I am overwhelmed by all the love and support given to Skooter and myself today, it has really helped us get through a tough day.
I am pretty sure he is still feeling the effects from the hydromorphone and midazolam they gave to sedate him enough to do the things they needed to. They also gave him an injection of cerenia for nausea. He came home with a 5 day course of ABs -- metronidazole. They were unable to get him to eat, so I think I will be skipping his dose tonight as I am not sure if I will be able to get him to eat tonight and I will do a 0.25 as I do have to go to work for at least part of the day (hoping to be able to take the afternoon off).
They gave me a lot of info....but from the xray it looked like there were probably 8-12 dried poops in his system trying to work their way out. The vet was able to about half of them out and then they did an enema. She is hoping that will help clear the rest of his system out. There was a little blood and she was worried about infection, hence the metronidazole. They did express his glands, but she said there really wasn't a lot in there. Most of his blood work was excellent, she said especially for his age. I got a copy of them and will post them in his spreadsheet. She said the things that were above or below she was not really worried with at this point.
She is not sure what caused the constipation, but I am wondering with all I have been hearing lately about the Nature's Variety food, even though it is the raw and he is on canned, that it could be the culprit. I did pick up a 12 pack of FF chicken, as I could not find individual cans at the store, and I will offer a little of the NV and the FF later tonight. He is still a bit stoned, but hopefully that will clear out of his system soon. I did pick up an extra LB and now have one on each floor.
I find it humorous that part of the notes, that the gave me a copy of, says, "Per internet chat group the owner upper his dosing on insulin form 0.25 to 0.5 on Friday night." and "the owner is taking glucose points 3-5 times daily (!)". I was a little put off by their need to comment on his diabetes treatment, seeing that wasn't the reason I was there and this is the first time she had ever seen him. The vet tech even asked if my vet knew what I was doing with his treatment. I happily said yes as she is the one that suggested the message board in the first place. Funny thing is, she said she was impressed that his BG was 179 as most cats are at least 200 when they come in. Well no wonder because you say you don't have to test cats and I should be happy with anything under 200. She even said there was no reason for me to test him, and if I did, maybe at shot time. I don't see how ppl who have to deal with this type of attidue all the time do the smile and nod thing, cuz I wanted to punch them both in the face.
All in all it has been a very exhausting day for us both. Again, I am not going to worry about dosing him tonight, but I will get a few readings. I am going to try and not be a helicopter (ha ha ha)...
She said to follow up with his vet this week, so I will try to do that on Tuesday.....
Again, thank you all for your support, it means so much to me...