2/8 Chloe AMPS 215 +6 188 PMPS 317

Roberta and Chloe

Member Since 2020
@Roberta and Chloe
I see you had the lowest pre-shot BG you’ve seen in awhile. PLEASE be sure to get some tests in today to see where this cycle goes.
What day did I have the lowest preshot I've had in awhile? The last time I had low preshots was January 15th.
I just took a look at Chloe's spreadsheet.

With cats using Lantus, you do not adjust doses back-to-back. Every time you change a dose, you need to hold the dose for 3 days if you are following TR. Since you are using SLGS as your dosing method, you need to hold the dose for a week.

Frankly, I'm unable to figure out your dosing strategy. At times, your "instincts" tell you to reduce the dose. Now, it appears that you are holding the dose despite Chloe earning a dose reduction. Could you provide some insight into what is guiding your dosing? We'd love to offer help if you'd like input but I wouldn't have a clue what to recommend.
I don't know what you're looking at, but when I change the dose, I hold it for 7 days. On January 25th, she had a hypo and went down to 36 in the evening, so I reduced the dose to .25 the next morning. I kept it at .25 for 7 days, but she was getting high numbers, so I went back to .5. I'm following all the directions you and others are giving me. Are you sure you're looking at the right spreadsheet? I will reduce her dose if she goes below 90, and especially when she was at 36. And I hold it for 7 days. So what are you talking about?
 
Last edited:
What day did I have the lowest preshot I've had in awhile? The last time I had low preshots was January 15th.
February 6, when the pre-shot was 126. You haven’t seen one that low since January 15.

The lower the numbers, the more important it is to get additional tests, at least to my thinking. That lets one you see where the cycle is going, catch any lows, intervene if necessary, and help with dosing decisions (Lantus dosing is based on nadirs /low points in the cycle, not the high points).

I know you’re trying. Hang in there. And I hope Chloe is feeling better.
 
February 6, when the pre-shot was 126. You haven’t seen one that low since January 15.

The lower the numbers, the more important it is to get additional tests, at least to my thinking. That lets one you see where the cycle is going, catch any lows, intervene if necessary, and help with dosing decisions (Lantus dosing is based on nadirs /low points in the cycle, not the high points).

I know you’re trying. Hang in there. And I hope Chloe is feeling better.
She was coming off a bounce from the evening before. I should have gone back to .25 on 2/6 AM, but I was told to hold the dose for 7 days. Also, 126 is a good number. I don't remember why I didn't get a midday test, but I was probably busy that day. Now, I have to figure out why she got so sick last night. I'm also trying to figure out why she's losing weight.
 
Someone suggested using the light in the refrigerator and I've been doing that.

That was me :)

She was coming off a bounce from the evening before. I should have gone back to .25 on 2/6 AM, but I was told to hold the dose for 7 days.
Actually, since you got 50s on pm cycle of February 3rd, you should have immediately reduced her dose on AM cycle of February 4th, which I asked you to do, but you chose not to.

https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/2-4-chloe-amps-430-bouncing.242528/

You do hold a dose per SLGS for 7 days unless the kitty goes under 90. If the kitty goes under 90 you take an immediate reduction.

Does this help clarify?
 
Last edited:
That was me :)


Actually, since you got 50s on pm cycle of February 3rd, you should have immediately reduced her dose on AM cycle of February 4th, which I asked you to do, but you chose not to.

https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/2-4-chloe-amps-430-bouncing.242528/yes, thank you

You do hold a dose per SLGS for 7 days unless the kitty goes under 90. If the kitty goes under 90 you take an immediate reduction.

Does this help clarify?
Yes, thank you. And thanks for the refridgerator tip, too. I'm not trying to be contrary, I just don't look at the board in time. I'll @ you from now on before I shoot.
 
If you are determined not to reduce back to 0.25u, then I suggest you consider going to halfway between 0.25u and 0.5u and sticking with that for 7 days. It might just make all the difference.
I like this idea. What do you think about an am dose slightly higher than a pm dose?
 
Roberta, I'm sorry, that's not what I intended. You aren't being contrary, you are trying to find some solutions to help Chloe, which I totally respect :bighug:. I'm trying to work within the SLGS guidelines and help when I can, but I don't want you to feel like you have to wait and ask for help for every move you make. So let's talk about today. She came down mid cycle (good job getting that test). Recent vomiting is concerning, I'm glad you are noting it. Have you been able to test for ketones recently?​
 
I like this idea. What do you think about an am dose slightly higher than a pm dose?
I’m not a fan of varying doses between AM and PM. Lantus really does like consistency. I’d pick a dose you can give both AM and PM and then make sure you get some tests throughout the cycle to see how the dose is working. Remember, it sometimes takes several cycles to see how a dose is going to settle in so don’t be tempted to increase dose before the 7 days have passed.

Also, as @Christie & Maverick noted in your other post, you hold off on increases for 7 days with SLGS but you take dose reductions immediately if Chloe drops below 90 anywhere in the cycle.
 
Roberta

I’ve started this new condo for Chloe. You have a few condos from several days which have posts over several days so I’ve gotten all posts for today and merged here.

Please start a new one every day. Please read the posting guidelines. Thank you.
 
Last edited:
Back
Top