2/9 Shadow AMPS=167, PMPS=168

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pat+Raja+Shadow (GA)

Member Since 2009
+3=67
+4=53
+5=49
+6=53
+9=62
AMPS=167

Yesterday's Condo

WCR...last night was a blur of napping, waking, napping, waking. Shadow had teaspoon snacks from +3 and when he got +5=49 I gave him a teaspoon of gravy. He did well for himself. Except that this morning, he didn't clean the bowls.... :lol: He left the normal amount of scraps. Guess he was not very hungry this morning. :lol: And, he was not on the testing towel for is shot but by a perch near a window. (I think he is growing tired of my ear pricking and is trying to blend in with the wall... :mrgreen: )

Hope you all have a splendid Tuesday!! :-D
 
Re: 2/9 Shadow AMPS=167....Are you there Monique?

WOW!!!! Check out Shadow. No advice on the dosing but just had to come in here and say WOW!!!!
 
Re: 2/9 Shadow AMPS=167.

Shadow looked good yesterday in those greens! I bet cha the 167 is just a little bounce from going down to those lower numbers that he is not used to getting.
I'm certainly not giving advise on dosing here, but if it were me, I would stick with this dose because you are seeing some good action...of course, I don't know if you will be around the house to monitor during the day or not, so that would be a factor into you decision making.
 
Re: 2/9 Shadow AMPS=167 Monique...

Monique...i suppose he should get greens on 3 different days with this dose...is that what I am aiming for?
 
Re: 2/9 Shadow AMPS=167.

Whoa, now that's what we like to see! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
Keep up the nice work there, Shadow! cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 2/9 Shadow AMPS=167.

Pat I'm gonna suggest keeping the dose as well, for several reasons. First of all he hit 49 (splitting hairs this could be 51, and doesn't earn a decrease anyway :razz: ) Another reason is..........

From the protocol

Phase 4: Reducing the dose.
Phase out insulin slowly by 0.25-
0.5U depending on dose.
When the cat regularly (every day for at least one week), has its
lowest blood glucose concentration in the normal range of a
healthy cat, and stays under 100 mg/dL overall
Reduce dose by 0.25-0.5 IU depending on if cat on
low or high dose of insulin

If the nadir glucose concentration is 40 - <50 mg/dL (2.2-<2.8
mmol/L) at least three times on separate days
Reduce dose by 0.25-0.5 IU depending on if cat on
low or high dose of insulin
If the cat drops below 40 mg/dL once (2.2 mmol/L) Reduce dose immediately by 0.25-0.5 IU depending
on if cat on low or high dose of insulin

If peak blood glucose concentration > 200mg/dL (11 mmol/L) Immediately increase insulin dose to last effective

So before Shadow gets a decrease he has to go below 50 2-3 times on a dose (to prove it's really to high) before he earns a reduction. After a reduction if he does't drop below 200 during a cycle his dose will be immediately raised back up to the last dose he had a green number on.

That's my recommendation.
 
Re: 2/9 Shadow AMPS=167.

Thanks Monique...just wanted to make sure we were on the same page with this....
Appreciate your recommendation and am waiting to hear your prediction.... ;-)
 
Re: 2/9 Shadow AMPS=167.

Wow Shadow look at you all in your blue and green last night.
I could tell you are exhausted just by your post Pat. I-)
I hope you can catch a few naps today.
 
Re: 2/9 Shadow AMPS=167.

I don't really have a prediction, he could bounce from the lows last night at any time (giving you an inverted curve today) or he could bounce early and come back down once the onset occurs and have a nice curve. He could also not bounce and dip into the lows again. I will predict that your next test will not be 167 again :mrgreen:
 
Re: 2/9 Shadow AMPS=167.

aw wow, this is very good!!
So happy to see this today - good boy Shadow!

(I think he is growing tired of my ear pricking and is trying to blend in with the wall...

:lol: :lol: too funny!!
 
Re: 2/9 Shadow AMPS=167.

Quick message... got to go. Family stuff...

Wow, nice greens and holy moly what a bounce! But I hope he does well on the new strategy of letting him bounce but get the green. Green and more green. Let him see that GREEN. High bounces are expected... because this is Shadow, but like Monique said maybe he'll get tired of those bounces after he sees more green?

I sure hope so. I'm pulling for him. The other strategy was worth a try but pfffft it was a bust. Go GREEN! And I also agree that for Shadow... the 49 was a 51. Hee, hee!

I'll try to check later, bye and good luck!
 
Re: 2/9 Shadow AMPS=167.

That is a heck of a bounce, but with all those nice greens, I guess it had to happen. This is a new dose, right? So there could be some NDW in play here too. Hopefully, everything will level out in a couple of days.

Good job Shadow!
 
Re: 2/9 Shadow AMPS=167.

I wouldn't be to concerned about this number, it may be a little bounce but there are also other factors involved. His AMPS was a rising number so we know that the duration of the previous insulin shot was waining. It also has breffus behind it. In addition it is +1 so onset has not yet occured from this shot (Shadow doesn't seem to get alot of overlap) and it is a recent dose increase so the shed is still being remodeled and perhaps a little NDW. Ok so now ignore all those things I just said and all those not so pretty numbers and start looking for nadirs (preferably green) and shoot to get those, everything else will work itself out later.
 
Re: 2/9 Shadow AMPS=167.

Ooooh, what's next? :razz:

carnac1.jpg
 
Re: 2/9 Shadow AMPS=167.

Again I stopped by late.
Awesome night last night Pat.
Shadow really has a mind of his own!!
You really need to keep reading Monique's post to him.
I think it works.
 
Re: 2/9 Shadow AMPS=167.

Geeze...what a reaction! Not to worry, Pat. Shadow will be back down in his usual style.

I'm voting for another pretty green surf. :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
 
Re: 2/9 Shadow AMPS=167, +4=280

(MJ and her funny pictures again.... :lol: :lol: )

+1=319
+3=334
+4=280 snack time

Tough Love at work. He and Raja were snuggled together on my unmade bed with the drapes drawn. Does anyone else let sleeping kitties lie? :lol: I hate to disturb them when they look so cozy and warm. BUT, it IS snack time and I needed a +4!! They will both be front and center for their snack and then I will make my bed. (they are taking a snow day even though they're in Florida....they know it's snowing somewhere....BRrrrrr)
 
Re: 2/9 Shadow AMPS=167, +4=280

ohhh whats Shadow doing? took a peek at ss...coming back down for more fun? :mrgreen:
 
Re: 2/9 Shadow AMPS=167, +4=280

Geez Pat,
I'm reading along and seeing those amazing numbers and then I get to the next set and---bounces. He sure knows how to keep you going.
Must be left overs from the big game or the launch!
 
Re: 2/9 Shadow AMPS=167, +4=280

WHOOOOOO HOOOOOOOOO :RAHCAT dancing_cat flip_cat dancing_cat party_cat
And Shadow throws Pat a fast ball :lol: :lol: :lol:
Look at all that green!! I am loving this you guys!! So so happy for you!
Hope the bounce clears & Pat gets some sleep!!!
Will be waiting for tonite's numbers!!!YES!!!!!
 
Re: 2/9 Shadow AMPS=167, +4=280

I just love reading this condo...better than a soap opera or reality show. Fascinating stuff going on here with kitties and beans!

Now Shadow...not too much of a bounce, ok?
 
AMPS=167 ~ 1.25u Lev (start 2nd cycle)
+1=319
+3=334
+4=280
+6=271
+9=256
PMPS=168 ~ 1.25u Lev (start of 3rd cycle)

WCR: doing great, purring a lot, preening, poops, no playing, ( he just read all day long )

WBR: @-) nailbite_smile @-) nailbite_smile
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top