? 23 Sep Methos Pmps 226; 179@+1.5; 101@+3; 130 + 4; 157 +5 ; 163 @ +6 please help me keep in blue

I just realized how late it is where you all probably are. No one needs to lose sleep—just leave me some guidelines please
 
So do I keep testing every hour? Or two hours? Snd for how long? And may he have some freeze dried chicken breast bc he’s losing patience not getting paid for testing
upload_2024-9-23_21-10-47.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2024-9-23_21-10-47.jpeg
    upload_2024-9-23_21-10-47.jpeg
    99.4 KB · Views: 63
Yes. A treat after each test is fine. I think you are good now and can stop testing , maybe test in 30 minutes to make sure. Then call it a night. Good job.
Thank you so much! Times one million.

I hope there aren’t many more things like this. Will he get used to this so I can trust the shot without blowing through a vial of strips (note to self, check price of zoetis stock)
 
It will get easier as you learn how carb sensitive he is. As you get used to lower numbers you won’t jump for the carbs. Lantus is at its best when it gives you nice flat cycles. The hc makes it hard to know what will happen when it wears off. You could have stopped sooner without it. This was also a bounce clearing cycle so it had extra momentum. He seems to be clearing them fast.
 
It will get easier as you learn how carb sensitive he is. As you get used to lower numbers you won’t jump for the carbs. Lantus is at its best when it gives you nice flat cycles. The hc makes it hard to know what will happen when it wears off. You could have stopped sooner without it. This was also a bounce clearing cycle so it had extra momentum. He seems to be clearing them fast.

nothing makes sense. He was supposed to enter in a bounce (someone said before, maybe when I had to delay and reduce a pm shot—but then he had 113 in an amps when the theoretical prior nadir had been 250 and he’d been pink all day. I’ve shot 200s and he’s gone up. 300s and he goes up. Then suddenly 300s down to 75 and it took karo to turn it around. I was thinking it was his b12 shots but while he was due today he didn’t get it bc my sitter was sick. Today I thought ok, his nadir is obviously 300 then suddenly nope.

i know my vet is considering moving him to 2.5 but at 2.5 and at 3 he stayed high all the time and his ketones increased. Will 2.5 eventually work better?
 
Maybe it’s the time of the shots but I let him choose and he wakes up ravenous at 2:30. I assume that’s his adrenal tumor gearing up for the day. Hopefully he will hold a bit I’d like to let his ear rest until +7.5
 
Tonight was a really good cycle. He’s just bouncing a lot from blues and greens. That’s why there’s so much up and down. I would not go down to 2.5. If you reduce I would try 2.75.
 
I can’t keep doing this to his poor Cushing ears
If his ears look best up ,poor baby


I have read that many members use pure coconut oil, I have copied this from one of the members posts
just make sure the only ingredient is coconut oil (mine is solid at room temp and I would take an itty bitty dab and rub on his ears)
It seemed to help with the healing
You might be able to get it at a health food store or just Google pure coconut oil
@SmallestSparrow

You did a great job tonight :cat:
 
Tonight was a really good cycle. He’s just bouncing a lot from blues and greens. That’s why there’s so much up and down. I would not go down to 2.5. If you reduce I would try 2.75.
Thanks so much for your help. I’m sure you’re asleep but if you or anyone reading this has advice: what do I do in three or four hours if he’s still 160? In the idea that I give him 2.75 and keep pulling him back into normal until he starts having higher pre shoot numbers? Or is the idea that I give him less the one time (like 1/2 unit) then regroup the next cycle and give less (even if it hasn’t been a week at this dose).

going up I spent a week every level except 1.5 bc when he started he was supposed to be 1.5 but we started at 1, and his numbers were bad for the 7 days on 1 and 3-4 days on 1.5. And he pretty much seemed like he was getting nothing. At 3.5 he seemed like some days I was giving him nothing and other days he would do something weird (really late or low nadir, up and down, etc) but never the same thing.
It’s making me really afraid to give him anything and really afraid not to give it.
 
If his ears look best up ,poor baby


I have read that many members use pure coconut oil, I have copied this from one of the members posts
just make sure the only ingredient is coconut oil (mine is solid at room temp and I would take an itty bitty dab and rub on his ears)
It seemed to help with the healing
You might be able to get it at a health food store or just Google pure coconut oil
@SmallestSparrow

You did a great job tonight :cat:
Thanks so much for everything. If he has a stable day some time this week I’ll look. We have a tiny health food shop in town. Or maybe Amazon sells some. Might be good for me also. I’ve been washing my hands so much with all of this that I have deep fissures on my thumbs.
 
You need to start a new condo each day. Looking at your ss you should have given insulin when you saw his bg rise. Over 200 is always safe to shoot if you stall without food. If you wait too long and dint feed the bg can decrease.
Thanks. It’s a given I will make the wrong decision each chance
What’s a condo and how do I make one?
I tried to wait but went 90 to 83, and since I chose wrongly and added karo and MC food to the mix wasn’t sure how long to wait to see what his karo free bg was. Now he’s trending down. Do I check every hour or more often since I screwed up and gave him karo?
 
@SmallestSparrow
A condo is a new post for each day
Go to the Lantus Forum
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/forums/lantus-levemir-biosimilars.9/
Tap on post new thread that's to the right then put
Date Methos AMBG number in your title and any additional tests you do after that and you can continue with the PMPS BG and any additional tests after that.
You need to do a new post every day and then link your previous days post to it like you did above
So start a new condo or post today and link this post to it



To link your previous posts
Your previous days post will always be in the URL all the way up top ignore where it says insert or cancel I'm just trying to show you where your previous days post will be
Just ignore where it says insert and cancel
Just copy your previous days post and then paste it when you do your new post





Like I said
your previous days post it will be the one all the way up top, above the pic of that cat and the picture of a bottle of insulin there, let me know if you understand it




austin-logo-240.jpg
 
Last edited:
tried to wait but went 90 to 83, and since I chose wrongly and added karo and MC food to the mix wasn’t sure how long to wait to see what his karo free bg was. Now he’s trending down. Do I check every hour or more often since I screwed up and gave him karo?
@tiffmaxee
I told her how to start a new condo above , but can't answer her other question. I don't know when to reduce on the Alpha Trak can you tell her please, plus she is not following one of our dosing methods, on her SS she has for the method per vet
I hate the Alpha Trak lol
Thanks Elise :cat:
 
Last edited:
The reduction number with SLGS is the same no matter which meter you use. You already decreased to 2.5 so keep it there unless the bg falls under 90 again. You took a double reduction this time. We typically increase and decrease in .25 increments. When up feed hc at amps/pmps because the bg is low you need to wait 2 hours before deciding whether to give insulin that cycle. If you stall without food or give a teaspoon of lc recheck in 20-30 minutes to see if going up and if it has you can give insulin. If down at that point, feed normal amount of lc and check in 2 hours and if at a safe number you can give insulin. If you do give insulin, you can only give the next shot 11 1/2 hours later. To get back on schedule you can shoot early 15 minutes each cycle or 30 minutes every 24 hours.

Make sense? I will link the getting back on schedule sticky.

Maintenance needs to come out to fix internet issues for the entire building. I am just the first to be affected so it might be spotty. Hoping it will be resolved tomorrow but not holding my breath.
 
Back
Top