2/9 Sami PMPS 87; +1 93

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tina & Sammy

Member Since 2010
Yesterday's Condo

Libby and Lucy said:
Sami is your cat, you can try 0.1 if you want to. It might work.

Don't forget that Lantus has a shed, so the effects you see on each cycle are affected by the last several cycles. In other words, tonight's 0.25 cycle isn't a "pure" 0.25, it has a lot of effect from the 0.5 cycle this morning, and also from yesterday's 0.75. Sami has gone from 1 unit to 0.25 in two days, so the shed is very over full right now. We don't know what will be left when the shed finally catches up with us. It may be that Sami DOES need a smaller dose, or it might be that she'll be left with too little insulin. Even if you shoot 0.1, or even if you skip, Sami will probably stay low for at least a cycle or two because she'll be running on shed action, before we see what's left once the shed drains. That's why I suggested food as a way to keep her numbers steady while we try to get ahead of the shed.

Libby, I was very happy with Sami surfing the 60's last night. It was a lot less stress on me than when she was in the 50's and I was worried that she might fall below. I get it about the shed and will go ahead and stick with the .25 unit dose this morning. Approximately how long does it take for the shed to empty out?

Another question I have is, if she rises up higher today, could I jump right back to the .5 dose or should I wait for a 6 cycles before moving back? Or would it be better to just do a skinny .5 or a fat .25? There are so many options too choose from and the answers are not always black and white.

I will have Sami's AMPS shortly. I got up early to see if she is on the rise or on a decline this morning so I tested her 45 minutes before her AMPS. She was at 65.
 
Re: 2/9 Sami AMPS

Second try!

Another nice cycle for Sami :-D
Shed emptying is ECID, but I've seen 1-2 cycles. You would usually wait the 6 cycles before bumping dose back up, as needs time to settle.

You want to try and get Sami on another surboard today-good luck :mrgreen:
 
Re: 2/9 Sami AMPS 68; +1 62

Sami was either surfing or rising slightly when I took her AMPS, not sure which because of meter variance and whatnot.

I did change up her meal schedule a bit this morning. Yesterday I had given 1/3 can of food at her pre-shot time and both times she jumped up a bit by +1, previously when she was getting just 1/6 can at AMPS and 1/6 can at +.5 she was stable or dropped slightly, so I wanted to see if the slight change would make a difference and it appears to have done just that.

I will be very happy if Sami surfs the 60's today, with no worry of her dropping below 50. Hopefully, that will give her more time on this dose allowing her pancreas to heal. Although, she is already lower at today's +1 than she was at yesterday's and she started higher this morning. I guess we will just wait to see what she decides to do today.

I keep telling her that she can quit going to work if she doesn't need insulin any more, so maybe she is trying to tell me she doesn't want to work and wants to be a stay at home Kitty. I know she doesn't mind being at the office, but she really hates the 10 minute car ride.
 
Re: 2/9 Sami AMPS 68; +1 62

Surf Sammi Surf so mommabean can relax. Good luck Tina. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 2/9 Sami AMPS 68; +1 62

A pretty green day for Sami so far. :smile: She's been doing really well and I hope the trend continues!
 
Re: 2/9 Sami AMPS 68; +7 47; +7.5 59

I stuck with the .25 Unit dose this morning under the advice and the thought process of keeping Sami on insulin as long as possible. Plus, we were assuming that she probably was still working off some of the excess insulin in her shed.

All is going fine, and she was surfing the 60's nicely this morning and then at +7, she dropped to 47. I didn't freak out or anything I decided, since she was later in her cycle, to try LC food instead of HC to see how she handled it. And after 1/6 can of LC food she recovered nicely and is back up to 59 30 minutes later.

I guess at this point I am still not sure if I should reduce the dose or wait until she has gone below 50 3 times at this dose. Plus is it still possible that she has residual insulin in her shed that she is still using up.
 
Today, was a pretty uneventful day, considering what we were seeing over the weekend. Sami did fall below 50 today, but as I stated before I am keeping her on the .25 dose for now hoping that the drops the two cycles were primarily due to left over stash in her shed.

Tonight her PMPS number is higher than she has seen in a few days, so I think this might be a sign that the shed is finally depleted. It will be an interesting night to see if she can surf the 60's or 70's. I don't want to have to increase her dose again, but it might be possible that we took those decreases a little too quickly. I guess we will just have to wait an see what she does with her dose tonight. If she goes higher it will still be another 3 cycles before I can increase her dose a little.
 
Looks great to me!

FYI, the 6 cycle rule doesn't apply to failed dose reductions. If a reduction fails, you can go right back to the last good dose as soon as you are sure the reduction isn't sticking. Admittedly, that is very hard to figure out so it usually ends up being close to 6 cycles anyway! However, I don't think you have a failed dose reduction. We should be starting to see more of the "real" 0.25 dose by now, and it looks find to me. :mrgreen:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top