2nd day of high, flat cycles ?dose adjustment

Status
Not open for further replies.

Carol & Murphy (GA)

Very Active Member
After the greens a few days ago, Murphy has been high and totally flat - almost like the insulin is having no effect - we reduced the dose from a fat 1 to 1 after the greens - but now I don't know what these cycles are - still the bounce from the greens? dose too high? thoughts would be appreciated thanks in advance
 
Too little can mean he just doesn't drop as much. He dropped 100+ points but it was fairly flat. To me that says not enough insulin. But not too much more.
 
Thanks so much Sue - trying to understand this so I don't have to rely so much on you all
Yesterday he didn't drop at all - was that the bounce from the greens the day before? Is the fact that he dropped 100 points but only very early and for only a short period of time the tip off that it's not enough?
 
Sometimes an early nadir and a high flat cycle means too little insulin just like a late nadir and low numbers means too much insulin.

You're figuring this out, Carol. No worries - think how bored we'd be if no one ever needed help.
 
Carol, I know exactly how you feel. My cat is recently diagnosed and I'm working on figuring out her dosing and I'm getting the same ups and downs as you are. It gets a little overwhelming with all the numbers. Don't feel bad about relying on the support here because that's what everyone is here for. They're animal lovers and great people. As hard as it is for our kitties its hard on us too because we feel helpless right now. It's possible you and I will be coming here for a very long time since this seems to be a marathon instead of race and there will be good days and bad days. But I figure if I'm here long enough then I'll learn enough to maybe pay it forward and help someone else someday that signs up and is in our position right now. :)

Ps - Murphy is absolutely adorable.
 
I see that! Thanks for the kind words. We are definitely in the same boat right now and it can be frustrating when one day is great and the next is high and you're left scratching your head. Some of these members have been here for years and helped people like us time and time again. This is the hard part but like you said, things will settle in time :)
 
Well, Carol, I guess Murphy was talking to Bubba because that is exactly what happened to him last night. He started up at 189 and went up to 313 @ +3 and stayed there all night through this morning.........
 
A gradual drop though...and his PMPS was lower than AM. Almost 100 points lower! That's a good thing...even if you just get gradual decreases, remember that means that you are shooting into lower and lower preshots..which will hopefully get lower and lower nadirs. :)
 
Ah yes the marathon. Smokey is the turtle in this one. He doesn't play by the rules. I swear he makes up as he goes along. A least we get 3 cycles now of okay readings. Then up he goes than another 3 cycles of okay. Someday, someday.
 
Ah yes the marathon. Smokey is the turtle in this one. He doesn't play by the rules. I swear he makes up as he goes along. A least we get 3 cycles now of okay readings. Then up he goes than another 3 cycles of okay. Someday, someday.
I can relate. Just when you think you on to something, he changes the rules....... sigh....

ETA: PS. Remember what they say about the turtle.....slow and steady wins the race.
 
A gradual drop though...and his PMPS was lower than AM. Almost 100 points lower! That's a good thing...even if you just get gradual decreases, remember that means that you are shooting into lower and lower preshots..which will hopefully get lower and lower nadirs. :)
@Rachel thanks Rachel, you are right. Hopefully we are getting close -
 
w?ell, looks like a completely high flat cycle today - +5 same as amps
don't know if whatever is going on with his ears is affecting this - he still doesn't seem bothered by his ears at all
to complicate things, I have to go out of town tomorrow for 24 hours - I can give him am shot, but pet sitter who can't test (and I can't show her with his ears red and warm) will need to give him his pm shot tomorrow and Friday am shot - dose I should tell her to shoot?
 
I think I would play it safe, Carol, and have her give one unit. He shouldn't drop too low or go terribly high. Then you can get back on track when you return?

Do you think he is having a reaction to the Neosporin?
 
I think I would play it safe, Carol, and have her give one unit. He shouldn't drop too low or go terribly high. Then you can get back on track when you return?

Do you think he is having a reaction to the Neosporin?
okay thanks Sue - I got new carepoint U-40 syringes with half unit markers - I'll start them on Friday -(thank you @Sharon14) so I can more closely measure 1.25 although I suspect 1.50 is in his future
dont' really know why this set back is occurring - do you think I should start a new vial of prozinc on Friday? - I've been using the current one since Aug 6th?
As far as his ears, I really do think it's a reaction to the neomycin (or maybe the painkiller in it) - there's no other explanation why both of his ears are warm and pink - attached is a photo- unless it's a allergy to the venison canned food
IMG_0907.JPG
 
Last edited:
@Rachel - It seems like it's possible it's been easy to get a blood bead since his ears are already warm!! :) In any case, what do you think of Murphy's numbers? - they really haven't budged from the mid-high 300s in 24 hours- weird
Do you think I should switch to a new vial of Prozinc?
btw, I took @Sharon14 's advice and looked at everything I was giving Murphy. Turns out his Culturelle (a human probiotic) has sucrose in it - needless to say, he won't be getting that any longer.
 
Hmmm...they did stay fairly flat today. Maybe check out how he does tomorrow and if he stays high and flat again, we'll increase? I say that because the fat 1 gave a lovely curve yesterday (I know it was higher than you hoped, but he is lower today than yesterday). Today was high and flat but there's a possibility that it was a weird day, contraband, etc. Since you're out of town Friday (correct?) you might stick to your current dose tomorrow, go down to 1 unit Friday for safety, and then when you get back, increase if it's necessary due to the numbers you get tomorrow. I just think increasing the day before you go out of town and have to reduce (which I get!) might not be super helpful, ya know?
 
okay - actually I'm leaving tomorrow afternoon and will be back Friday around noon - so I should be able to get a 4 hour on a 1.25 dose, and then I won't be able to test again until about 6 hrs after a 1 unit dose (which probably won't say much) I guess I'll plan to give a fat 1 on Friday night, but if he is still high, with no progress, should I push to 1.5 or stay with 1.25 (fat 1) on Saturday? Or is that too far into the future?
 
Hmmmm...I think I might push to 1.5 Saturday if he's still high and just be sure to monitor.
Hi, Carol! Yep, let's see how he's doing this evening. Although I'm sort of inclined toward going just a wee bit slower (timing-wise) on the dose increases, based on looking back at 10/15 (when his dose was dropped by a half-unit @ PMPS). It's so hard to know exactly what it is that precipitates bouncing (ha, maybe they bounce just because they can?;)) ... but you might consider giving him until Sunday - and then if he's still running high, try the bump-up to 1.5? As I'm wondering if he may just need a day or so after you're back to settle down? Not that I disagree with @Rachel 's suggestion; I'd just allow him a little more time before making that little adjustment. Totally up to you, though.:)

We don't really know for certain what's caused this recent uptick of pre-shot #s in the 400s ... could this spike be associated with whatever caused the inflamed ears several days later? (You know, as in "previews of coming attractions?") Or is it due to the heightened ragweed in the air? And in the day or two before you had to leave town, does Murphy sense that - and could it perhaps help keep his #s running higher than usual? Is hard for us to know:confused:, as there are so many variables ... our kitties sure can be a puzzle, can't they?:rolleyes:

(Btw, Carol ... Bat-Bat has suddenly started popping higher #s, too, and I'm going, "What's up with this??? My daughter's not even here now!" I'm wondering if I've given her a couple or fur-shots over the past few days or what? :banghead: So ... at least you have a little more company here in the puzzlement zone.;))
 
welcome back @Robin&BB!!! being as I got a blue yesterday morning, and a yellow as a result of the 1 unit the pet sitter gave Murphy this morning, I'm probably going to see what the 1.25 dose does for him tomorrow (and sorry about Bat-bat numbers going higher)
 
being as I got a blue yesterday morning, and a yellow as a result of the 1 unit the pet sitter gave Murphy this morning, I'm probably going to see what the 1.25 dose does for him tomorrow (and sorry about Bat-bat numbers going higher)
Sounds good, Carol! As for Bat ... well, maybe she'll even out now that "the intruder":rolleyes: (aka my daughter) is no longer in the house. <sigh> All I can say is: Bat-Bat is one crazy, persnickety cat!:banghead:
 
Didn't someone post about a salve they get at Whole foods? I am looking for the thread and can't find it. I thought it was on this one about Murphy's red ears.....And Robin remarked about it. Could someone tell me what it is called?
 
Didn't someone post about a salve they get at Whole foods? I am looking for the thread and can't find it. I thought it was on this one about Murphy's red ears.....And Robin remarked about it.
It's on the health forum under a thread of "cats with reaction to neosporin"
@Bobbie And Bubba - It was @Jill & Alex (GA) who provided the tip re: the salve on the other forum; I saved her post about that to my "Good Misc. Remedies" file!:)
 
Murphy's pmps 498 - yikes!! I started him on doxycycline suspension yesterday for sinusitis - he was having a rough time and had a grayish nasal discharge. I fear that there is sugar in the suspension but I can't call the pharmacy until Monday
 
Murphy's pmps 498 - yikes!! I started him on doxycycline suspension yesterday for sinusitis - he was having a rough time and had a grayish nasal discharge. I fear that there is sugar in the suspension but I can't call the pharmacy until Monday
Can you see if you can get the info off the internet? No literature in the packaging? Another thought, if he has pressure/pain for the sinusitis, maybe that could be causing the higer numbers. Don't panic, it is just one number. But, I know how you feel.
 
So now I don't know what to do although he could probably do without the antibiotic until Monday, I've already given him 2 doses and if I need to restart I'd have the risk of antibiotic resistance
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top