23/07 Mottyl AMPS 212 +2 221 PMPS 70.2 - HELP!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Aleven

Member Since 2014
Mottyl's first shot of Lantus - I checked at +2 and her bg had gone up! What the? Is that the lantus and her morning meal balancing each other out? Is that normal? Will post my +5 number in just over an hour.
 
Re: 27/07 Mottyl AMPS 212 +2 221

These are basically the same number. Glucometers have an acceptable variance of 20%.

Here is the link to Mottyl's 7/22 Condo. We link the previous day's condo in the current day so we can go back quickly and review what was said. :-D I think you have a typo in the subject line as today is 7/23. :-D :-D

You might also want to become familiar with New Dose Wonkiness as she is likely to experience it at some time.

Are you going to follow the Tight Regulation Protocol? It will provide her with the best chance of remission. Please let us know so we know best how to advise you.

The other option is Start Low Go Slow Approach. It is not a scientific research-based protocol but is what was used in this ISG prior to TR. We have some members in this ISG who use SLGS.
 
Re: 27/07 Mottyl AMPS 212 +2 221

Hi guys .. Haven't stopped in yet to say welcome, so welcome from us! Nice steady yellows just starting on lantus isn't bad at all! I hope you guys have a great day!
 
Re: 27/07 Mottyl AMPS 212 +2 221

I don't know if I'm doing the tight regulation protocol. Frankly I don't think I understand enough about it to make an informed decision. I don't know if it's feasible with my work schedule bc I'm not able to monitor her 24/7 and I don't have a roommate who can take over when I'm at work or asleep. I'm reading as much as I can about the subject, but this is my first experience with FD, it's only been a couple months, and it's a lot to absorb. So please bear with me. I'm starting her at 1 U and seeing how that goes.

And yup, I noticed the typo after I published but this platform doesn't seem to allow you to edit your titles. Forgive me, I normally get more sleep than this.
 
Re: 27/07 Mottyl AMPS 212 +2 221

don't worry about the typo - it's fine.

i wanted to add my welcome!

there is a ton to learn, and as you learn more, you'll figure out what you can/can't manage. There are single working people here who follow tight reg, although you might have to make some accommodations when you're leaving for work. it's possible, though.

starting out, you can just begin and we'll watch you and tell you what's going on, until you learn to see them for yourself. It takes a while, though, so don't get discouraged. the first couple of weeks are really hard, and then it begins to get easier. Kudos to you for taking care of Mottyl and learning what you can.

Keep asking us questions - people are happy to teach you how to help Mottyl!

One thing - if you have a question, you'll get the quickest answer if you use the ? post icon (above the window where you're writing) or include the topic of your question in the subject line of the first post in the thread. People scan the main page looking for those with questions or in need of help deciding if they should increase the dose. When you're new we'll all be watching for you anyway. :-D

Glad to have you and Mottyl here. Hi Mottyl! cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 27/07 Mottyl AMPS 212 +2 221

Aleven said:
And yup, I noticed the typo after I published but this platform doesn't seem to allow you to edit your titles. Forgive me, I normally get more sleep than thi
If you go up to your ORIGINAL post and click the edit button, it will let you edit the subject line no problem.

Welcome to the TR group! My work schedule doesn't always allow me to do as many tests as I would like, but this group has been amazing at helping me out...Skooter is doing so much better now that he has so many sets of eyes watching over him :)
 
Just did her PMPS and it's 70.2. That's way too low to shoot right? I won't be home to monitor her tonight in case of a hypo - seems bad to risk it.

Any advice for what to do tomorrow? Should I keep her at 1 U? Cut it to 0.75? (Assuming I can dose her that accurately)?

I have to leave for work in half an hour so any advice before then would be great!
 
Yes, you can cut the dose, feed and leave food out. That is probably the safest, sanest, way. Get your roomie to feed her at +2 or leave food out for her.
You can reduce it to .5 and then see how she is when you get home.
 
...and wanted to add that in normal circumstances, that's not at all too low to shoot, but on your first day of Lantus, before you know anything about what the right dose is for Lady M, go for safe.
 
Good enough! Just ask your neighbour to give her some food, and before you leave for work mix some LC half and half with MC (food with gravy, or a few drops of honey).
Also, CALL ME if you're ever stuck. You have my number. I don't want you stressing. The first few low numbers are harrowing, but after you get her leveled out, it won't be like this. You're doing an excellent job.
 
Okay I'm going for the 0.5 dose! Hopefully someone can check on her while I'm out, and I'll see how she's doing when I get home at 4ish.

Thanks for the support! Whew, momma's earned her day off tomorrow. ;-)
 
Good news about the day off.
So shoot 0.5 and leave food, and get a neighbour/good Samaritan to check in and feed her, just to be on the safe side.
Test when you get home, and then make 0.5 your new baseline shot.
Leave her there for 5 days and see how she's doing at that. Let her settle into that dosage and then you, and the caregivers here, will see if she needs to go up.
And yes, dosages of 0.75 do exist, but scoot off to work and worry about that later ;-)
 
A couple of thoughts...

I'm not sure what insulin you were using prior to Lantus but, Lantus is very different from all other insulin, with the exception of Levemir. It's long acting and dosing is based on the nadir, not on the pre-shot number.

Many of us work. I'm out of the house by around 7:30 and back a little before 5:00. One consideration when you have a tight work schedule is your shot time. Do you have any flexibility to shoot earlier so you can get a test at +1 or +2? If not, then it's doubly important to get tests during the PM cycle. In addition, if you can get a test before you leave, when you come home, if you wake up in the middle of the night, etc. In other words, do what you can to fill in the white spaces on your spreadsheet by testing whenever you can. No one tests 24/7. You may have a kitty with diabetes but you also need to have a life.

Generally, we don't suggest shooting below 150 if you are new to Lantus. Since you did shoot a low number tonight, please get tests at _1 and +2. You can then gauge what other tests you'll need to get tonight.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top