2/9 Elvis AM PS 347

Elvis & Scar

Member Since 2021
Hi everyone,
My cat started 3units this morning. Every Tues. the vet calls me to ask the numbers of the week. It's now 3u in the AM and 2u in the PM. I can't figure out why the numbers are just over the place. I've never seen it lower than 260 and I feel guilty that it's over 2 months and I still don't have Elvis's diabetes under control. I only feed him FF classics pate. It was a variety from time to time. Beef, poulty, seafood. I need help.
 
Previous post
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/1-11-elvis-amps-392-2-419.257715/

Sorry but your vet is wrong about the dosing
Also in your signature you say gingivitis and stage 3 dental disease? Has he had a dental yet ?

I'm going to tag a few members for you
The first thing lantus likes consistency, the same dose both day and night

We don't increase units by half units, we increase or decrease by 0.25 units at a time

You need to pick a dosing method to follow when using lantus, there are 2 , I'll give you the link below. Whichever one you choose to follow will let you know when you need to increase or decrease the dose, how long to hold the dose, when to do a curve etc

The dose is based on the lowest point during the cycle (nadir)
You might want to post every day on the lantus forum


https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-low-go-slow-slgs-tight-regulation-tr.210110/


Here is the all about lantus please read all the yellow sticky's
I see on your SS your vet said
Called Vet Dr. said to increase 3u in AM only. Starting today

@Marje and Gracie
Hi Marje I happen to see that you are on, can you read Elvis's post, and look at his SS ,I replied back , I hope I gave him some good advice, I attached his previous post also.

I wonder what dose he should stick with ?

I'll also tag some other members in case you're gone

@Wendy&Neko

@Sienne and Gabby (GA)

@tiffmaxee

@Bandit's Mom

@Bron and Sheba (GA)

@Christie & Maverick
 
Last edited:
Previous post
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/1-11-elvis-amps-392-2-419.257715/

Sorry but your vet is wrong about the dosing
Also in your signature you say gingivitis and stage 3 dental disease? Has he had a dental yet ?

I'm going to tag a few members for you
The first thing lantus likes consistency, the same dose both day and night

We don't increase units by half units, we increase or decrease by 0.25 units at a time

You need to pick a dosing method to follow when using lantus, there are 2 , I'll give you the link below. Whichever one you choose to follow will let you know when you need to increase or decrease the dose, how long to hold the dose, when to do a curve etc

The dose is based on the lowest point during the cycle (nadir)
You might want to post every day on the lantus forum


https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-low-go-slow-slgs-tight-regulation-tr.210110/


Here is the all about lantus please read all the yellow sticky's
I see on your SS your vet said
Called Vet Dr. said to increase 3u in AM only. Starting today

@Marje and Gracie
Hi Marje I happen to see that you are on, can you read Elvis's post, and look at his SS ,I replied back , I hope I gave him some good advice, I attached his previous post also.
I wonder what dose he should stick with ?

I'll also tag some other members in case you're gone

@Wendy&Neko

@Sienne and Gabby (GA)

@tiffmaxee

@Bandit's Mom

@Bron and Sheba (GA)

@Christie & Maverick
Thanks, I was looking to get his diabetes under control before proceeding with any dental work. I was interested in the tight regulation method. At this point, I'll take any guidance.
 
Diane has made some good points, so I will not repeat them. The reason many vets ask to shoot different number of units AM and PM is because most people use a pen to give insulin and therefore cannot give doses in fractional units like 2.5U. Your vet was probably trying to achieve a dose of 2.5U but Lantus does not work that way.

It's hard to tell what a dose is doing without enough tests. Would you be able to get at least 4 tests per day? 2 preshot and 2 midcycle? If you can, you could give the TR dosing method a try and get Scar to a good dose soon.

Bad teeth can affect regulation, so if that's something that can be fixed that would help.

I would suggest that you go to 2.5U both AM and PM and get more tests to see how he is doing on the dose. You can reevaluate the dose after 3 days (if you choose to follow TR).
 
Back
Top