"2nd Corky's Fat Dose Question"

Status
Not open for further replies.
Ham is low carb so I guess that qualifies as an LC snack :)
I hope the PT goes alright. We used to call it Physical Torture, but I hope it won’t be that in your case!:bighug:
Perfect name for that. Let’s see before PMPS because I don’t think in 2 digits he can get insulin considering his +4s I’ll keep you posted
 
Wow, Corky! Pink isn't your best color!

But seriously, since @Red & Rover (GA) have been having a "ham discussion" this afternoon ;) I wanted to bring that back up. Ham can have a lot of different sugars added (honey, maple syrup, corn syrup, etc.) so maybe it's not the best snack to give. I guess we can't assume it's LC, like I did. My ham here at home says it's less than 1 gram of carbs per 2 oz. serving, which is probably a lot more than you gave Corky, but different hams will differ in their sugar/carb content. It's hard to tell. Anyway, I hope everything went well today at your appointment and that you are now relaxing at home and feeling fine.
 
Wow, Corky! Pink isn't your best color!

But seriously, since @Red & Rover (GA) have been having a "ham discussion" this afternoon ;) I wanted to bring that back up. Ham can have a lot of different sugars added (honey, maple syrup, corn syrup, etc.) so maybe it's not the best snack to give. I guess we can't assume it's LC, like I did. My ham here at home says it's less than 1 gram of carbs per 2 oz. serving, which is probably a lot more than you gave Corky, but different hams will differ in their sugar/carb content. It's hard to tell. Anyway, I hope everything went well today at your appointment and that you are now relaxing at home and feeling fine.

same here the ham I buy has no sweet flavors and 2 gram of carbs as well, but Corky has not been a good boy today, high numbers, could've it have been the green number perhaps? I also wanted to tell you is that I do not understand why the kiddos are always more days then none constipated, Coc again is clogged up I'm doing the Lactulose 1 1/2 ml every other day and switch to the Miralax twice on that day, when she's constipated of course she does not eat her full meal and Corky's poop is consistent but thin, not as thick as it once was, they both eat the same food same flavor at the same time I change the Pretty Litter every other week instead every 2 months as the bag says, that's impossible to me especially with two cats in one box, she likes fresh litter and I remove the soil as soon as it dehydrates not to leave a smell and the color changes it's supposed to have is all advertisement, Corky's ketones are right on point yet when I change the litter the bottom part is always green on top is neutral color, , his BG lowered just now on this last test I want it low as before, we'll see, he somehow feels comfortable in those yellows as wrong as it is for his pancreas I wish one day i can see fgreens down the line, maybe one day!
 
Hi. I just got home and saw your pm about should we increase? Is it because of today’s yellows that you were wondering about this?
 
He did the same thing this week on on Tuesday the 19th. Look at how similar the cycles are between 3/19 and today- except today he seems to have come down into blue a little sooner than on Tuesday. A lot of the days on this fat dose he’s hitting the target nadirs for SLGS (90-150) but of course that means that some of the time he’s in yellow. If you wanted to switch to MPM the target nadirs are between 50 and 120 so lower. I thought we had kind of decided to try the fat dose and keep Corky there for now because you currently have so many medical and PT appointments that take you away from home? Usually you don’t leave until noon though? So that means you are home until +6? But sometimes Corky has a late nadir. I don’t want you to be flipping out with worry. You have to kind of think about and weigh all these things together and decide what you think is best for the time being. You are not married to a dosing method and can switch to MPM and back to SLGS too. But if it’s today’s yellows that you are worried about, I would give it a cycle or two more to see what Corky does.
 
He did the same thing this week on on Tuesday the 19th. Look at how similar the cycles are between 3/19 and today- except today he seems to have come down into blue a little sooner than on Tuesday. A lot of the days on this fat dose he’s hitting the target nadirs for SLGS (90-150) but of course that means that some of the time he’s in yellow. If you wanted to switch to MPM the target nadirs are between 50 and 120 so lower. I thought we had kind of decided to try the fat dose and keep Corky there for now because you currently have so many medical and PT appointments that take you away from home? Usually you don’t leave until noon though? So that means you are home until +6? But sometimes Corky has a late nadir. I don’t want you to be flipping out with worry. You have to kind of think about and weigh all these things together and decide what you think is best for the time being. You are not married to a dosing method and can switch to MPM and back to SLGS too. But if it’s today’s yellows that you are worried about, I would give it a cycle or two more to see what Corky does.

I am not familiar on what this means switch to MPM and back to SLGS
and you are right I get ahead of myself it made me happy to see two weeks with at least 1 green number. as always your input is what's important and the one I always follow. Coco's but cork finally came out poor thing she had a poop that was at least the circumference of a quarter, she's gone twice since on time thank God:bighug::bighug::cat::cat:
 
I am not familiar on what this means switch to MPM and back to SLGS
and you are right I get ahead of myself it made me happy to see two weeks with at least 1 green number. as always your input is what's important and the one I always follow. Coco's but cork finally came out poor thing she had a poop that was at least the circumference of a quarter, she's gone twice since on time thank God:bighug::bighug::cat::cat:

his BG right now is 133 if it stays around this number or under 150 how do I handle the dose?
for 6PM? I will hold dosing until input if under 130 BG always remember that at PMPS +5 Corky's insulin kicks in for PMPS his BG is 124
 
Last edited:
Good job shooting the full dose. That took courage. Corky has done similar things to us before and he was okay. Remember, you are in control if you are testing and feeding him. We aren't going to go with anything other than LC yet, right? What time is the next test?
 
Good job shooting the full dose. That took courage. Corky has done similar things to us before and he was okay. Remember, you are in control if you are testing and feeding him. We aren't going to go with anything other than LC yet, right? What time is the next test?

I just tested 135 I'll be testing till I have 140 or so on the hour, if after 10PM that insulin kicks in and it drops in two digits, I will feed 1 tbsp LC every hour according to results, right? yes I was shaking when I pushed that needle. thanks:bighug:;) :bighug::bighug::cat::cat:
 
Good job shooting the full dose. That took courage. Corky has done similar things to us before and he was okay. Remember, you are in control if you are testing and feeding him. We aren't going to go with anything other than LC yet, right? What time is the next test?

just gave 1/2tsp of LC BG 101(8:30PM)
 
Is it time for +3? I’m assuming you shot late? You are doing great by the way and I am so proud of you. You are awesome.

+4 /70 noted on SS 1ml of Karo, I'm freaking out the insulin hasn't kicked on yet, he did not want to eat the LC I gave him he is still full from PMPS meal, I'll have to continue to test every hour if not every 1/2 next test 10:30PM, And yes I shot at 6:30, thank you for the up lift but I don't feel awesome right now we can't forget the insulin kicks in about 10-10:15, the meal? should it be the FF Florentine light broth? I believe that is between low and MC. Of course according to what the number will be when he feeds
 
Last edited:
He is probably just full. That is why we always rec giving very small snacks of about a teaspoon or maybe 2 depending on how much they’ve already eaten.
 
+4 /70 noted on SS 1ml of Karo, I'm freaking out the insulin hasn't kicked on yet, he did not want to eat the LC I gave him he is still full from PMPS meal, I'll have to continue to test every hour if not every 1/2 next test 10:30PM, And yes I shot at 6:30, thank you for the up lift but I don't feel awesome right now we can't forget the insulin kicks in about 10-10:15, the meal? should it be the FF Florentine light broth? I believe that is between low and MC. Of course according to what the number will be when he feeds
Do not give karo when a cat is at a normal number of 70
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top