3/1 Skooter AMPS 150 +2 123 +3.5 101 PMBG 363 :( HOME FROM ER VET//ER labs added to spreadsheet

Status
Not open for further replies.
I am about to test him, give his AB and try to offer some food. I will add the Miralax to the food I offer...is it bad if I put fortiflora on it as well if he does not want to eat it?
 
The first time I gave Vyktor the pumpkin I mixed it through, with a little extra water, in half his feed. I was also worried about him not eating so that way he had the chance to avoid the pumpkin but still eat. As it happens he ate that half first as he was prefering a soupy consistency at that point. I would start straight away as it will take a couple of days to have effect.

I did offer it to him direct first but he said no, however I also offered Purrdy some direct and he said yes so you could try offering it direct first.

I happened to have the coconut oil here, I use it in my own food, for my hair and as a moisturiser - it's great stuff! Mine is called Eco but I'm in Australia so not sure you could get the same brand. The important elements I looked for when buying it for myself was that it was organic and cold pressed. I don't give it at a specific time just whenever is convenient. The pumpkin I do spread so he gets 1/4 in the AM and 1/4 in the PM.
 
He is showing NO interest in food, so no insulin tonight....I hope the pink is just a result of today's experience and that he will naturally bring himself down some by tomorrow morning.

I am cooking a turkey breast now, which will be done in about three hours, so I will see if he shows any interest in that. If I had been smart, I would have gotten a rotisserie chicken while I was out getting his other stuff....
 
Try adding water to a smooth (non chunky) food to make it nice and soupy so it's more like a drink than food, after Vyktor's ordeals that was all he wanted for a while :bighug:
 
Sending you and Skooter big hugs, Molly. I don't think that pink is all that bad, considering what he's been through today. I'm sure my BG would be even higher! Hang in there.
 
Do you have any meat baby food? It is a nice soft texture and cats will almost always eat it. The Fortiflora shouldn't be a problem, probiotics are always helpful for gastor intestinal problems.

Emma eats NV raw rabbit, but we add pumpkin twice a day, also probiotic and digestive enzymes. I can't say definitely on the poo for her as she prefers to go outside, but when she does use the box it is normal. When we got her she had the opposite problem, but keeping the gut bacteria balanced and healthy is good for both extremes.

Have you ever visited Feline Constipation.org? it really helped me understand how to deal w/ poo issues.
 
Can anyone say HELICOPTER MOM!?!? Cuz that is me right now.....any other day of the week, he could be laying where is right now for as long as he is, and I wouldn't give it another thought....now of course I am thinking thw WORST possible thing happening when in reality, my brain knows it is just the drugs wearing off....
 
I was going to suggest meat baby food too. Gerbers almost always works and I add miralax to it. Beechnut works the rest of the time.
 
:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug: Oh, I SOOOOO hear ya. That's what we do here in LL...we're helicopters, and even though it is SO stressful for us, our kitties are better off because of it, and the know how much they are loved by us. He did have a long, hard day...it will take some time to recover, but I am sure he feels your love...
 
Did she get all three daily or how did you work it using all three?
I gave 1/8 tsp. miralax with her am and pm meals; about 1/2 to 1 T. baby food with breakfast, same amount of pumpkin with dinner. She liked both, and since she ate the same food for every meal I figured the 2 types of squash would provide at least a little variety. I also added water to her meals.

I don't blame you for being in high alert mode, especially after today's events. I hope you're able to get a good night's sleep tonight.
:bighug:
 
so glad to hear Skooter is home! :bighug::bighug:
Is the metronidiazole in pill form? If so it is horribly bitter-our ER vet gave it to Tiger in a compounded chicken form and it must be given with food. Luckily, it did not upset Tiger's tummy but it did constipate her a little bit(It is used mostly for diarrhea. so I hope he likes pumpkin or coconut oil.

I hope you can both get a good night's sleep- sending continued healing and calming vines!
 
I thought I had some meat baby food here, and I think I still do, I just don't know where I put it....I tried the pumpkin and squash and he has no interest in that. I tried to soup down his other food and still no go....sucks because I can't get the miralax in him any other way. He has used his downstairs LB at least once, but no poo....I am trying to not freak out about everything, but again, I am me, so lololol

I am going to go against my nature and leave him be for a bit lol....the turkey should be done in about two hours and then I am hoping that he will be in the mood for that...

It is pill form, but they put it in capsules for me. I told them no Convenia, so this was my option. The side effect of constipation concerns me, especially since I can't get him to eat anything that will help with that, but I guess that is the catch-22.

I don't want to force the pumpkin or squash because I don't want him to associate either with being sick, so I will not be pushing any food right now (not sure if that is right or wrong, but I can't get him to eat) and I will hold off on introducing the coconut oil until he is over this, so that way he isn't associating that with being sick either. Oh I just suck at this not worrying thing lolol

I hate that I have to go in tomorrow, but hoping to do a half day and then trying to take Tuesday off....As much as I want to just pick him up and snuggle him, that is selfish because that would make me feel better, and right now its about him feeling better.....I can't imagine doing this again in a few weeks for a dental recovery.....oy vey....
 
Maybe once he gets some sleep he'll feel more like eating. Between the drugs and all the poking and prodding, he has to be exhausted.
 
I bet he's still groggy from the anesthesia- poor baby! :bighug::bighug: FWIW, the people on the CKD forum really like coconut oil- and it seems to be readily accepted by kitties, but I hear you on not trying to force him to eat anything at this point. I know it's hard, but b:stop:reathe Molly- he will get better from sleeping and so will you!
 
I have about 90 minutes left on the turkey breast....then I will eat some and I will see if he will eat some

I look forward to adding the coconut oil to his diet.....his fuds are gonna get REALLY interesting....one will have miralax, one will have cosequin, one will have probiotic lol and I am thinking of trying some pumpkin and/or squash as well, just to make sure.....I ordered a couple small ice cube trays, so I can make small cubes (he gets a little funny if the food is TOO watered down), so once that arrives, I will start adding that to each meal as well.....

At the rate I am going, I will never be able to take a vacation or leave him with someone because of all the stuff he is gonna need with each minimeal etc lolol....but you do what you have to do for your babies....and once we get a schedule going for it all, I can write it down and it will be a bit easier....

I am just not sure if I should everything at once....he already gets the cosequin, so maybe I add the miralax and then in a few days, add the probiotic, etc?
 
I never give the squash or pumpkin alone. I mix a small amount with the baby food and later with the cat food. My rule of thumb is to try one thing at a time because otherwise you don't know what is working or not. I would start with the miralax and since it is dose to effect I would put 1/8t in whatever you can get him to eat at amps and pmps for a few days. Once regular you go from there. If he gets loose, you cut out one dose. Once he is regular on once a day I would continue and add 1/8t of pumpkin to a meal and see what happens.
 
so glad to hear Skooter is home! :bighug::bighug:
Is the metronidiazole in pill form? If so it is horribly bitter-our ER vet gave it to Tiger in a compounded chicken form and it must be given with food. Luckily, it did not upset Tiger's tummy but it did constipate her a little bit(It is used mostly for diarrhea. so I hope he likes pumpkin or coconut oil.


I too have only been given metronidiazole for diasrrhea. In fact my vet said not to be surprised if he skipped a day or two and that would be the time to stop. I'm a little confused as to why it was given to you.
 
When I call his regular vet tomorrow, I will see if maybe there is something else we can give him for an antibiotic....She did that in place of the Convenia....but my vet is usually on the ball with all of this stuff, so I will be anxious to get her input as well. I am sure they will want to see him, but I want to make sure that he sees his normal vet, just because I am pretty attached to her lol.....She know Skooter and really loves him
 
It could be that the antibiotic has other uses besides for diarrhea. I'm glad you will check with a vet that you trust. Does Skooter have an infection and if so what kind? Please don't stress over this. Did Skooter eat the turkey?
 
The ER vet said there was some inflammation and blood when they were doing the "procedure" which is why they gave him AB.
He ate a single piece of it, but I put some by his bed, so if he gets hungry, it will be there.

I know there was one other time where he didn't eat for like 24 hours and the next day he was fine....I am really just hoping he feels well enough to eat tomorrow.

If not, is it bad I am thinking of mixing some miralax in some water and just injecting it in his mouth?
 
Nope, nothing...he has shown no interest in anything.....he got the water I shot in his mouth when he got his AB.

From the bill, it looks like they have him subq fluids...is says Fluids SQ <300cc, so I am not sure how much they actually gave him....he did have his lil hunch back like he did last time for awhile....
 
If he likes tuna water, you might see if you mix it in that if he'll drink it....if he does, you could try pouring a little over his food too to get his appetite going
 
I may be the outlier here, but it seems to me that Skooter has been through so much today that if he doesn't want to eat tonight, you shouldn't force food or meds on him. Give his body a chance to get itself rightened. Start the meds tomorrow. Do leave out water and some easy- to- eat food (meat babyfood), but don't force it on him. Skip the shot tonight and give yourself and him a good night's rest.

Sending many healing vines. Feel better tomorrow, Skooter!

:bighug::bighug::bighug:

Ella & Rusty
 
Just fyi, metronidazole is good for gut things because it has anti-inflammatory properties as well as being an antibiotic. Punkin got it several times. Hopefully it will be just right for Skooter.
 
(((Molly))). I sorry you had such a scary day. I'm glad Skooter is home with you and that the treatments today will get him all cleaned up and cleared out.

Sending many vines for him and also just extra hugs for you.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top