3/1 Skooter AMPS 150 +2 123 +3.5 101 PMBG 363 :( HOME FROM ER VET//ER labs added to spreadsheet

Status
Not open for further replies.
So for the first time, I have actually seen Skooter try to use the LB (albeit in the living room) and he is struggling a bit and when I checked it was half in and hard (I know gross, but we ARE real here, so)...

Questions:

1. I have had trouble finding just pumpkin, and I know some people use baby squash, is there a specific brand or stage of baby squash that I should use?
2. How often/how much do I give him?
3. Could this be part of the cause in the rise of his numbers?
4. How long until I should see the effect of adding this to his diet?
 
Last edited:
Unfortunately I don't have any squash experience first hand, but I do know you want to get one that doesn't have any onions or garlic or anything else extra in it.

Constipation could definitely cause a rise in his numbers. It could also be connected to the scarf-n-barf situation, too. My civvie Frankie has some issues with constipation, and when she's having a flare, she'll barf when she attempts to poop. I use Miralax with her, though....it does work well. She gets 1/8 tsp mixed into her food twice a day. If you use Miralax, you want to be sure to add extra water to Skooter's food, because it works by drawing water out of the intestines.

I'm sure others with squash and pumpkin experience will be along shortly!
 
If I get the Miralax, is there a specific brand you get that works for her? He has barfed his second meal as well.......so I am wondering if that is what it is.

I am going to try to get him into the vet tomorrow, worst case Tuesday. I am not sure if there is anything they can do, though. Is there?
 
I used the Rite Aid generic Miralax....same stuff, much cheaper!

If he's really backed up, the vet can give an enema. We've never had to do that with Frankie, but others here have done it.

I hope he feels better soon...poor Skooter....
 
Hi Molly,
I don't have experience with using baby squash, but I do have, for emergencies, a jar of Beech Nut, Stage 2 baby squash and it lists the ingredients as: squash, water. That sounds pretty safe.

Is Skooter "scooting" along the floor (sitting on his butt with his hind legs extended and pulling himself along with his front legs)? If so, he may be trying to get out some constipated poop. He may need to have his anal glands "expressed". This can be done at the vet. They may be able to show you how to do it yourself.
He may have a hairball and that may be what is causing both the constipation and the barfing. You may want to try a hairball gel. Rusty has liked NaturVet: http://www.naturvet.com/index.php?p...category_id=15&option=com_virtuemart&Itemid=8
You can buy it on Amazon, directly from NaturVet, or from any of the pet products websites. This formula has maple "flavor", but I think it is free of sugars. In any event, it has never spiked Rusty's bgs.

Good luck. I think it's a good idea to see your vet tomorrow,

Ella & Rusty
 
He was having a very difficult time find a place to get comfy and was attempting to use the living room as his LB and I could tell he was straining. He meows in pain when I pick him up and when I turned him over it looked like his anus was inside out (gross I know, but no other way to describe it)....His stomach was very big as well...

Of course as soon as we get here it seems back to normal, but I can tell he is off still and is in pain....

He threw up both breakfast and +2, which is something that he never does.....
 
The vet should be able to tell if there is a blockage or full colon, I am glad you brought him in. Sending tons and tons of healing vines for Skooter :bighug::bighug:

My vet suggested real canned pumpkin over baby food squash- if it is in baby food form it is so refined the fiber is lacking. I switched to Libby's and later found an organic brand made specifically for pets, it even has a BPA Free liner LOL. Your vet might suggest Miralax, that is what our vet says is the next step if constipation becomes chronic. I hope Skooter feels better soon.
 
They are going to need to sedate him and they want to use hydromorphine and midazoln to do so, is that going to be safe?

Also, if they give him an AB, which is the one that stays in the system for two weeks? And which medication to vets like to use that has a blackbox on it for cats?
 
Convenia is an antibiotic most people want to avoid because it lasts 2 weeks and if the cat has an allergic reaction, you can't "stop" taking it.

Metacam is the pain killer that has a black box warning about causing liver damage in cats. I'd avoid that. It is approved for 1 shot post-surgery.
 
No answers, Molly. But I am sooooooo hard praying for your boy. And you.

You've got a world of light coming your way from all over right now. Feel it. Swaddle in it.

On edge, too.

Marilyn
 
Hydromorphine is a narcotic painkiller....very strong stuff and midazolin is the generic name for Versed which is a common drug used in humans for short procedures like endoscopies, colonoscopies, etc...where a long term anesthetic isn't needed, but it's not a pleasant procedure to be fully awake for.
 
SO he is ok to get those? I just wanted to make sure before they did anything...

I am a bit overwhelmed right now.

This is the first time I have experienced a lecture about his BG and the protocol I am following. I was told that 50 was dangerously low for a cat and as long as he is under 200 to not mess with his insulin. The vet tech actually asked me if my vet supported the process I was following and I said, yes, she actually recommended the site. I am amazed that a vet who is seeing him for the first time and knows virtually NOTHING about his history feels like they can tell me what to do.

She also said I shouldn't be testing so much, and that really, if I was going to test it should be at shot times only.....

Everyone who sits there and smiles and says ok, how do you do it? I wanted to jump over the vet table and ring her neck....

We are waiting for blood work to come back, then they will sedate him midly to do the rectal exam, possible express the glands and do an xray.
 
Especially since THAT is not why he is at the ER! I can't stand when people who don't live with our cats tell them we test too much. ARGH.

More prayers....
 
Blood work is back.....glucose was 179....for the amount of stress he was under, I am surprised it wasn't higher....I will get a copy of the results and input them but there was nothing alarming and especially at his age, his bloodwork was amazing....so we are back to thinking he is blocked... they sent me out (needed food)....hoping to hear more in an hour. ....I hated to leave him, but it wasn't doing any good sitting there....

Will update more when I know...thanks again for the continued prayers. ...they mean the world to me...
 
Sending vines and prayers for a good result for Skooter.

By the way, I just buy a fresh squash, chop it up and gently boil it until soft. When it's cooled down mash with a fork then freeze in an ice cube tray and add to feed as required.

Suki and Crystal
 
Sending more poo and feel better vines for Skooter. These are for you. :bighug::bighug:

I've also just baked a pumpkin, skinned and purred it in the blender and given that to Neko. It was a great use for Mr. Jack O Lantern. One pumpkin last quite a while frozen. Or just buy the regular canned stuff. She gets 1/4 tsp on each main meal.
 
Sending more vetty vines. Poor Skooter. Do you think they will try an enema? I used to have to give them to my GA Cleo.

Emma and Izzy both get pumpkin regularly. We stock up at Thanksgiving w/ organic pumpkin at Trader Joe's, it tends to be seasonal. If your grocery store doesn't have plain pumpkin in the pie filling section, try a health food store.

We freeze it in ice cube trays. A pastry bag makes filling them really easy and quick. Just open both ends of the can and it slides right into the bag.
 
Sending giant vines Scooters way !

This is the first time I have experienced a lecture about his BG and the protocol I am following. I was told that 50 was dangerously low for a cat and as long as he is under 200 to not mess with his insulin. The vet tech actually asked me if my vet supported the process I was following and I said, yes, she actually recommended the site. I am amazed that a vet who is seeing him for the first time and knows virtually NOTHING about his history feels like they can tell me what to do.
She also said I shouldn't be testing so much, and that really, if I was going to test it should be at shot times only.....
Everyone who sits there and smiles and says ok, how do you do it? I wanted to jump over the vet table and ring her neck....
It's not easy, I know. I had taken BK to the ER when he started throwing ketones for the second time. It was the wee hours and the first thing out of the vet on duty was 'You know, treating an FIV+ cat for FD is an uphill battle' I can't repeat what went through my mind at that moment, let;s just say it was akin to 'mother father sister brother' ;)
I still burn when I think about it.
Reading your experience there today brought it all back - my first reaction being ' look here sister, I'm not interested in your opinion on treating his FD so dummy up and find out what the problem is OK?'

Reminding yourself that you know better will make your performance easier :cool:

Smile and nod. . .then direct the conversation back to the topic at hand. . . .



 
Got a text from Molly:

Skooter is getting his first enema! Vet had to go halfway up his colon but found a pretty decent size dried poop and the x-ray showed a couple more that needed to come out
 
Sending vines and hugs!
It's been a rough day for the both of you. I'm sure Skooter will feel better after getting 'cleaned out.' :bighug:

My Ripley was prone to constipation. I regularly gave her miralax, pumpkin, and squash baby food, and eventually found a good ratio of the 3 that worked for her.

You're such a good and attentive MamaBean!
 
Poor Skooter and poor you. I use regular miralax and Gerbers squash or Libby's pure pumpkin. The enema should make him feel better. Miralax is used as needed. Ask but I'd start with 1/8 t twice a day. I put it in all meat baby food which Max loves to be sure he gets it all, just a spoonful which he thinks is a treat. Do you put water in his food? That might help too. Ask if they think hydration is good. Vines and prayers.
 
I am overwhelmed by all the love and support given to Skooter and myself today, it has really helped us get through a tough day.

I am pretty sure he is still feeling the effects from the hydromorphone and midazolam they gave to sedate him enough to do the things they needed to. They also gave him an injection of cerenia for nausea. He came home with a 5 day course of ABs -- metronidazole. They were unable to get him to eat, so I think I will be skipping his dose tonight as I am not sure if I will be able to get him to eat tonight and I will do a 0.25 as I do have to go to work for at least part of the day (hoping to be able to take the afternoon off).

They gave me a lot of info....but from the xray it looked like there were probably 8-12 dried poops in his system trying to work their way out. The vet was able to about half of them out and then they did an enema. She is hoping that will help clear the rest of his system out. There was a little blood and she was worried about infection, hence the metronidazole. They did express his glands, but she said there really wasn't a lot in there. Most of his blood work was excellent, she said especially for his age. I got a copy of them and will post them in his spreadsheet. She said the things that were above or below she was not really worried with at this point.

She is not sure what caused the constipation, but I am wondering with all I have been hearing lately about the Nature's Variety food, even though it is the raw and he is on canned, that it could be the culprit. I did pick up a 12 pack of FF chicken, as I could not find individual cans at the store, and I will offer a little of the NV and the FF later tonight. He is still a bit stoned, but hopefully that will clear out of his system soon. I did pick up an extra LB and now have one on each floor.

I find it humorous that part of the notes, that the gave me a copy of, says, "Per internet chat group the owner upper his dosing on insulin form 0.25 to 0.5 on Friday night." and "the owner is taking glucose points 3-5 times daily (!)". I was a little put off by their need to comment on his diabetes treatment, seeing that wasn't the reason I was there and this is the first time she had ever seen him. The vet tech even asked if my vet knew what I was doing with his treatment. I happily said yes as she is the one that suggested the message board in the first place. Funny thing is, she said she was impressed that his BG was 179 as most cats are at least 200 when they come in. Well no wonder because you say you don't have to test cats and I should be happy with anything under 200. She even said there was no reason for me to test him, and if I did, maybe at shot time. I don't see how ppl who have to deal with this type of attidue all the time do the smile and nod thing, cuz I wanted to punch them both in the face.

All in all it has been a very exhausting day for us both. Again, I am not going to worry about dosing him tonight, but I will get a few readings. I am going to try and not be a helicopter (ha ha ha)...

She said to follow up with his vet this week, so I will try to do that on Tuesday.....

Again, thank you all for your support, it means so much to me...
 
I did update as much of his bloodwork as I could.....there were some of them I was not sure where they went, but I can post them here, if need be.....
 
I want to punch them in the face too - idiots! After Vyktor got into remission I wrote a letter to his old vet pointing out what a tool he was, politely as I was hoping he would rethink his attitude for the next diabetic cat he came across, he did write back. He said he wouldn't be changing anything he does (read does not) do - then I wanted to burn down the surgery :mad:

Vyktor has been having poop issues for the last couple of months (I even had to give him a suppository at home a couple of weeks back :eek:) but I seem to have found the solution for him. I'm giving 1/4 tsp of puréed pumpkin twice daily in his food with a little extra water. Fresh butternut pumpkin that I steam and freeze in blocks. I defrost and purée as needed. He doesn't notice it in his food. And 1/4 tsp of coconut oil daily, he loves that and will take it straight from the spoon. I wanted to try the natural path before resorting to Meds and so far so good - poops are better quality and coming more frequently.

Adding more vines for little Skooter.
 
Oh and his appy has got back to normal too - his eating had been off since just before the first sedation, manual removal and suppository at the vets a couple of months back.
 
And 1/4 tsp of coconut oil daily
I am curious about this.....I, too, would rather do natural methods over having him be over medicated. What kind do you get? Do you give it at shot time or when?

I am a bit overwhelmed with everything right now.....I got miralax, baby food squash and pumpkin at the store. I am thinking of waiting to add anything until tomorrow morning, as I am not sure I will get him to eat, is that a mistake? The one thing I didn't ask is if the metronidazole has to be given with food or not. I was planning to just add that to the am and pm cycle starts.....It means I have to get up a little bit earlier to get everything done, but I am ok with that
 
The Miralax doesn't have any taste, so I'd start it tonight. It isn't a "laxative" like you normally think of them...there's nothing in it that forces peristalsis...it works by pulling water out of the intestine to make the poo softer so it can take a little while to "kick in"

From what I've seen, you use cold pressed coconut oil and a lot of cats will lick it right off the spoon

Hope Skooter feels better tonight now that some of that is out of him!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top