? 23 Sep Methos Pmps 226; 179@+1.5; 101@+3; 130 + 4; 157 +5 ; 163 @ +6 please help me keep in blue

SmallestSparrow

Very Active Member
Last post: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/9-20-amps-342-5-76-please-help.294186/

t-ing this up bc when I’m panicked I won’t be able to link my old post.

I clearly have no idea what is supposed to be happening. Just when I thought 3.5 wasn’t working it worked so well I had to give partial shots so she suggested 3, I begged for 3.25. Then had an unexpected deep drop and agreed to 3. I was depressed because 3 didn’t work the last time, his BG refused to come down, his ketones went up and as I was wondering how long I had to stay at 3, I woke up to find him at 113 pmps. Since it was 3am I made a decision on my own: clearly the wrong one I skipped the shot, he stayed down all am only to soar later. More depression yesterday pm and today and then suddenly what was a 300 “nadir” dropped to 220ish pmps. Hope I did the right thing giving his shot.
He still won’t eat MC food so I’m hoping he stays where I can just feed LC food and I hope he stays hungry.

I’m still uncertain how often to check him but will probably start at 1.5 bc I can’t bear the anxiety of waiting until +2

I feel like I keep making the wrong choice and jerking him around by it. I don’t understand why he was 113 Sunday am or dropped to 75 the week prior. I don’t feel I can predict what will happen or what to do bc he doesn’t do the same thing twice.

please think positive thoughts for my big footed polydactyl boy and if you see me messing up please tell me. I’ll change to a panic prefix if it disaster strikes but I’d be more confident if I understood why everything I try seems to go in the wrong direction
 
*hug* I am at a lost of why things happen the way they do too. My little girl is very sad today, and I am thinking it was the low yesterday, and all the stuff I had to do to her. It feels very discouraging. When they are in a blue range, I struggle to give a shot because I don't want her to go low. It is all very overwhelming...just know you are doing the best you can my friend <3
 
Low numbers are scary for almost everyone at first. Then they become addictive. Tonight’s dose has onset. I would feed some lc and test when you see this.
. I think you will be reducing the dose but let’s see.
Oops sorry. He got LC and what I’ve been told is med carb. And three greenies
 
Low numbers are scary for almost everyone at first. Then they become addictive. Tonight’s dose has onset. I would feed some lc and test when you see this.
. I think you will be reducing the dose but let’s see.
Alpha trak numbers. She thought she’d reduse it when he was too low for me (for me) to shoot Sunday. But then he’s been high and I said I could do this. But obviously that was wrong
 
Low numbers are scary for almost everyone at first. Then they become addictive. Tonight’s dose has onset. I would feed some lc and test when you see this.
. I think you will be reducing the dose but let’s see.
I just tested as you typed. 101 before the food. Test again when?
 
He’s still hungry. Feed more proplan chicken and rice (idk what it is someone said medium carb when I asked last week for med carb or they link list with it idr.
Or feed more tiki cat? thank you btw for your help.
 
*hug* I am at a lost of why things happen the way they do too. My little girl is very sad today, and I am thinking it was the low yesterday, and all the stuff I had to do to her. It feels very discouraging. When they are in a blue range, I struggle to give a shot because I don't want her to go low. It is all very overwhelming...just know you are doing the best you can my friend <3
I just want a dose I can just give him. I don’t mind pre and nadir checks but I’m making his ear into mince meat. My last cat 30 yr ago they figured out and use and said “give this”. I know not as good care as this but I’m so afraid I’m going to kill him w my in imximowfence
Edit: incompetence. You’d think autocorrect would know by now that’s a word I use often
 
Last edited:
*hug* I am at a lost of why things happen the way they do too. My little girl is very sad today, and I am thinking it was the low yesterday, and all the stuff I had to do to her. It feels very discouraging. When they are in a blue range, I struggle to give a shot because I don't want her to go low. It is all very overwhelming...just know you are doing the best you can my friend <3
Do you remember how often they had you test Minky last night ? And how often feed?
 
@Sheila and Minky hes drooling. He he drools w petting but not usually when just sitting there. Did she drool last night? I can’t believe 30 yrs ago I’d just give his shot, kiss him and walk out the door to go to work
 
No. Save that fur if he drops under 68. Just remember small amounts each feeding. You can always rub karo on his gums if he won’t eat. It’s just best to keep him hungry.
 
130. Will update title and try to calculate carbs —he got half a can of ck and rice I think it was on MC list. Your list doesn’t use dry matter % and that’s the only thing I know how to calc so will do that
 
Sorry for delay. I broke something and it landed all around us and his water fountain. So had to prevent him eating or stepping I on it
 
So up a little. That’s good. Can you get a +5? If up or flat there may not be drama tonight.
Yes. I will get +5. His plus will be on the hour fyi. he did get three greenies and half a can of unknown carb food though so how long to test to be safe? I can feed his tiki cat from now on unless he hits 100 again. 100 is sort of my hard floor

also thanks so much to you and @Sheila and Minky
 
Feed lc because ideally you want 2 hours without hc before you stop testing. If there’s a big jump up and stays up it might not be necessary to give it 2 hours.
 
No wonder they print ingredients so tiny. Next time I’m just feeding greenies plus LC. The chicken and rice priplan by %dry matter is 25% carb but I know your site doesn’t use %dry matter bc the tiki cat numbers are all off.
He got approx 40 cal of that, 25 cal of tiki, 10 cal of greenies which %dry matter are 45% carb so once I check to see if the other cat w pancreatitis ate and code my backup meter for new strips will try to calc the total percent carb of this last debacle.
Next time I’m just doing greenies with tiki. Although he did love it
 
Feed lc because ideally you want 2 hours without hc before you stop testing. If there’s a big jump up and stays up it might not be necessary to give it 2 hours.
Ok. No more greenies or proplan. I’ll be mad at myself If big jump. I wanted him in blue, the whole point of me giving him 3 freaking units 24 hr after I couldn’t give a shot at all. He’s more normal and he put on a little weight (then lost it again last night and today). He’s always been slender hipped but I can feel all his spine now
Thank you so much
 
So if math hasn’t been driven from my head by anxiety the three things he ate in combination ended up being 24% carb by dry matter percent. I think I’m just doing greenies and tiki in the future if I want medium carb food for him. But I will ck math tomorrow
 
No. Save that fur if he drops under 68. Just remember small amounts each feeding. You can always rub karo on his gums if he won’t eat. It’s just best to keep him hungry.
He apparently likes karo. I found that out when he surprised me with a 75 +5. I think he’d drink it straight. I eat frosting out of a can. We’re a good match
 
He apparently likes karo. I found that out when he surprised me with a 75 +5. I think he’d drink it straight. I eat frosting out of a can. We’re a good match
That’s good. Karo can wear off quickly so try and give it with food if it’s needed as it will stick longer. You will find out how carb sensitive with trial and error. Max was very carb sensitive so just a few drops of karo or hc gravy brought him up.
 
157.
With the karo he came up (I gave 1/2 tsp and then some more…poured on greenies) but he didn’t come up fast and didn’t stay up.

edit/ to me looking at him anyway.
 
So is there a way to know how low he would get without me well, letting him? Bc I can’t keep doing this to his poor Cushing ears but I’d like to get a dose that I’m confident I can just give him twice a day, stick his ears 4x a day and call it done. I can’t even trust a 300 PS anymore after that 75 nadir (and may have gone lower)

edit: I mean without testing and feeding. It’s not the effort to do that since I’m retired but it can’t be fun for him. I’d ask my vet but she’s already threatened to remove my meters so I’m thinking her answer might include that step (she’s wonderful, she just thinks I’m overthinking and we both know his skin can’t take this much longer
 
Feed lc because ideally you want 2 hours without hc before you stop testing. If there’s a big jump up and stays up it might not be necessary to give it 2 hours.
So I haven’t feed him anything. Test again at +6? +7?
He’s at about 25 calories over what he’d be at normally by now but much more carb. Then he’d get 30ish more calories of freeze dried chicken to snack on overnight
 
Back
Top