2/8 Max AMPS 355~PMPS 408~+4 234~+5 192

Status
Not open for further replies.

Randi & Max (GA)

Member Since 2009
Yesterday

Yesterday was an uneventful day for Max, not surprising considering the fun we had on Saturday night.
Yes, today's AMPS are 100 points lower than yesterday but honestly, this patience game is wearing me down.
2 months and we still cannot get anywhere close to some sort of regulation and numbers maintaining in the 200's.
I worry about the damage that is being done to his organs, the longer this continues.

Max was "starving" this morning. He came to get me in the bedroom. Then, when I did not follow him downstairs right away, he followed me to the bathroom, meowing like there was no tomorrow. He "flew" downstairs, ran to his test chair and waited impatiently until I could get ready, howling to boot.

Fed him 1/2 can FF with 1/8 tsp laxaday and he litteraly inhaled it, gurgling and making so much noise. An hour later, I gave him a little bit more, I don't want him starving for food.
LB action is good and poos are a nice solid,perfect.

Hoping he will start a downward trend soon and get those AMPS & PMPS lower.

All kitties and beans have a great day!
 
Re: 2/8 Max AMPS 355

Many times we lose sight of the whole picture when we are so close to it.
Your frustration is sounding much like my own, so I am going to point to a few things that I hope will help.

While you talk about 2 months and no regulation, you need to look a wee bit closer. By now, you know that none of it will happen over night, but if you look to Max's ss, you will see that he has stopped his upward climb and, as of a week ago, he has been working on the slow downward movement. Now how huge is THAT for an accomplishment with Max!

Only one week at this dose, so maybe he needs a bit more time with this change in direction.

I don't know why I think of cars and gasoline, cuz I don't even know how to drive (lucky for all motorists), but I keep picturing driving forward in a car, then getting better at it. Suddenly, I have to go backwards? You kidding me? Now how awkward is THAT?

It is likely a crappy visual, but you get what I mean; Max likely needs some time to adjust.

We need to take the tiny improvements as they happen. Max will come along at his own speed, so you just be a good bean and do as he directs.
If he wants food, give him food - except when it's not desirable like the hours before shots, but even then, there will always be exceptions.

Look for the other signs of improvement; you know they are there. Watching the p's just as closely as the numbers. The numbers will come as soon as Max adjusts to that lower dose, so just stay positive.
 
Re: 2/8 Max AMPS 355

Gayle and Shadoe said:
I don't know why I think of cars and gasoline, cuz I don't even know how to drive (lucky for all motorists), but I keep picturing driving forward in a car, then getting better at it. Suddenly, I have to go backwards? You kidding me? Now how awkward is THAT?

Thanks for the pep talk Gayle.
I love your car anologies. I read the one about the gas tank and the road tip to Mantiboa.
Now that was good, lol.

I know Max has seen improvement, and the 2 of us are trudging along.
The days will get better!
 
Re: 2/8 Max AMPS 355

Just stopping by to say hello. :-|
Hi.

Ok...I really wanted to say something really perky and positive and helpful and.... :YMSIGH:
:roll: You are doing a great job Randi. How's that?
Guess when we are feeling that things are not going as quickly as we would like them to go, we should be mindful that
at least we are where we are...and not back at the beginning..

You have learned so much and done so much, Randi....
And Max is adjusting. And there is some BG activity. So that is all good, right? :smile:
Yes...that is all good...and this has helped me too...cause there are a lot of us out here who would like to see better
things today but we have to try to keep on doing what we know is the right thing . No one ever said it would be easy or fast.

This is probably one of the most frustrating situations I have ever been in....the wait is hard because we don't know when the end will be. Isn't it great that we are all traveling this road together though? :mrgreen: I feel better now....
We are here and that is comforting to me...hope it is to you too! ((Randi))
 
Re: 2/8 Max AMPS 355

I will add to the pep talk

This is my impression of me trying to get Leo to show some response: "Lantus sucks! It takes forEVER! I hate this, I do not have the patience for Lantus!!!"

But it doesn't suck, and you can see the gentle progress you have made, and that's the whole goal: gentle progress. I can guarantee you would not prefer the alternatives, the instant gratification that only lasts for the hour before your cat reacts in an equal and opposite climb in numbers. Your times of yellow/pink are lessening between the splashes of green and blue. This is true progress. Think about all the things you have seen from Max since diagnosis.. that's what your whole treatment plan was about: making him feel better and saving his life. And that's what you did. The rest is gravy. :) Some days are really gonna suck.. won't lie to you about that. Those are the days you have to look at that spreadsheet and recognize the progress you've made and take pride in what you've done.

I mentioned yesterday to someone that it is soooooo hard when you look at people who were dx the same time you were and they are going OTJ, or are on 1/3 the dose you are, preshotting in the 120 zone and you're like.. here I am, a dismal failure. In the 300s, I'm the worst caregiver ever. Au contraire, mon frere, you are the *best* caregiver ever. Don't hold yourself, your treatment of your cat, or your cat up to these other cases. You've got a tough nut to crack and he's cracking. Great job Randi! Better days are coming your way, and the rewards will be AWESOME. :smile:
 
Re: 2/8 Max AMPS 355

Carolyn and Spot said:
I mentioned yesterday to someone that it is soooooo hard when you look at people who were dx the same time you were and they are going OTJ, or are on 1/3 the dose you are, preshotting in the 120 zone and you're like.. here I am, a dismal failure

You tell it like it is. I gave up on that "dance" a few weeks ago. "Oh now I'm shooting a spec of insulin and my numbers are 42??" Not for me, lol. That's okay. :smile:
I am very happy for everyone here that are so dedicated to their babies and seeing truly wonderful results. ECID and my Max is my Max. My mister!!
My goal is to make sure Max stays healthy and this continued high BG does not start creating other problems. He has had liver issues so I do not know what impact the "panicky liver" and rebound will have on it. Plus I am worried about the "renal threshold" and the effects on his kidneys.
Max will get there when he does. It's just the not knowing if other damage could be done if we do not get him lower,but yes he really has come along way and it is thanks to everyone here.

I am truly grateful for all of the help and support!
 
Re: 2/8 Max AMPS 355

It's unlikely that he will be in this number range long enough to cause damage to his kidneys or his liver. That would come from months of underdosing and you're not doing that. :)
 
Re: 2/8 Max AMPS 355

Just stopping by to wish Max a nice nite of comfy numbers.

come on down, Max; slowly but surely wins.
 
Re: 2/8 Max AMPS 355

and I'm stopping by to brush some :mrgreen: dust in this condo.....

Carolyn: love the pep talk, even I felt inspired! Randi: she's right in so many ways. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 2/8 Max AMPS 355

Ronnie & Luna said:
and I'm stopping by to brush some :mrgreen: dust in this condo.....

Carolyn: love the pep talk, even I felt inspired! Randi: she's right in so many ways. :YMHUG:

Sprinkle away Ronnie, I'll take yellow sprinkles even.
Really flat day, yucky red PMPS and Max did not leave his chair the entire afternoon.
Not a great day. I hope it is the calm before the storm.
 
Re: 2/8 Max AMPS 355~PMPS 408

Randi,
I think Shadoe and Max missed the memo.
You know, the one about numbers lower in the evening?

Come on Max, be a good boy now! Let's see some nice action tonite, stroll through the pinks, and head towards those yellows and blues.
 
Re: 2/8 Max AMPS 355~PMPS 408

I wish I was a good peptalker like Carolyn and Spot!

Max dude.... nothing to see on the 3rd and 4th floors... com'on down.
it hasn't been 72 hours from the last green.... so.... here's some patience dust for your ice cream! Ok... RBC... go away now... enough already!
 
Re: 2/8 Max AMPS 355~PMPS 408

Are You Kidding Me??? You are one devoted, observant,loving, conscientious, amazing, momma bean, who loves her furbaby enough to devote most of her days to keeping him well!!
Numbers are the numbers, but please Look At The Whole Cat!!!!!!!!!
That's what they told me when Moonie wasnt at her best, & even when she was...
Ok, so Max has bounces, and he doesnt have perfect numbers now...But he may sometime soon!
Fd is not predictable, nothing in life is.
You are doing the very best anyone can do for their baby And a great job too!

Ok it's your turn on the pity pot today!! We luvs ya kiddo, dont get down- you are doing great! You needs HUGS!!!!!!
 
Re: 2/8 Max AMPS 355~PMPS 408

You guys are the best.
Slow going for Max and I but we would not be here without you.
Without this site we would have been on that garbage Caninsulin.
Trolling this board at the beginning of Max's d/x convinced me that I wanted Lantus for him and to be here with all of you.
Thank You!!!!
 
Re: 2/8 Max AMPS 355~PMPS 408

my thoughts (which I gained in hindsight, I couldn't see it at all at the time) is that if Lucy had been easier on me, I wouldn't have learned so much and I wouldn't be in a position where I can help other people now. I didn't even really try to get down to business with her for 7 months, and she has suffered no lasting physical damage. Max is doing fine. :smile:
 
Re: 2/8 Max AMPS 355~PMPS 408

Let's hope the next test shows some better number, but I am sure it will.

I have been going with 2, 4, and 6 just to compromise between just 3 and 6 or every hour. And since I don't expect much by the hour, I save a few strips but still get an idea of where Shadoe is headed.

Max, let's see you settle into your new dose with some level numbers.
 
Re: 2/8 Max AMPS 355~PMPS 408

Good plan Gayle.
After the 408 PMPS, I did nnot want to even bother with the +4.
You had more spunk then me.
I'll do a +4 and we shall see if I need the +6.
 
Re: 2/8 Max AMPS 355~PMPS 408

I was going to post something like what Carolyn said. In order to not be redundant, ditto what Carolyn said.

Take a second or two and think about how frustrated you were with the numbers until around the end of January. That first surf of green changed all of that. That was Max and it was what you've been doing for him. How many people were in this condo cheering!

I keep reminding myself of the tortoise and the hare. We both may have tortoises -- and they win races, too.
 
Re: 2/8 Max AMPS 355~PMPS 408

Sienne and Gabby said:
Take a second or two and think about how frustrated you were with the numbers until around the end of January. That first surf of green changed all of that. That was Max and it was what you've been doing for him. How many people were in this condo cheering!

That was the best ever Sienne and you were right there by our side. A 2 page condo for my Max getting green. It truly was wonderful and so appreciated. Rooting for my sweet underdog.

Well.... Mr. Max came down to yellow today. Somewhow I just felt that. Might have to do that +6 and see if I can sneak in a blue for the day.
 
Re: 2/8 Max AMPS 355~PMPS 408~+4 234

awww, randi... i hope you're not feeling down any more. yes, max has been a tough nut to crack, but you're doing an awesome job! look at his ss. start at the top and scroll down slowly. look at the improvement!!! :-D
 
Re: 2/8 Max AMPS 355~PMPS 408~+4 234

Jill & Alex said:
awww, randi... i hope you're not feeling down any more. yes, max has been a tough nut to crack, but you're doing an awesome job! look at his ss. start at the top and scroll down slowly. look at the improvement!!! :-D

I'm good Jill, thanks to everyone here. I just want him healthy. Of course my ultimate goal is OTJ, how can it not be spending all of my free time (okay and work time too, lol) reading and posting on the board but my first priority is making sure he stays healthy and if that means getting him to live in low yellows and blues for a while, I'm good with that too, for now. :smile:
 
Re: 2/8 Max AMPS 355~PMPS 408~+4 234

Gotcha! Now you have to stay up to know that +6 haha_smiley
And you never know ... Mr. Mystery Max may just a keep going down! ;-)

I suppose if he is really going down, you could catch a +5 if you're really tired. I am waiting for the top of the hour to get Shadoe's +6, even if it's just to confirm she's not going lower; I sleep better knowing.
 
Re: 2/8 Max AMPS 355~PMPS 408~+4 234

Look at this!! Yellow!! Good boy Max!!!

So very close to blue!! Hang on Max!! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 2/8 Max AMPS 355~PMPS 408~+4 234

Ronnie & Luna said:
Look at this!! Yellow!! Good boy Max!!!

So very close to blue!! Hang on Max!! :mrgreen:

Hang on Max, lol??? I'm the one staying up to try and catch it. On a work night, no less.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top