2/7 - Xander | AMPS 294

Brianna & Xander

Member Since 2024
Yesterday's thread

Long thread incoming, sorry! Feel free not to read if it's too much, I just wanted to give an update.

Last night was... a very bad night. We tried for an hour to get a PMPS. Three failed strips, a billion pokes and many tears later, we ended up having to skip the dose. (Don't worry, next time we won't try for that long. It was too traumatizing for both of us.)

I've read everything I can get my "hands" on and watched all the videos 100 times. I understand that things tend to get easier but genuinely, when I say my cat isn't "normal," I mean it. He was feral as a kitten and as a result he's never been like any other cats I know. So I don't think it's necessarily true that he'll get used to it just like every other cat does. There are plenty of things he's never been okay with in the entire 11 years I've had him. I'm hoping we don't have to try very often and that the Libre will just work out 99% of the time.

On that note, it seems that it didn't fail on its own. I noticed later in the day that he had bitten it and there was a puncture in the casing. :facepalm: He never touched the first one at all and it lasted all 14 days. It was still working when we took it off to replace it! But as mentioned yesterday, it seems like the tech who applied this one did a crappy job and it seemed to have been bothering him since we brought him home that day.

We ordered supplies to apply our own that will be arriving today. Hopefully we'll get the new one on him tonight. We'll have to try putting it in a slightly different spot where he can get to it less. (Both have been behind his elbow, but this one seemed slightly further back toward his rear end, so I think it was easier to access.) He absolutely does not tolerate any kind of clothes/wraps/cones/harnesses. We put a cone and a sweater on him for the first one, and he literally managed to get out of both of those while confined in a tiny carrier before we even got home from the vet. So unfortunately those are not even remotely an option.

Anyway. This morning my partner managed to get blood (they're better at holding him down than me) but it definitely upset Xander a lot. Normally he springs back from unpleasant things right away, with me at least. He never sees me as the bad guy. Seems like that changed this morning though, because he wouldn't even come near me for a while.

We need the Libre to work.

I slept a whole hour last night (stress combined with having a wisdom tooth removed this week that's still been surprisingly painful 4 days in) so I'm barely conscious today, but there's our update.

Hope everyone else is having a much better time than we are. lol :(
 
Aww I’m sorry you’re going through this Brianna. The Libre can be a great tool though so you have that as a positive! Try not to sweat the bad guy thing, what you’re doing is helping him.

PS - have you tried a paw pad? It’s less ideal than the ear, but we had luck when we started with one CG holding and the other going for the paw.
 
Aww I’m sorry you’re going through this Brianna. The Libre can be a great tool though so you have that as a positive! Try not to sweat the bad guy thing, what you’re doing is helping him.

PS - have you tried a paw pad? It’s less ideal than the ear, but we had luck when we started with one CG holding and the other going for the paw.

Thank you so much, Tim. :( It's been really hard.

The Libre is incredible so I'm really hoping we can keep going with it. Gotta find a way to keep him from ripping them off!

Aside from the emotional impact of the "being the bad guy" thing, I think it's also just scary because I don't want to make him not trust me to the point where the injections that have finally become so easy aren't possible anymore either. It took so much time and effort and tears to get to the point where the injections are the no big deal part of the process and I don't want to mess that up by making him not want to come near me anymore.

I haven't tried paw pad because I figured that'd be even harder, but it's definitely something to keep in mind to try if the Libre and the ears don't work out.
 
Back
Top