2/8 Jupiter AMPS-321, +7.5-186 dosing advice

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jamie & Jupiter

Member Since 2013
previous condo: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/2-3-jupiter-amps-350.132520/


Jupiter has been on this dose for about a week now, and although we are seeing a few blues, hes mostly had high numbers.

I am considering raising his dose tonight because I am worried about how long hes been high for....

I am just not sure how often I can test at night as this has been a big struggle for me.

I am not sure if I should raise his dose yet or give it a little longer.


Sorry havent been posting much, still dealing with a lot of kidney pain. Hope you all have a great day
 
Jamie - you definitely need to raise Jupiter's dose. If he's at a dose that's only giving him blues, I wouldn't hold it any more than 8 cycles. As per the protocol:
Increasing the dose:
  • Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
    • if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
    • when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
With kitties coming back from the falls, you have to be a bit more aggressive at the increases to give them a better chance of returning to remission. As for timing, it's hard to say. Last time when you went up to 1.5 units, it was his second cycle that showed more action and the first one was quiet. That would have me lean to increasing tonight, if Dane can help out. Of course, Jupiter could decide to have his best reaction on the first cycle. It's really hard to predict. I think you just have to go for it.

Many healing vines out to you.:bighug:
 
Not superior knowledge at all Tricia, just my experience. I just find that if I increase in the day, Neko decides not to respond until the night time cycle. Wait, I just increased this morning. :nailbiting:
 
Dane cant help test at night. Hes been having a hard time falling back asleep after tests, then sleeping through his alarm for work. We really cant have that right now.

I am on sleeping meds.... and some nights I just cant wake up which is forcing Dane to stay awake...and we cant afford for him to miss work. If I dont take the sleeping medicine, I get no sleep at all..... which is really miserable right now with the kidney pain.

I will raise his dose tonight and try my best to test when I can.


Its just hard for me.....I want to do what is best for Jupiter.... but at the same time I know its not best for him to keep getting increases if I wont be able to test to keep him and keep him in safe numbers...
 
Good luck with the dosecrease. I hope you can find a good balance for you and Jupiter. Sending prayers for you. :bighug::bighug:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top