2/7: Pablo's AMPS 415, +3 325, Increased this pm

Status
Not open for further replies.

Holly and Pablo

Member Since 2009
(No condo yesterday.)

WCR: Much thirstier and hungrier for the last couple weeks but nothing acutely new or unusual. I'm guessing it's related to his numbers being so high. *sigh* Other than that, he's affectionate and adorable as always.

I increased to 4.25u on 1/31 after a long time on 4u with no results. All I got was ugly pinks and yellows. So taking Libby's advice (reminder?) to increase doses more closely to how the protocol recommends, I increased to 4.5 units on 2/4 after 8 cycles. If anything, the numbers are WORSE now! I've see red four times in four days. This morning's cycle is the 6th on this dose. Can I increase to 4.75u tonight?

On a positive note, I finally suckered my sister into testing Pablo at +5/+6 during the day since I can't be home. It's only costing me $2 (and a couple of strips because she still hasn't quite figured out how to coordinate the meter, the lancing device, and the strip fast enough to get blood in the right place at the right time! :lol: ) I had to buy 26 gauge lancets and just let her free-hand the poke because otherwise she never gets any blood! When I used the 26g lancet to demonstrate for her, I thought Pablo might bleed to death from the giant hole that thing made! Though she insists the lancing device doesn't work, I continue using it without issue. :roll:

So any clue why the heck the numbers are getting worse, not better? I saw blues and greens on 3 units...why none on 4.5?! I can't imagine he has an infection or pain anywhere. His teeth are perfect now, he was on antibiotics for a month and a half, and he still acts normal. :?:

*Edited to add that he was negative for ketones yesterday.
 
Re: 2/7: Pablo's AMPS 415, +3 325, +6 357

So his +6 is almost 30 points higher than his +3. Huh? He doesn't have any access to food or treats. Even if that's just a normal variance, why the heck is his +6 not lower than his +3.

Flat cycle = not enough insulin? According to the protocol (and that his +6s have been 300-350), I can actually increase by 0.25-0.5 tonight, right? Or is increasing by 0.5 never recommended because of the chance we might skip that seemingly-unattainable "perfect dose?"
 
Re: 2/7: Pablo's AMPS 415, +3 325, Increase?

According to protocol yes you could increase by .5u, but equally nadir isn't always over 300. It's essentially your call.

I still see a lot of flat cycles Holly. Have you had any feedback from Jojo recently?
I know I muted this last week and did pm a couple of people to ask them to look at your numbers, unfortunately to my knowledge they haven't. The only thing I can suggest, and I hope it's more a case of crossing it off the list-how about posting in the high dose group and just asking their opinion?
I know this must be frustrating for you, I'm afraid I can't think what else to suggest.
I hope I'm wrong in even suggesting high dose and it's a case of not having made that breakthrough dose yet.

Glad to hear he's affectionate :mrgreen:
 
Re: 2/7: Pablo's AMPS 415, +3 325, Increase?

kate and lucky said:
Have you had any feedback from Jojo recently?
I know I muted this last week and did pm a couple of people to ask them to look at your numbers, unfortunately to my knowledge they haven't.

Haven't heard from anyone, except the usual Ronnie and Libby. :-D Oh, and a big thanks to the two of them for keeping an eye out for me and Pablo. We've gotten a lot of great help from a lot of people here. I'll go poke around on the high-dose board, but I thought since he saw greens on lower doses he probably didn't qualify.

And yes, it is frustrating because we've been at this for so long. And I know that every day is more damage to his body that I can't reverse.
 
Re: 2/7: Pablo's AMPS 415, +3 325, Increase?

Holly your doing everything you can, hold onto that thought :YMHUG:

Just to say, with high dose kitties they can suddenly have a green phase.I'm just wanting you to discount something.
If that's out maybe a case of looking at using TOR-Don't know, that would require pm's to Jojo for discussion.
 
Re: 2/7: Pablo's AMPS 415, +3 325, Increase?

Holly and Pablo said:
So any clue why the heck the numbers are getting worse, not better? I saw blues and greens on 3 units...why none on 4.5?!

Sometimes when they've been sitting in high numbers for a while, they build up a nice case of glucose toxicity. The way to bust through that is more insulin - then what usually happens is that he'll hit a breakthrough and go through a series of dose reductions. Sometimes their insulin needs change for no apparent reason too. Any changes you can think of in diet, stress levels, environment?

I would suggest increasing tonight. I would probably stay with the 0.25 increase because Pablo has had a lot of yellow, but 0.50 would also be within the protocol if you want to go that way and monitor aggressively.
 
Re: 2/7: Pablo's AMPS 415, +3 325, Increase?

Maybe you are already past the perfect dose?
You went straight up to 2 from 1. And according to protocol one increases with 0.25 and not with 1.

I couldn't think of anything else. Sorry. :roll:
 
Re: 2/7: Pablo's AMPS 415, +3 325, Increase?

Libby: No environmental changes I can think of. Same food as usual; no new creatures in the house, human or animal; no stress except my sister stabbing him five times to get a sample once a day. Nothing is different from my perspective, but we all know that cats are excellent at hiding things...I hope that's not it! I'll stick to increasing by 0.25 tonight since I won't be able to strictly monitor during the weekdays.

Spacey and Ella: :oops: I followed the usual advice from my vet on increasing and actually didn't realize at that point that it was possible to increase by 0.25. But I don't think we're experiencing rebound in response to too-low numbers because he's never super low then spiking high numbers. They're just always high.

Do anyone else thinking starting over would be a good idea? I've been increasing by 0.25 for two months now, so I haven't done anymore crazy jumps like at the beginning.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top