2/9 Buddy AMPS 375 (0.75)

Status
Not open for further replies.
Sommer,
I'm gonna tell you that you are doing a good thing with Buddy, it's frustrating yea, but as I tell everyone going thru this, look how far you've come!

Take a little break if you need it, reward yourself too, honestly, you're here, Buddy is there with you - give him big hugs and tummy rubs, he knows you're doing the best for him. Because u love him like crazy cat_pet_icon

When you're ok to post, please ask your concerns and get it all out of your system.
You and Buddy are gonna be ok :YMHUG:
 
I find the hardest part of being part of this community is to see those beans and kitties who are here for what seems like a minute and a half and their cats are having an OTJ party. And then there are the rest of us. We follow the dosing protocol. We test like crazy. We are attentive to everything our kitties eat, how they pee and poop, etc. and we are still working the program. We get a run of greens and have dose reductions, are elated, and feel like, "Finally. It's that breakthrough dose." only to have to start climbing up the dosing ladder -- again.

Is that starting to sound familiar? I hope you realize that there are quite a few of us who have stood or are standing in your shoes.

Buddy's SS from June to Oct. looks like the SS of a different cat. The recent numbers are, in part, due to a reduced dose. You weren't home and needed DBF to have a safe amount of insulin to shoot. You knew that Buddy's numbers would be "off." Like Ronnie said, don't lose sight of the progress you both have made. And, try to not compare Buddy with the other kitties who are here. He's his own cat and he's going to handle his FD in his own, unique way. It may frustrate you to no end, but Buddy doesn't care. He's getting treats and a heck of a lot of love!
 
Ronnie & Luna said:
Sommer,
I'm gonna tell you that you are doing a good thing with Buddy, it's frustrating yea, but as I tell everyone going thru this, look how far you've come!

Take a little break if you need it, reward yourself too, honestly, you're here, Buddy is there with you - give him big hugs and tummy rubs, he knows you're doing the best for him. Because u love him like crazy cat_pet_icon

When you're ok to post, please ask your concerns and get it all out of your system.
You and Buddy are gonna be ok :YMHUG:

I just don't know why all of a sudden his numbers are going up, up, up...and it's getting worse not better :(
 
Sienne and Gabby said:
I find the hardest part of being part of this community is to see those beans and kitties who are here for what seems like a minute and a half and their cats are having an OTJ party. And then there are the rest of us. We follow the dosing protocol. We test like crazy. We are attentive to everything our kitties eat, how they pee and poop, etc. and we are still working the program. We get a run of greens and have dose reductions, are elated, and feel like, "Finally. It's that breakthrough dose." only to have to start climbing up the dosing ladder -- again.

Is that starting to sound familiar? I hope you realize that there are quite a few of us who have stood or are standing in your shoes.

Buddy's SS from June to Oct. looks like the SS of a different cat. The recent numbers are, in part, due to a reduced dose. You weren't home and needed DBF to have a safe amount of insulin to shoot. You knew that Buddy's numbers would be "off." Like Ronnie said, don't lose sight of the progress you both have made. And, try to not compare Buddy with the other kitties who are here. He's his own cat and he's going to handle his FD in his own, unique way. It may frustrate you to no end, but Buddy doesn't care. He's getting treats and a heck of a lot of love!

Thank you for that...that is exactly how I am feeling. Did the same thing happen with you and your baby?

The thing is his numbers started going up before the most recent reduced dose of 0.50. His numbers were going up on 0.75 after being completely fine on that dose for quite a while.

The good thing is I never compare Buddy to the other kitties on this board, I only compare against his own progress and that is what's making me want to cry...we've had such a good run up until now :(

Thanks for the kind words:)
 
Hi Sommer
Max and I have not posted here before but I wanted to stop by today and lend send moral support.
No question you are here longer than we are but Max and I are not one of those cats that Sienne mentioned that will be "here today, gone tomorrow"

I know we are in for a very long haul and one day maybe the oldest board memeber around.
We started at 1u like everyone and kept increasing and increasing at every protocol change until we hit 5.75. We finally had some breakthough and now are at 5.5.
I have learnt a lot from everyone here and am continuously told patience.
Easy to hear, not easy to do when we love our babies so dearly.
Hang in there Sommer, vent, ask questions and do what you need to do.
You have a lot of support here and you and Buddy will get through this.
You know you will, and have been, taking the very best care of him.
 
Sometimes things look bleak and a good cry is in order... :YMHUG:
This entire process takes such patience and a lot of time...but you know that and it seems that
you are just seeing the bad side of this dance today. Try to see that all the time you have put in
is doing something for Buddy...!!!

I was feeling the same way just last week. we are here since mid August. I gave Shadow an increase and that is
doing wonderful things for him....but I do know what you mean about it taking so long. I just see that Shadow is
looking great and he seems to be feeling great too. what a difference over the months...!!

Looking at Buddy's SS it seems that he was getting good responses on the .75u dose.
Now with the lowered amount, his numbers are creeping back up.
What did you think about the comments in yesterday's condo?
 
Hey Sommer,
This really sucks, doesn't it. We seem to be doing everything we can and it's just not good enough.
Those numbers just won't cooperate. We try this and that, and then ask for other things to try and either it doesn't work or it works, but only for awhile. We say What am I doing wrong here??

Sommer, I don't think there's a single person here who has not walked a mile in your shoes; we feel or have felt what you are feeling. You know, just replying to you is upsetting for me.

We all struggle, and it's really hard on us, but each of us knows EXACTLY why we do it.
It's all for our cats. And don't you think for a minute that Buddy does not know what you are doing; he appreciates you and everything you do for him.

I looked at your ss and it seems like the dose was lower because you were going to be away. That's understandable, but with the change, we pretty much expect that the numbers will be affected. Also, if Buddy is really attached to you, I bet good money that he was upset with your absence. I would never say anything about any DBF or DPS or any other alternate care giver, but face it, nobody is as good as the prime bean, right?

Now you are home. Now you can set right the things that have been upset by your being away. How was Buddy when you got home? I bet he was glad to see you! Just give him some time and I am sure he will perk up and feel better with you home again.

Quite often, when I feel down and see no end to it all, I have to stop and look back, just like Sienne said. I bet if you compared the Buddy before his dx to the Buddy today, you would say Whoa two different cats! Don't forget the great changes just by removing dry food! Incredible.

While I can't comment on any decreases and any disappointment of decreasing then having to go back up, I can say that I have seen Shadoe seem to be reacting well to a dose only to have her say mmmm NOPE. So up we go. And we are still trudging up the dose ladder - going to 7.5u tonite :YMSIGH:

But you and I both know that Shadoe and Buddy appreciate what we have done for them, and they do feel better for it all.

Take a deep breath and have a talk, some special time with Buddy, let him tell you how he is doing.
And then just pick up where the two of you left off, look at where you are and what needs to be done in your journey towards Buddy's good health.
Then just get 'er done.
Those better numbers are just around the corner.
 
Pat+Raja+Shadow said:
Sometimes things look bleak and a good cry is in order... :YMHUG:
This entire process takes such patience and a lot of time...but you know that and it seems that
you are just seeing the bad side of this dance today. Try to see that all the time you have put in
is doing something for Buddy...!!!

I was feeling the same way just last week. we are here since mid August. I gave Shadow an increase and that is
doing wonderful things for him....but I do know what you mean about it taking so long. I just see that Shadow is
looking great and he seems to be feeling great too. what a difference over the months...!!

Looking at Buddy's SS it seems that he was getting good responses on the .75u dose.
Now with the lowered amount, his numbers are creeping back up.
What did you think about the comments in yesterday's condo?

He was getting good responses on the .75u at first and then he started to decline before the .50u from when I was away...

I only had one response yesterday helping refresh my memory on the dosing procedures...that was helpful :)
 
Sommer -

Of course I felt that way!! How else could I have guessed at how you were feeling?

Take a look at Gabby's condo for the past 2 days. I was having a mini-meltdown.
 
Gayle and Shadoe said:
Hey Sommer,
This really sucks, doesn't it. We seem to be doing everything we can and it's just not good enough.
Those numbers just won't cooperate. We try this and that, and then ask for other things to try and either it doesn't work or it works, but only for awhile. We say What am I doing wrong here??

Sommer, I don't think there's a single person here who has not walked a mile in your shoes; we feel or have felt what you are feeling. You know, just replying to you is upsetting for me.

We all struggle, and it's really hard on us, but each of us knows EXACTLY why we do it.
It's all for our cats. And don't you think for a minute that Buddy does not know what you are doing; he appreciates you and everything you do for him.

I looked at your ss and it seems like the dose was lower because you were going to be away. That's understandable, but with the change, we pretty much expect that the numbers will be affected. Also, if Buddy is really attached to you, I bet good money that he was upset with your absence. I would never say anything about any DBF or DPS or any other alternate care giver, but face it, nobody is as good as the prime bean, right?

Now you are home. Now you can set right the things that have been upset by your being away. How was Buddy when you got home? I bet he was glad to see you! Just give him some time and I am sure he will perk up and feel better with you home again.

Quite often, when I feel down and see no end to it all, I have to stop and look back, just like Sienne said. I bet if you compared the Buddy before his dx to the Buddy today, you would say Whoa two different cats! Don't forget the great changes just by removing dry food! Incredible.

While I can't comment on any decreases and any disappointment of decreasing then having to go back up, I can say that I have seen Shadoe seem to be reacting well to a dose only to have her say mmmm NOPE. So up we go. And we are still trudging up the dose ladder - going to 7.5u tonite :YMSIGH:

But you and I both know that Shadoe and Buddy appreciate what we have done for them, and they do feel better for it all.

Take a deep breath and have a talk, some special time with Buddy, let him tell you how he is doing.
And then just pick up where the two of you left off, look at where you are and what needs to be done in your journey towards Buddy's good health.
Then just get 'er done.
Those better numbers are just around the corner.
Thank you :) In the past Buddy has done really well with DBF, usually has lower numbers when I'm gone actually...it's just puzzling to me that his numbers started to go up even when he was on the .75u for a while even before reducing to the safe .50u for my days away...

I will give buddy his hugs and kisses tonight and hopfully mommy's love with make things all better...:(
 
Sommer,
You seem to have forgotten that cats are smart, smarter than they let on.
I am of the firm belief that they can read and we know their hearing is excellent, so maybe you were talking about being away and Buddy decided that was a bad thing. :lol:

Seriously, we all know how cats can like something one minute then the next, NOT.
There is just no point in trying to figure out what happened, so just apologize and promise not to be a bad bean again :lol:

Kitties can sense more than you think, so when you are upset or apprehensive, they almost seem to absorb it from you.

So ya, spend some time with Buddy and I bet in no time, all will be back to normal and YOU will be forgiven!

have a great day, Sommer.
 
(((((Sommer)))))

Are you sure DBF hasn't been feeding donuts to Buddy?
It's normal to feel frustrated. The numbers really do look like they are creeping up... looks like it's partly due to the safe reduced dose and the rest... I don't know.

You are a good mamabean and you do what you can.... and you can see what is going on because you test and you keep an eye on Buddy. Most people wouldn't have a clue (because the ave person doesn't home test) .... please give yourself a chance and take it one day at the time.

This support is just that .... a group to support you!
Hang in there!
 
Sommer dear!! Please dont be upset!! We all go through this & feel oh so blue!!
I was in the pity pot earlier this week--
I've been at this for 2 yrs now!! Moonie was at all the 0. numbers, and is now going up to 1.00 +drop(guess that's s a fat 1.00)
Look at my SS--How many times we were doing great, a tiny thing changed, & BOOM! we lost all momentum!! Dose didnt hold, we get green which eventually morphs into blues & yellows..IT"S VERY Frustrating!!!!
But we love these furbabies & really do Live for Them!!
LOOK AT THE WHOLE CAT!!--Jojo used to say that to me all the time--She was right! Here I am now trying to blame ff foods, the insulin, the weather :lol: , the world situation, and anything else I can grasp.. ohmygod_smile ohmygod_smile ohmygod_smile
The point is dear Sommer, this illness is unpredictable and there are those of us who are in for the long haul, I am one of them(unless a miraculous miracle ever happened)..
Dont be discouraged, it will get better, you will make it better... Buddy is on a low dose, that is good.
Just keep on going & it will turn around--Sending you HUGS~!! You need them today!!
 
((((Sommer)))) Lucy did this to me a couple of times and I remember how it felt. I blamed everything - got new strips, new insulin, new batteries for the meter, I think I tried a couple of backup meters... Cried a lot too. She wasn't broken, though, she just decided that for whatever reason she needed more insulin again.

I would go back up to 0.75 now, then focus on getting more spot checks the next few days. As long as there are enough spot checks, we can be aggressive on the way back up, increasing every 6 cycles until we get the numbers back. I bet he won't have to go very far back up, but if he does, that's ok, he needs what he needs. Ok? You can fix this.
 
Libby and Lucy said:
((((Sommer)))) Lucy did this to me a couple of times and I remember how it felt. I blamed everything - got new strips, new insulin, new batteries for the meter, I think I tried a couple of backup meters... Cried a lot too. She wasn't broken, though, she just decided that for whatever reason she needed more insulin again.

I would go back up to 0.75 now, then focus on getting more spot checks the next few days. As long as there are enough spot checks, we can be aggressive on the way back up, increasing every 6 cycles until we get the numbers back. I bet he won't have to go very far back up, but if he does, that's ok, he needs what he needs. Ok? You can fix this.

Libby...thanks:) I went back up to 0.75u this morning...I need help as to how long I should stay on this dose...Also, I'm still working my way back to my original dosing time...right now I'm an hour away...tonight I will shoot at +11.5 and then I will only be a half hour away...

thanks for the continued support...what kind of spot checks should I get?

I'm ready to fix it, I just need some guidance...also, I scheduled a vet appointment for next Sat. just to make sure he is ok on the inside...:)
 
...what kind of spot checks should I get?

Hi Sommer, hoper ur feeling better

just gonna make some suggestions on spotchecks to get...only if u can thou ok? Not saying u have to.

first start off by updating AMPS for SS for today,
tonight, see if u can grab a +2 or +3 and a "before bedtime" check, not sure when ur bedtime is, maybe it's around +4 or +5 as an example.

next, is DBF at home during the day to help grab a couple of numbers? If yes, then a +3 and/or +6 would be good

If not, then after your AMPS, if ur still home at +1, make that your "out the door" test...later, if ur home by +11, make that your "in the door" test

filling in the blanks would give a good idea what is going on with the BG's...weekend's are good days for a curve or mini curve too.

Hope that helps give you some ideas...and you do know you can get a lot of guidance here in LL.
:-D
 
2/9 Buddy PM +2.5 248, +3.5 278

Thank you for all the support today...

ni ni ll...
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top