3/1 Maggie: +11.5 128 +12 148 +13 148

Status
Not open for further replies.

MyMaggie

Member Since 2014
Still working on my spreadsheet, sorry everyone but Maggie was VERY agitated yesterday and not only bit the vet, bit my 11 Month old son. Going to attempt again today (with more help watching the little one at home)

However, Maggie's numbers were all on the high side yesterday. (See below, as I am not yet sure how to link my previous days records?)

AMPS 9:30am (EST) 277, 1 unit given but I am certainly NOT confident it actually got into her system as I had a hard time with the needle
12:01pm 300, after the vet visit getting fluids and was NOT happy and bit the dr.
1:30pm 297, after biting my son :cry:
5:41pm 259,
PMPS 9:45 pm 291, gave her 1 unit of insulin

We will see how today plays out.
 

Attachments

Re: 3/1 Maggie: AMPS 133

Good morning Amber ~O)

Here's your link to yesterday Yesterday's condo
Go to the previous days post and copy the bar that has 'http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/posting.php?mode=blah blah blah'

When you go to 'Post Reply' or 'New Topic' there is a bar along the top over the area where you write your message. It has a B I u quote, etc.
Go to the one that has URL . When you click that you will see this: [url] Then paste the address bar th... etc. Glad you have some help there today :-D
 
Re: 3/1 Maggie: AMPS 133

Looks like Maggie probably went low the day of the 27th before the 79 reading. So you would be seeing a bounce on the 28th. Now she is starting in a nice low blue, so I would check her at +2 and post that test. She seems to clear those bounces fast. :-D
Sorry if I asked this before, but since her dx have you changed her food? From dry to wet or high carb to low carb?
 
Re: 3/1 Maggie: AMPS 133

Thank you for your help Kim! I will remember that for next time!

YES, I plugged in my numbers and notes and got my SS up!! Funny enough, my son was in is "Jumperoo" as we call it and my husband and I just experienced one of those adorable moments raising children...he fell asleep in it, mouth open and everything!! Such a good boy while Mommy is helping out Maggie!! So I accomplished more than I expected!!

Better numbers today for Maggie's AMPS. I am going to check her again at +2 and see where she is at. Will repost when I can!

As always, thanks to everyone for all of their help!
 
Re: 3/1 Maggie: AMPS 133

Yes, I did switch her the day of her DX (had to do some research to understand what that meant :-D ) But yes, I switched Maggie the day she was diagnosed from dry food to low carb wet food. I am giving her low carb Friskies & Fancy Feast.

I had to work on the 27th so I could only test her a few times. I did leave her High Carb food in case but really she doesn't eat that much! She is getting there though, I think as she is "starting" to feel better she is eating more.

I will post her +2.
 
Re: 3/1 Maggie: AMPS 133 +2 106

Ahhh! So she is benefitting from the carb change then :-D Her number has dropped since ps so I would think you are going to see an active cycle today. Meaning you could drop quickly. Let's keep a good eye on Maggie and retest at +3 and post. She may be working her way into a decrease :smile: I do realize you are busy with other things as well, but I have a gut feeling Maggie is gonna give you a surprise and we want to keep her safe, meaning a little more testing and posting.
 
Re: 3/1 Maggie: AMPS 133 +2 106

Ahhh! So she is benefitting from the carb change then :-D Her number has dropped since ps so I would think you are going to see an active cycle today. Meaning you could drop quickly. Let's keep a good eye on Maggie and retest at +3 and post. She may be working her way into a decrease :smile: I do realize you are busy with other things as well, but I have a gut feeling Maggie is gonna give you a surprise and we want to keep her safe, meaning a little more testing and posting.
 
Re: 3/1 Maggie: AMPS 133 +2 106

This might be helpful:

Example of an active Lantus cycle:

+0 - PreShot number.
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number.
+3 - Lower than the PreShot number, onset has started.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle).
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (one of the quirks of Lantus/Levemir: some cat's blood glucose numbers dip around +10 or +11... not to be confused with nadir).
+12 - PreShot number.
 
Re: 3/1 Maggie: AMPS 133 +2 106

Ok I will check her again at +3. Thanks so much for the chart, that is VERY helpful, I have printed it for my file! I am a little confused about the increase and decrease part, so I will have to reread my printed info.

I am home all day today so I will keep a close eye one her!

Keep you posted!
 
Re: 3/1 Maggie: AMPS 133 +2 106 +3 54 - Not sure what to do?

I gave Maggie 1/2 can of Friskies Low Carb this morning and she ate about 1/4 around 9:30am (EST), I just checked at +3 and she is at 54 (3.0) however, she was hungry and finished the other 1/4 can of her food from earlier?

Should I check her at 3.5 or wait until +4?
 
Re: 3/1 Maggie: AMPS 133 +2 106 +3 54 - Not sure what to do?

Big fast drop=test in half an hour. Have your hc food and syrup ready. I think you're likely to see her go below 50 which means we are going to be giving her 1-2TBLS of hc food when that happens and retesting. I'll stay with you so keep posting when you test and we'll be ok :smile: Others are awake and online too now so lots of eyes will watch. Don't panic but do make sure you have some help for babybean so you're not overwhelmed.
Fingers crossed she climbs up before that though.
 
Re: 3/1 Maggie: AMPS 133 +2 106 +3 54 +3.5 38

As expected she dropped really low! She is at 38! And also as expected I cannot get her to eat the HC Food so I did the syrup! I will test again at +4?
 
Re: 3/1 Maggie: AMPS 133 +2 106 +3 54 +3.5 38

in the 30's i would just wait 20 minutes and retest.

yes, karo on the gums or in the mouth, a couple of drops, then retest and repost the # in your subject line.

new dose tonight, don't repeat this morning's dose.
 
Re: 3/1 Maggie: AMPS 133 +2 106 +3 54 +3.5 38

Yup, don't wait longer than 20 min. Karo is very quick acting but wears off fast. She's not hungry so can you squeeze the gravy out of the hc and just offer her that? Just gravy as opposed to the actual food bits is by far more helpful anyhow, as it decreases the likelihood of them 'filling up', so that you can get them to eat as often as needed. Don't give any kibble if you still have it around. It is very filling and takes WAY too long to work.
 
Re: 3/1 Maggie: AMPS 133 +2 106 +3 54 +3.5 38

Hi Amber,

Let's get through these low numbers first, but please as soon as she's up and you feel she's safe, could you send the numbers to marje and let her help you with getting a spreadsheet up? I'm trying desperately to see Maggie's ss, which is essential in order to help you with dose, but it's not working. it has to download to my computer and then i can't get it to open. we need it in the web-format that this site uses in order to help you at times such as this, especially to determine doses.

don't do it now, but after her numbers are up it's really a top priority.
 
Re: 3/1 Maggie: AMPS 133 +2 106 +3 54 +3.5 38 + 20 mins 41

Okay, I have done her spreadsheet but I will figure out how to post it properly.

I just checked her 20 mins after her +3.5 and she is slowly going up and is now at 41.

I gave her 1 tsp of HC food which she did eat so I will check her again soon!
 
Re: 3/1 Maggie: AMPS 133 +2 106 +3 54 +3.5 38 + 3.75 41

give her another 20 minutes and retest. as long as she is still below 50, keep repeating. we fondly call this "lather, rinse, repeat." :lol:

once she is over 50, you can probably stretch out to 30 minute intervals until we know she is holding steady. i'll get the low numbers info to you here in a moment.
 
Re: 3/1 Maggie: AMPS 133 +2 106 +3 54 +3.5 38 + 3.75 41

Also not now, but when the low numbers dance is over, you want to print out the complete "Shooting & Handling Low Numbers sticky. Most of the time someone is online, but just in case not, you want to have this available. It also deals with what you can do when you see a low preshot number and don't know what to do.

For now, however, here are the guidelines on how to handle things this morning:
DON'T PANIC! or HOW TO HANDLE LOW NUMBERS

First, try to not panic. Post to the Lantus Insulin Support Group or on the Health Board. Make sure your subject line indicates you are concerned about a possible hypo and/or add the 911 icon to the first post in your condo. People who are experienced in dealing with low numbers will be there to help. After posting, remember to refresh your browser periodically to see if people have replied.

It’s important to recognize that just because your cat may be experiencing low BG numbers doesn’t mean that your kitty is critically hypoglycemic. Many cats will have low numbers and never have symptoms. It’s important, though, to bring those numbers up into a safe range. ALWAYS make sure you have a stock of test strips, high carb (HC) canned food that contains gravy and is over 15% carb such as Fancy Feast grilled, marinated, or Gravy Lovers varieties (see Dr. Lisa's Cat Food Nutritional Composition List for a full list of options), and/or a simple sugar solution such as Karo/corn syrup, honey, maple syrup, etc.

If your cat is experiencing symptoms, especially if those symptoms are severe, you need to rub Karo syrup, honey, or maple syrup on the gums or, if symptoms are very severe, administer rectally and get your cat to the nearest 24-hour emergency facility. Take the bottle of syrup with you to administer on the way if necessary. (Note that it is rare that we see episodes of symptomatic hypoglycemia with Lantus and even rarer to see severe symptoms. But, you need to know what to do should they occur.)

The symptoms to be concerned about include but are not limited to:
staggering, uncoordinated movements, 'drunken' walk, wobbling, balance problems
ataxia - usually lack of muscular coordination, but maybe changes in head and neck movements
disorientation (yowling, walking in circles, etc.)
twitching
stupor
convulsions or seizures
coma
If your cat is testing in low numbers and you are not getting a quick response to your post, there are several things you need to do. (Low numbers are under 50mg/dL or 2.8 mmol/L.)

Depending on how carbohydrate sensitive your cat is, feed approximately a teaspoon or less of gravy from high carb food or high carb food only.
(If you have a cat with GI issues, using a couple of drops of syrup plus low carb food is an alternative.)
Test again in 15 – 20 min. Depending on the numbers, give more HC food.
Repeat the above steps every 15 – 20 min. until your cat tests in the 50 mg/dL (2.8 mmol/L) or above range for 2 consecutive tests. Continue to feed in small amounts to keep numbers in a safe range.
Test in 30 - 40 min. and repeat the test and feed process until there are 2 consecutive tests where numbers are stable or rising.
Test in an hour and follow the same steps.
DO NOT become complacent. If number have risen after one or two tests, it’s important to continue testing. Numbers may bobble up and down as the HC food and/or Karo wear off. DO NOT get one test where your cat has risen from low numbers into the 50s and go to sleep or leave the house. You are putting your cat in a risky situation. When in doubt, leave HC food out.

In the case of an accidental overdose or should there be symptoms of hypoglycemia, even if you have caught this in the early stages, you may need to monitor for literally 16 or more hours. Lantus and Levemir are long acting types of insulin. This means if your cat is over dose, you will need to stay alert for hours in order to closely monitor and to keep your cat safe.

Please post your numbers. Those people who are helping you will not abandon you. In fact, they are staying up with you. The experienced people will even work in shifts to make sure your cat is safe and you have the support you need. Remember to refresh your browser to see new posts and keep posting so we know all is well.

~ written by Sienne and Gabby
 
Re: 3/1 Maggie: AMPS 133 +2 106 +3 54 +3.5 38 + 20m 41 + 20m

So I tested her again and she is now at 58 (3.2) so she is safer now.

She is VERY agitated now (hissing, growling) my poor baby!! She is tired of being bothered and poked at!

I will check her again in about 30 mins. to make sure her numbers are staying in a good range.
 
Re: 3/1 Maggie: AMPS 133 +2 106 +3 54 +3.5 38 + 3.75 41

you want 2 tests in a row that stay up, where you haven't given any carbs with those 2 tests.

in other words, 2 non-food-influenced tests. does that make sense?

post later today after the ss is up and working, and you have a few more tests today, and ask for dose advice for tonight. probably would be good to put "dose advice?" in the subject line so your question doesn't get missed.

i'm getting offline, but there are others around helping too, and i think you have the info on what to do. you could take off the 911 so people don't think it's a new problem. then if you do have a new crisis, put it back up.
 
Re: 3/1 Maggie: AMPS 133 +2 106 +3 54 +3.5 38 + 3.75 41

Ok so I just took the next reading for Maggie and she is maintaining at 59 (3.3).

Am I ok to leave her for a bit and give her a rest? She is very frustrated with the testing!

Is there a link to find out how to post Maggie's SS so everyone can read it? I am having a hard time figuring this out.

Thanks so much for everyone's help today, it is very much appreciated!
 
Re: 3/1 Maggie: AMPS 133 +2 106 +3 54 +3.5 38 + 3.75 41

Did she eat at all during the last two tests? If not give her an hour break. Then one more test to make sure she's still rising. There is a link for the spreadsheet. I'm going to go find it for you :smile:
 
Re: 3/1 Maggie: AMPS 133 +2 106 +3 54 +3.5 38 + 3.75 41

No she did not eat with the last 2 tests.

Thank you so much Kim.
 
Re: 3/1 Maggie: AMPS 133 +2 106 +3 54 +3.5 38 + 3.75 41

Here is the link
If all else fails check in with Marje. Believe it or not this woman was born to help us! :lol: :-D
 
Re: 3/1 Maggie: AMPS 133 +2 106 +3 54 +3.5 38 + 3.75 41

Amber

Thanks for doing that SS; the reason we use the one that we use is because it allows us to permanently link it in our signature block; otherwise, you have to repost it all the time which doesn't work for any of us. We keep a master list of SS links that several of us study and if we are not able to access Maggie's unless you post it every time, it makes it difficult. And, with the SS you linked, I can edit it. You don't want people to be able to edit your SS :-D :-D

I will send you a PM, ok? It sounds like you really have your hands full today with Maggie and the baby.

You did a great job with the numbers with Kim's and Julie's awesome help!! o:-) o:-) o:-)
 
Re: 3/1 Maggie: AMPS 133 +2 106 +3 54 +3.5 38 + 3.75 41

Thanks Marge. I am tied up right now but later tonight I will go through the instructions and properly post my SS. However, at + 7 now Maggie is maintaining in the green zone at now +7 at 61 (3.4).

I will retest in another hour and see how she is! And then I can inquire about dosage information because she would be due for 1 unit of insulin at 9:30pm (EST) time tonight (it is 4:30pm EST now)

I have updated her SS and attached it to this post for now.
 

Attachments

Re: 3/1 Maggie: AMPS 133 +2 106 +3 54 +3.5 38 + 3.75 41

Amber

The SS is done and linked in your signature block. Please post a BG for her at +11.5 or so so we have time to see where she is and whether you will need to stall or she's headed up.

If she is high enough to shoot tonight, you will want to reduce the dose to 0.75u UNLESS she is really high (zooming up to high yellow or into pink). If she is really high, you could shoot through the bounce one time with the 1u dose and then reduce in the morning or you could just go ahead and reduce tonight. My bigger concern is if she is still hanging out in low green; you might need to skip and reduce the dose in the morning. But just post as I requested and someone will walk you through it.

Good job!
 
Re: 3/1 Maggie: Dosage Help?? PMBG 128

How long ago was that PMBG test? You would normally shoot the new .75 dose tonight since Maggie isn't bouncing high. But this is a rather low number for you to shoot given the amount of data you have. Can you delay PS 1/2 hour? It would be nice to get her numbers a bit higher for you before shooting this.
 
Re: 3/1 Maggie: Dosage Help?? PMBG 128

I agree with Wendy....if it is a +11, don't feed her and how about getting a +12 and if she's up, shoot the new dose of 0.75u.

If she's not up, don't feed her and post again for help, ok?
 
Re: 3/1 Maggie: Dosage Help?? PMBG 128

I am having trouble updating my spreadsheet (still new to me) but I shot the PM 30 minutes ago. I have been trying to figure out how to update my spreadsheet to show the last reading.

She is normally due at 9:30pm (EST) which is in about 15 minutes from now.
 
Re: 3/1 Maggie: Dosage Help?? PMBG 128

I will do a +12 in about 15 minutes. What number should she be, to give her the dose?

Darn, I just realized that I should have done her +11 earlier, but for some reason I lost 30 minutes somewhere! So she was at 128 at +11.5!

Should I do another at 12?
 
Re: 3/1 Maggie: Dosage Help?? PMBG 128

What was the last reading? I'm confused because you said you shot the PM 30 minutes ago but then said she is "normally due" in 15 minutes. Normally due for what???

If the last reading was 128 and that is what you shot, then just put the 128 in the PMPS column.

If 128 was the +11 and you got another number for PMPS, then put that number in the PMPS column. It takes a minute to populate the SS on those World SSs. Don't know why.

If you shot, please change the subject line to show the PMPS as what you shot and then please be sure and get a +1 to start.

Did you shoot 0.75u??? I hope :-D :-D
 
Re: 3/1 Maggie: Dosage Help?? PMPS 128

Okay, I got totally mixed up!!

I did her last BG at +11.5!!! (I don't know what I was thinking)

So her +12 would be in 10 minutes from now.

I have not given her any more insulin yet.

Should I try the 0.75units?
 
Re: 3/1 Maggie: Dosage Help?? PMPS 128

When you get a chance, you can put this in the +11 column: 128 @ 11.5

I'd grab the +12 test and post. Let's see if she's up before you shoot ok?
 
Re: 3/1 Maggie: Dosage Help?? +11.5 128 PMPS 148

Good job shooting the rise. :-D

Could you please get a +1 test and it's ok to remove the "dosage help???" out of your subject line. :-D thank you!!
 
Re: 3/1 Maggie: +11.5 128 PMPS 148

I thought you have given insulin. You want to give her a .75U dose and then test again in an hour.
 
Re: 3/1 Maggie: +11.5 128 PMPS 148

I also thought you gave it.

AMBG/PMBG means you are skipping the shot
AMPS/PMPS means you shot
And if you are stalling, you just keep counting the hours since the last shot :-D

Sorry.....I was certain you already shot so go ahead and test again, shoot the .75u if she's the same or rising, and check in one hour :-D
 
Re: 3/1 Maggie: +11.5 128 PMPS 148

I have not given the shot yet, I thought I was supposed to wait. I am just getting these messages now.

What should I do?
 
So she has stayed the same in the last hour at +13 and I have not given her the 0.75 units of insulin (as she should have at 9:30pm EST).

Should I give her anything tonight?

She is DONE with the ear pricks, she is really growling at me! I am having a REALLY hard time getting blood and her poor little ears are really red and irritated.
 
No I haven't. She has been grazing through the day though.

It would now be +14 (2 hours after she should have had her dose)
 
I'm sorry for the misunderstandings that we thought you shot and you were waiting for us to tell you to shoot.

The ideal time to have shot her would have been the first time you got a 148. If you are waiting for numbers to rise and haven't fed, the best time to shoot is the first rise.

Can you be two hours off and get slowly back on track 30 minutes a day? Also, since she is flat, she might come back down tonight. This is a very shoot able number but it's your call as to whether to shoot it or not.

Consider if you can test, if you can be off schedule, etc. if you don't shoot now, you will shoot st your regular time tomorrow or you can adjust the time if you want to move it.

You can also shoot a half dose...just to get some insulin in her. I'm not a big fan of reduced doses after a low number because if her depot is full, she might come back down on you the same as if you'd shot the .75u dose.
 
At this point, you could skip and resume tomorrow with .75U. Normally you would shoot at the first 148 you got at +12.

Are you putting Polysporin Complete with Pain Relief on Maggie's ears? I put a little on Neko's ears after the pokes and it helps heal and to stop any pain.
 
Darn, I am sorry I confused everyone, I am still getting used to how all of this works!

I am going to skip tonight and resume tomorrow with the 0.75 unit dose at her regular time tomorrow (9:30AM EST).

I got out the polysporin and will start applying it, I do have the Kids version with pain relief.

Again, sorry for the confusion and I am so thankful for all of the help today! It is a relief knowing that you are there to help!!

We shall see what tomorrow brings!
 
Ok...we will all try better to be sure it's more clear. I apologize that we didn't get our thoughts across to you.

Keep one thing in mind going forward.......there are times when life, safety, and other circumstances require we skip a shot. But the best thing for Maggie is consistency so as much as you can shoot on or near time with the requisite dose, the better she will do.

Get a good nights sleep, Amber :-D See you tomorrow!
 
hi amber!

as i'm reading the last few hours of your post, i'm thinking i should mention that one thing that can happen here is that when you have the post open, people might be posting and you not see it. if you hit the "refresh" button on your browser (the circular arrow next to the website address) that will bring you the very latest posts.

i've had it happen too, i think everyone has. so whenever you're waiting & looking for an answer, just click that refresh button and the latest will pop up.

good job today! it takes a while to get the hang of all of it. you're doing great!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top