difference. Any other tips? :?:

Everything is going beautifully for Baby & I -- I truly feel we are blessed. She is sliding down the dose cycle very nicely & is now on .50 as of this morning. She is eating Raw Rabbit now that the Raw Chicken was recalled & no stores in my area have any past the "best if used by date of 2/5/11" she is still on her Wellness too. Definitely not eating very much - but I hear when the #s get better that is the way it is. She has lost her favorite ball of 8 years & I am sad about that -- I have been searching under every piece of furniture & am at a total loss. She has similar balls - same color - same feathers - same store - but naturally those do not interest her - they seem the same to me, but Baby knows they are not. :YMSIGH:

I will run home on lunch to get a +7 cat_pet_icon

Wishing you all a Beautiful Blessed Day!!!

:thumbup B :thumbup A :thumbup B :thumbup Y
 
Re: 3/10 Baby AMPS 167 +3 121 Question

But if not.. I did read that feeding at +9 may help out - I tried that the past two nights - setting my alarm for 12:45am & feeding at 1am - since her shot is at 4am. But it did not seem to do any difference. Any other tips?

hi Nicole
couple questions
how much did she get at the +9 times? what did she eat? the raw or wellness?

and, in the day cycle, do u have food for her at +9 too?

I have heard the AMPS takes the longest to bring down, but cuz it's only been two times you have tried an overnite +9 feed, maybe give it about a week and see how it goes?
 
Re: 3/10 Baby AMPS 167 +3 121 Question

You got the green amps when you fed at +7, right?
There is also the dawn phenomena where the bg goes up in the am..
Hope you can figure it out..BUT Baby is doing so so well :mrgreen:
You will get there, dont rush, good things are worth waiting for..
My Mom used to say "Man Plans, and God Laughs"--How true--We should make it--Cats Laugh!! :lol: :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 3/10 Baby AMPS 167 +3 121 Question

I need to keep better track about when I am feeding & at what times.. During the day I don’t think she really eats - I come home to plates full of food. I fed the Raw at +9 both nights & received about a 1/4 of a medallion - that is all she will eat when I am home.. I leave Wellness out for when I am not home - since Raw cannot sit out. I am going to have patience here & see what happens - I like the idea of continuing to do it for a week or so (feeding at +9 or even +7) because 2 days of data does not mean much now that you point that out ohmygod_smile (((thank you Roni & Ronnie!!))
 
Re: 3/10 Baby AMPS 167 +3 121 Question

Baby is doing good...and Nicole, I found that if I fed at +8 it was better than +9. that gave the 4 hours to drop rather than the 3 hours. ECID. But I found that this worked with Raja.
I have been trying to think of a kitty wheel...like the gerbil wheel.
It will be a great invention once I iron out the kinks in the plan.
(the major kink is trying to figure out how to motivate a kitty to run around in circles for no reason. :lol:
Exercise is said to lower BGs....but if you could see my kitties, yo would understand that if there is no reason to run someplace, walking is just fine.....and then again, why bother getting up in the first place? :lol: So nice to lie here cat napping and feeling all cozy and rested....
 
Re: 3/10 Baby AMPS 167 +3 121

Hi Nicole,

As I understand it the AMPS is the last number to come down, but Baby is doing great.

Nicole & Baby said:
She has lost her favorite ball of 8 years & I am sad about that -- I have been searching under every piece of furniture & am at a total loss.

Did you check under the stove? I am amazed how many cat toys I find under the stove.


Nicole & Baby said:
he has similar balls - same color - same feathers - same store - but naturally those do not interest her - they seem the same to me, but Baby knows they are not.

I totally know what you mean. Crystal, one of my other kitties, has a ball that she will fetch, but only that ball. I have bought other balls that started out the same but she just doesn't like them.
 
Re: 3/10 Baby AMPS 167 +3 121

Your spreadsheet looks so good, Nicole. That's amazing that you get so many spot checks in!

You've done such great work. I'm so happy, you are getting closer and closer to less insulin! That is so exciting!

Congrats! :thumbup
 
Re: 3/10 Baby PMPS 64 +1 48 Question Eyes Please

I need to go to my part time job for a bit - I brought out a can of LC but higher Carb than she normally gets - normally she gets a 4 on the food chart - this is an 8.
We are only 1 hour into our cycle, just dosecreased to .50 this morning.. what now?
 
Re: 3/10 Baby PMPS 64 +1 48 Question Eyes Please

feed a little bit and restest in 15 min

how long till u have to leave?
 
Re: 3/10 Baby PMPS 64 +1 48 Question Eyes Please

The shed from your last dose is still with her--That could be the reason she is going this low--Dont panic- It's nearly 50-That 8 carb should bring her up--I use med carb-like 8-13 carbs to bring Moonie up, without a big bounce..Dont think that will be a problem for you here--
Remeber the shed was filled on your 0.75 dose--
I always keep some temptations on hand to give Moonie when she wont eat, or all else fails--Cant imagine she'd willingly eat karo :lol: :lol: :lol:
You got my eyes girl~!!!
 
Re: 3/10 Baby PMPS 64 +1 48 Question Eyes Please

I have to leave in about 30mins... I am going to get a check as I am leaving (+2).. the good news is.. I can run home to test (+3) & will be home by +4 .. just nervous because she is not really interested in food... thank you for being here for us
 
Re: 3/10 Baby PMPS 64 +1 48 Question Eyes Please

just get in a poke before you go, I'm sure the LC brought her up. If she's not up and you have to go, there's always HC.

Let's see how the next few hours go and then talk about dose. :smile:
 
Re: 3/10 Baby PMPS 64 +1 48 +2 48

She is still at 48 @ +2 -- not interested in eating at all -- I need to leave but will be back for a +3, then have to leave & will be back for a +4 - plenty of food left out. I am not bringing out HC -- since she is surfing 48. If in the 30s in an hour - I will bring out seafood that I know she will eat. Please babysit Baby for me while I am at work nailbite_smile
 
Re: 3/10 Baby PMPS 64 +1 48 +2 48

Baby is doing so fantastic! Happy for you Nicole and Baby :thumbup \M/
 
Re: 3/10 Baby PMPS 64 +3 35

now we know for sure she earned another dosecrease, though. :mrgreen:

0.25 in the morning. But for now, how about a little food and a retest in 20 minutes?
 
Re: 3/10 Baby PMPS 64 +3 35

Nicole - her little bounces clear really fast though. *antijinx*......Is she eating for you now?
 
Re: 3/10 Baby PMPS 64 +3 35

Gosh girls .. I am nervous.. I was able to get her to eat seafood & a few Milky Flake-Ums (snacks) I am testing again in a few minutes to make sure she is on the rise.

Libby.. I know you said .25 in the morning -- what if this is the shed still working? Should I try to stay for another .50 cycle if the AM # is higher?
 
Re: 3/10 Baby PMPS 64 +3 35 +20min 59 Libby Question

Roni.. what if this is her shed & she is high in the AM? Hold 50 another cycle or 2? I need to leave for an hour... I will be back girls.
 
Re: 3/10 Baby PMPS 64 +3 35 +20min 59 Libby Question

She will be home tomorrow to monitor ;-) She told me she had the next two days to be there for Baby, yay!
 
Re: 3/10 Baby PMPS 64 +3 35 +20min 59 Libby Question

35!--Definitely earned the reduction!!!!! Go for it!! Whoo Hooo!!! party_cat party_cat party_cat cat_pet_icon
Great Great Catch! Oh I'm so happy for you :-D :-D :-D
 
Re: 3/10 Baby PMPS 64 +3 35 +4 48

(((Thanks everyone!))) Back at 48 ... I wish I could be happy about our dosecrease.. I am just scared & upset .. because of the few HC snacks I gave, her not being a LTS graduate yet & only a .25 in the morning.. & not getting out of the 30s & 40s ... and we are at +4 .. I think I will wake up to a yellow or pink & ruin all her progress.
 
Re: 3/10 Baby PMPS 64 +3 35 +4 48

I really do understand, I was scared of dose reductions with Lucy and I'm still nervous recommending dose reductions for other cats. Baby is ready, though.
 
Re: 3/10 Baby PMPS 64 +3 35 +4 48

(((Libby))) I totally support any decision that you give & am going to give her the .25 in the morning for sure ;-)
I am glad this did not happen the first time I shot a low # .. this is stressing me out!! Thankfully I have all of you!! Hopefully on .25 she can become steady & get her AM #s down too :mrgreen:
 
Re: 3/10 Baby PMPS 64 +3 35 +5 41

(((Thanks, Erica & Moses)))

Team.. I do not know what to do.. she is surfing 40s, is not interested in eating - I finally just got her to take 3 bites of Wellness Beef & Salmon - do I just let her surf here?
 
Re: 3/10 Baby PMPS 64 +3 35 +5 41 Question Again

I'm not very comfortable with her surfing that low, especially if you'll be going to bed soon. Have you offered any gravy? Don't worry about the bounce, any bounce she has will be tiny, just a little slurpus of gravy will probably bump her to the 50's.
 
Re: 3/10 Baby PMPS 64 +3 35 +5 41 Question Again

I am going to stay up with her.. but I gave her 4 hours to come up.. so finally caved & gave her a teaspoon (couple licks of gravy)
 
Re: 3/10 Baby PMPS 64 +3 35 +5 41

I just realized my earlier post didn't post.

Congrats on the 2 dosecreases Nicole and Baby!! Baby is doing great!! From the looks of her SS, I wouldn't worry about a bounce, as it looks like she hasn't had a bounce above yellow in a few weeks. Besides, it's better to have a little bounce than to go hypo from the dose being too high.
 
Re: 3/10 Baby PMPS 64 +3 35 +5 41

congrats on the reduction, nicole! :mrgreen:

don't be afraid to give hc when needed, k? there was a combination of two things going on here which sent up an hc flag ...
1. the +2 *should* be right about the same number as the preshot number. if it's lower... *usually* the cat will drop further.
2. you were leaving and the low number was at the beginning of the cycle.

40s is too low to surf comfortably. you want to bring her up a level. some kitties like to surf the 50s and that's purr-fectly ok.

last but not least... don't worry about the reduction not holding. baby is ready. just yesterday one of the others left a note about baby. it said, "this cat may be working on another dosecrease. please keep your eyes open." my response, "yes! i suspect a couple of reductions were missed."
so you see, we've been expecting the reductions. :-D
 
(((Jill))) I was just thinking.. I have not felt this way since Baby's first night when I gave too much insulin & you (along with others) were up with me all night.. now seeing you stop by .. definitely made it feel like that night :shock:

It really was sweet of you to tell me about the note left about Baby.. it warms my heart that others are looking out for her - it means so much to us :YMHUG:

Hopefully I can get her full 24 hour cycle in the greens.. so she can be a canidate one day for OTJ :-D

I plan to get a +8 & maybe more... thank you again to each & everyone of you ...for all the support, education & encouragement this evening & everyday!
 
Hopefully I can get her full 24 hour cycle in the greens..
i have a feeling the reduced dose will help flatten her out. too much insulin can not only cause drops followed by bounces, but too much insulin can also cause higher numbers. let's see how things go... and try not to react "if" you see some numbers you don't like. baby is doing very, very well...
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top