2/8/10 Bert PMPS 380 +1 420 +3 402 + 11 321

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 2/8/10 Bert AMPS 318+ 4 1/2 344

Hi Kathy and Bert

not sure if u have visited other condo's, but if u do, u will see most do what we call a WCR (whole cat report) which is basically "how is Bert doing today?"

we would love to hear how he is on a daily basis, things like playing, preening, purring, pooping :lol: what' s the other P? lol! Polite? OMG I forgot!!
Anyway, these are called the 5 P's in your whole cat report (WCR)

As posted by Jill in the "Cleaning up LL" stickie thread:
do not forget whole cat report. your cat is more than just a BG number, just like feline diabetes is more than just the numbers. whole cat, is as important as dose on what numbers are looking like. let us know your cat, for example when lisa posted muffin isn't eating much, we know immediately that muffin is really sick because from her posts we know that muffin is one good eater

By the way, did you shoot this morning? maybe just haven't updated ss...and good job getting a test in in last nite's cycle!

So what is Bert kitty up to today? Hope to hear from you soon! cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 2/8/10 Bert AMPS 318+ 4 1/2 344 +11 322

I have been keeping up my SS so I hope you all can see it.
Bert was in the 300 all day.
Do you think I should up his insulin tonight?

I am going to the vet tomorrow with our new puppy, so I was going to ask about Bert too.

I new knew about the whole cat report.
I will try to do that :)
 
BUMP

Hi Kathy

going to bump u up for EYES on your question,,,
while we wait, could u add "DOSE Q" to ur first post subject line right after the +11/322

u have about just under an hour till PMPS time yes?
 
Re: 2/8/10 Bert AMPS 318+ 4 1/2 344 +11 322*Dose Q*

BUMP
 
Re: 2/8/10 Bert AMPS 318+ 4 1/2 344 +11 322*Dose Q*

hey Kathy


I hope u wont be too late, will u be able to grab a couple of checks in tonight?

if we don't hear back, it might be best to stick to the same and see how the evening goes...do u have a PMPS number yet?
 
Re: 2/8/10 Bert AMPS 318+ 4 1/2 344 +11 322*Dose Q*

Hi Kathy,

You did a great job of getting spot checks this weekend, thank you!

IMHO, you have room for a dose increase to 1.25 units starting tonight.
 
Re: 2/8/10 Bert AMPS 318+ 4 1/2 344 +11 322*Dose Q*

Hello and welcome... because I don't think I've said hello before.

hmmmm.... pink to bloo and no yellow?
What kind of elevator does this cat take?

Like Ronnie asked, did you shoot this AM? Your SS is blank on the matter....

My advice..... whatever Libby says :mrgreen:
 
Re: 2/8/10 Bert AMPS 318+ 4 1/2 344 +11 322*Dose Q*

Not sure why the info did not take.
I shot 1 unit this morning.

I just talked to the vet and he said to shoot 1.5 units which I did :shock:
I was a bit nervous as he gave Bert 4 units when he was in the office.

I hope I did not give him too much.
I am going to sleep downstairs with him tonight.

I wonder if getting the puppy has caused his BG to not do so well.
 
Re: 2/8/10 Bert AMPS 318+ 4 1/2 344 +11 322*Dose Q*

Helene & Tizon said:
Hello and welcome... because I don't think I've said hello before.

hmmmm.... pink to bloo and no yellow?
What kind of elevator does this cat take?

Like Ronnie asked, did you shoot this AM? Your SS is blank on the matter....

My advice..... whatever Libby says :mrgreen:


I think the blue to pink was a faulty reading.
I had to do 2 poke and when I do that I do not think I get a accurate reading.
My DH proved that to me last night with having to poke twice and he got a really low number, so I had him retest and it came back with a reading I would expect from Bert.
 
Re: 2/8/10 Bert AMPS 318+ 4 1/2 344 +11 322 PMPS 380

Kathy I'm sorry we didn't get to u in time ...please do keep an eye on Bert tonight, test please ok?
 
Re: 2/8/10 Bert AMPS 318+ 4 1/2 344 +11 322 PMPS 380

"I just talked to the vet and he said to shoot 1.5 units which I did "

Vets don't think that people can measure tiny little wee doses... but WE CAN and they work best. Using the Tilly protocol, cats typically go up by 0.25U.

Please get a +1 tonight.

Also.... a question that I would like to ask, but maybe you've been asked that already... do you only feed low carb (LC) wet food? anything else?

Do you have in your house a couple of cans of high carbs (HC) like ... almost anything with gravy?
 
Re: 2/8/10 Bert AMPS 318+ 4 1/2 344 +11 322 PMPS 380

How often do you think I should?

I am going to set an alarm.
 
Re: 2/8/10 Bert AMPS 318+ 4 1/2 344 +11 322 PMPS 380

Kathy, take a deep breath,...I just saw ur SS comments, now forget that thought ok?

Listen ok? and please do check in to update tonight, no panicky worrying ok?

You have test strips, LC, MC HC,
NOT saying u will need it, but we want to make sure u have this, you should have it anyways.

are u breathing? it's gonna be ok. :YMHUG:

grab a +1, POST ur updates here and in ur SS (hit SAVE in ur SS - that will register the updates),

then we will go from there.
 
Re: 2/8/10 Bert AMPS 318+ 4 1/2 344 +11 322 PMPS 380

You should definitely plan on getting a +1 and a +2. Please post your results as you get them. We'll help to give you some guidance as you get tests to let you know if more are needed. It's hard/impossible to predict what may happen. It could be nothing because Bert's shed has to fill at this dose or it could be a busy night of testing or it could be somewhere in between.

Whatever happens, it's always good to be prepared -- extra strips and a stockpile of HC food to steer numbers if they drop lower than expected.
 
Re: 2/8/10 Bert AMPS 318+ 4 1/2 344 +11 322 PMPS 380

I have everything for my Hypo toolbox...I just never want to use it!!

I am sorry I just am feeling very discouraged right now.
I feel like I am torturing this cat with all the poke and his BG # are really not getting any better. :cry:
I just feel like I am failing him.

I am sure my sadness is due to exhaustion and PMS :lol:
 
Re: 2/8/10 Bert AMPS 318+ 4 1/2 344 +11 322 PMPS 380

hey at least u can laugh a little huh? :YMHUG: it'll be ok Kathy - lots of people here to guide u....ur not failure, trust me!
some times these kitties like to take their sweet time, it's in their nature! We're here for u ok?
Believe me? U better believe me!!

just keep us posted ok? or u gonna worry me and there goes my blood pressure ohmygod_smile
and give Bert some tummy rubs from me! cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 2/8/10 Bert AMPS 318+ 4 1/2 344 +11 322 PMPS 380

Kathy said:
I have everything for my Hypo toolbox...I just never want to use it!!

You can't look at it this way.... it's more like a "superbean" kit..... i didn't like the name either... it scared me! Gravy is your friend my dear.... don't be affraid of the gravy!
It's there if you need it.... better ready at home then on a shelf at the store, that's all.

With gravy and strips, you can face just about anything!

As for the bean drama, I think I was once awarded the best dramaqueen award, so no worries!
 
Re: 2/8/10 Bert PMPS 380 +1 420

+1 420

I should test in an hour...right?
 
Re: 2/8/10 Bert PMPS 380 +1 420

Kathy, if it helps at all, when I was looking at your spreadsheet before I posted earlier, I thought that if this was MY cat, I would have increased to 1.5. HOWEVER that is because I have more experience and I am a testaholic and I know how to deal with low numbers if they come. I would never have suggested that to anyone else because it is a more aggressive approach than what we follow here, but it is probably what I would have done if Bert was living here. His numbers are mostly pink, with some yellow and blue scattered about. I'm sure he'll be just fine, but it's good to keep an eye on things just to be sure. Ok? Even if the numbers do go down, it's easy to control them and we'll help you.
 
Re: 2/8/10 Bert PMPS 380 +1 420

He ate a can of FF...he was still "starving" after a 1/2 can.
He is acting just fine.
Sleeping next to me on the bed purring.

So I will test at +3 and then how often through the night?
I am going to set my alarm.
 
Re: 2/8/10 Bert PMPS 380 +1 420

I don't know if you saw Gabby's condo yesterday. She'd made some excellent progress. I was SO hopeful. Then, not just stinkus pinkus -- red. 3 red pre-shots in a row. Ack! And puddingpoo. I'm going to all sorts of bad places -- Gabby's got an infection - pancreatitis, inflammatory bowel, ear infection, or who knows what. I screwed up and was using Lantus that was past the 28-day point and apparently, Gabby is pretty sensitive to anything that may even come close to toasty insulin. So her numbers were my fault. I failed her. So, do you get the feeling for how my brain was working? I went from a kitty who was having an off day to a catastrophe. Probably just like you, I take every millimeter that Gabby's numbers move personally. I keep having to remind myself that I'm not leading this dance -- my kitty is -- and there are days when she is graceful and there are days when she falls over all four of her paws.

You're doing fine, great in fact. We all second guess ourselves. It's also why there are WCRs (Whole Cat Reports) - because Bert is more than his numbers.
 
Re: 2/8/10 Bert PMPS 380 +1 420 +3 402

+3 402

He ate a can of FF at the time of shoot.
He has nibbled on some food that is left out.
He is acting fine :)

Should I test at +5?
 
Re: 2/8/10 Bert PMPS 380 +1 420 +3 402

Hi again!

k, while we wait,,,

when did Bert eat last?

Oh by the way, as u update, u can also add these little details, like "+3 test was this #, and he is eating 1/2 can of food"
know what I mean?

so anyway, when was the last time he ate?
I'm leaning towards a +5 test...but I'd like others to take a look at what's going on, ok?
 
Re: 2/8/10 Bert PMPS 380 +1 420 +3 402

(((kathy)))
please don't be worried. bert's pretty high at +3. i wouldn't be worried. if it makes you feel better, get a sleep test at +5 or +6. the rate of the drop will give you an idea if further testing is necessary. post if you have any questions...
 
Re: 2/8/10 Bert PMPS 380 +1 420 +3 402

So at +11 he is 321.

I assume I should shoot the same dose(1.5) as last night should I go with 1.25?
I know Lantus is not the kind of insulin that likes to be increase/decrease a lot.

Bert and I slept well last night :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top