29-Apr Mav AMPS 328|+4.5 245|PMPS 310

Status
Not open for further replies.

Christie & Maverick

Member Since 2017
Last post: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...ps-283-pmps-140-2-92-3-52-3-5-63-5-77.194832/

And there's the inevitable high I knew was coming. At least he's coming back down mid cycle.

Hi Christie! I think it would be really interesting to see what Mav does on Levemir. It made a HUGE difference for Girlie, at least. No more deep dives at +1 or +2 and steady, good numbers. Mav and Girlie were diagnosed the same time - July 2017. I know some of the other cats who've switched to Lev didn't necessarily see an enormous change, but Girlie is just a happier cat on Levemir. I'm here to support you whatever you decide! Good luck! :bighug:

I do too! I think I've given Lantus a fair shot, might be time to try something new. Gosh, I sure do remember those infamous Girlie deep dives early cycle :woot:, happy to see she is doing really well, and thanks for checking in :bighug:

Totally understandable. For us it was easier to make the decision because Beenie wasn't bouncy it was like I was shooting water into her:blackeye:. She just stayed high so it was a no brainer for me. You have a perfectly good handle on how this FD dance works so you would be just fine.;)
Still blows my mind what the switch did for @Girlie's mom ! :woot:

Love seeing Mav's face:bighug:

Thanks Michelle :bighug:, hope all is well with you. I had forgotten Beenie was on Levemir, I appreciate the feedback. You should see that face up close, makes my heart melt every time :joyful:

Hi Christie. I think you will be happy with the switch to Lev. I really haven't seen anybody on here who went back to Lantus after the switch.

Hi Paul, Levemir may be what I'm looking for to get some consistency, that's an interesting observation you made, it does seem most people are happy after the switch. Hope you and Bronx are doing well, any improvements with his arthritis?
 
Even if you don't try Lev, there may be some other tricks to help. For kitties that don't hold reductions well, it can be helpful to hold the dose for three drops below 50 on three different days, or one drop below 40. That might allow Mav to get more green time, which he still seems to be reacting too. Neko took forever too to get used to green. That was one good thing about Lev, she got more "hang time" in the lagoon and was forced to get used to it.
 
I vote for trying Lev, it would be interesting to see if it helps. I think the 3 under 5o or 1 under 40 that Wendy suggests is a good option to try as well. Come on, Mav, the lagoon is fun! :cat:
 
Even if you don't try Lev, there may be some other tricks to help. For kitties that don't hold reductions well, it can be helpful to hold the dose for three drops below 50 on three different days, or one drop below 40. That might allow Mav to get more green time, which he still seems to be reacting too. Neko took forever too to get used to green. That was one good thing about Lev, she got more "hang time" in the lagoon and was forced to get used to it.
Thanks for reminding me! I think it's worth trying three drops below 50 on three different days. I feel like 1.5u is a good dose, it probably was still affecting his cycle last night, he hit 52 early and I felt like 12% carb food was warranted, I did not want him earning another reduction so quickly. But I wonder if the extra carbs sent him bouncing higher than usual. Doing three drops below 50 on three separate days gives me some wiggle room, frankly I'm mad at myself for not seeing he was breaking his bounce the other night where he hit 43...but there have been other nights where he tested at 50, and I kept him surfing with just regular LC.

More for me to think about on a dreary Sunday (at least it's only raining, not snowing). Thanks as always for your help Wendy :)
 
Hi Paul, Levemir may be what I'm looking for to get some consistency, that's an interesting observation you made, it does seem most people are happy after the switch. Hope you and Bronx are doing well, any improvements with his arthritis?
Yes! Thanks for asking. The Adequan shots have really helped, he doesn't walk as gingerly and the humped back from spinal issues isn't so evident anymore :)
 
Last post: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...ps-283-pmps-140-2-92-3-52-3-5-63-5-77.194832/

And there's the inevitable high I knew was coming. At least he's coming back down mid cycle.



I do too! I think I've given Lantus a fair shot, might be time to try something new. Gosh, I sure do remember those infamous Girlie deep dives early cycle :woot:, happy to see she is doing really well, and thanks for checking in :bighug:



Thanks Michelle :bighug:, hope all is well with you. I had forgotten Beenie was on Levemir, I appreciate the feedback. You should see that face up close, makes my heart melt every time :joyful:



Hi Paul, Levemir may be what I'm looking for to get some consistency, that's an interesting observation you made, it does seem most people are happy after the switch. Hope you and Bronx are doing well, any improvements with his arthritis?

I really vote for Levemir! I'm so happy I made the switch it's not even funny. I've got a different, much, much happier cat. Go, Levemir! :-)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top