? 22 Oct | Girlie | AMPS 385; +3= 126; +5=68; +5=88 Dose question

Status
Not open for further replies.
I kept reading and re-reading the protocol last night before I decided to increase to 1 Unit as I couldn't quite get my head around two parts of it:

INCREASING THE DOSE:
  • Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
    • if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
    • when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
  • After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
  • After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.
Last night was cycle 9 on the 0.75. Her AMPS were all high blacks, then she dived down. I've put her nadirs below. I was confused about whether I should increase as she'd spent cycles 5 - 8 in high numbers (nadirs over high 300's and then switch to high blacks again) or whether I shouldn't have increased because she had a green nadir in cycles 3 and 4.

Also, if they're doing steep drops every hour even though you're steering with MC or HC gravy, does that mean the dose is too high? Girlie does deep dives quite often, but I'm just unsure about the dose question.

@Gill & George , I see you're still here: do you have any thoughts on this?
 
Sorry, here are her nadirs for the previous dose (0.75):

Cycle 1: 500 @ PM+4
Cycle 2: 149 @ +8 (very late for her to go low)
Cycle 3: 97 @ +5
Cycle 4: 94 @ +6
Cycle 5: 275 @ +5
Cycle 6: 232@ +5
Cycle 7: 533 @+ 6
Cycle 8: 410 @ +4
 
Last edited:
68 @ +5
LLC1 food @ +3 and no food @+4
I guess she'll make her decision soon...
 
Try some regular LC before gravy, to see if you can get her surfing, before going to the big guns. Try some more LC now.

When looking at what to do with a dose, ask the question - how low does this dose take my cat? Is there room to go lower? With nadirs in the 90's, yes there is room so you could increase. If she had been in the 70's or low 80's, not so much.
 
Last edited:
Try some regular LC before gravy, to see if you can get her surfing, before going to the big guns. Try some more LC now.

When looking at what to do with a dose, ask the wuation - how low does this dose take my cat? Is there room to go lower? With nadirs in the 90's, yes there is room so you could increase. If she had been in the 70's or low 80's, not so much.

Okay, so I wasn't completely wrong to increase: that's a relief! Thanks so much, Wendy.

If I give her the LC, and the following hour she's dropped by 100 pts plus (or even by over 50 or 60 pts), would it be worthwhile to try it again and see where she is the following hour? Or if the LC fails to slow her down, is it ok then to try the MC?

88 @ +5: looks like she may not want a reduction just yet.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top