2/7 DAVIDSON +2 106 +4 94 +7 115 +10 157 PMPS 149

Status
Not open for further replies.

Shawna & Davidson (GA)

Member Since 2014
Starting the day nicely but on the SS I am not sure why the GREEN shows up when it's 100 and I tried to change the color to BLUE but it won't let me

AMPS 100 - Lowest yet!!

And ideas as what went wrong?

Thanks

Shawna
 
Re: 2/7 DAVIDSON AMPS 100

Good Morning ~O) ~O) :cool:

Beautiful PS this morning!
(When I saw the green it fooled me)

There must be some formatting built into the template that is preventing you from changing the color - I wonder if it would change to blue if you entered 101?
 
Re: 2/7 DAVIDSON AMPS 100

Thanks Sandy

ACTUAL AMPS is 100, but the system shows it as a GREEN, when actually it is BLUE so I entered 101 so that the color was correct and more visual for everyone to see.

Rgds and looks like Davidson is surfing again..........wow, he could just go outside here (if he was an outdoor cat) and surf in the deep snow drifts I woke up to AGAIN :o
 
Re: 2/7 DAVIDSON AMPS 100

Lovely start this morning. :mrgreen: :cool: That 100=blue thing is an anomaly with the World version of the SS. It does the same thing at 11.2 (200). So we get to claim 5.6(100) as green. :lol: Under the Format menu of the Google spreadsheet, there is a Conditional Formating option. If you bring that up, you can see that it lists 5.6 as green. Unfortunately, it is correct on the US tab.
 
Re: 2/7 DAVIDSON AMPS 100 +2 106 +4 94

HI

I know when we speak about reducing the dose and we reach BG's under 100 we are to go for 10 cycles...........I'm past that and the AMPM was Cycle 12 so do I reduce the dose yet? We have not hit '50' yet but I believe according to the Protocol I can reduce the dose now..........I did ask this previously and not sure if I got a reply...........

Any advise on this?

Thanks

Shawna
 
Re: 2/7 DAVIDSON REDUCTION ??? AMPS 100 +2 106 +4 94

Reducing the dose:
If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. See additional notes in the next paragraph about drops into the 20s and 30s. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.

According to the protocol, and to earn a dose reduction, Davidson should show signs of doing 1 of the 2 above things (I'm not including dropping below 40 since he's newly diagnosed). Either show a # below 50, or maintain #s between 50-120 for 7 days. Right now, he's not showing you anything of that nature that I can see. Yet.

Hope that helps.
 
Re: 2/7 DAVIDSON REDUCTION ??? AMPS 100 +2 106 +4 94

The protocol says:
Reducing the dose:

If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. See additional notes in the next paragraph about drops into the 20s and 30s. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.
The highlighted part means that the entire cycle should be in normal range for 7 days or 14 cycles. If you start counting on the evening of the 5th, Davidson has been mostly under 120. We'll ignore that 136 he started in yesterday as it's close enough. The morning of the 5th he had some 150's so that cycle wouldn't be counted. So that makes the current cycle the 4th cycle where the entire cycle is in mostly normal numbers. As an example, take a look at Cain's SS. The last several deductions were earned by doing 7 days in normal numbers.
 
Re: 2/7 DAVIDSON REDUCTION ??? AMPS 100 +2 106 +4 94

Thanks......not sure who posted something to me regarding the 10 cycles............but I saw that............also, if we are looking at the 7 day schedule and for education sake, if Davidson has some numbers above the 120 for a few times over the 7 days does that mean no reduction? In other words do the numbers ALL have to be under the 120 to earn a reduction? Just wanting to learn since Davidson is close and on his way and I like to know things in advance.

Rgds

Shawna
 
Re: 2/7 DAVIDSON REDUCTION ??? AMPS 100 +2 106 +4 94

The idea is that the entire cycle for 14 cycles in a row should be in normal numbers. If there is the odd number here or there that is a bit over, like the 136 yesterday AM, that's OK. Any cycle with yellow or high blues would not count.
 
Re: 2/7 DAVIDSON REDUCTION ??? AMPS 100 +2 106 +4 94

Great. Thanks. If Davidson continues for a few more days as he has then look like he may fall into that category and get a reduction
 
Re: 2/7 DAVIDSON REDUCTION ??? AMPS 100 +2 106 +4 94

once again, shadow and I are a good example .... she rarely earned her reductions by going low.
we just surfed good numbers for the right number of cycles and earned our reductions the slow way. :mrgreen:
all them good numbers are healing time..... :mrgreen:
 
Re: 2/7 DAVIDSON REDUCTION ??? AMPS 100 +2 106 +4 94

Hi. This is my first time visiting you. I was pointed in your direction as to what I want to see with my Max. My vet didn't follow this when he was first diagnosed November 14th probably because I wasn't testing at home. We stopped insulin for a month and had to return. I hope the slide continues and soon this becomes a thing of the past.

Elise
 
Re: 2/7 DAVIDSON REDUCTION ??? AMPS 100 +2 106 +4 94

For what it's worth, I would hold a dose for a long period of time... a month at least (and even longer in the past) before Blackie would even decide to show me anything that would indicate that she wanted a reduction. Right now, I'm holding her at 2.25u, and she's been on this dose since PMPS 01/13/14. The only thing that I'm seeing from her at this time is lower and better #s. I'm guessing that eventually she'll have #s in the healing range for about 7 days before I make a dosing decision. Then again, she may surprise me yet. I don't know. All I know is that I'm following the protocol for the most part, but making my own decisions when it comes to holding doses.

Just when you "think" you've got it figured out, your kitty gives you surprises. :lol:
 
Re: 2/7 DAVIDSON +2 106 +4 94 +7 115 +10 157

Hi Elise.........

You can't always go by what a Vet says, I found this site and then after my first visit to the Vet got rid of him and didn't have a vet for almost 2 weeks and you need to use due diligence and self educate The Vet did everything opposite of what I read on here in my first day and then found a great Vet who is fully supportive of what I want to do for MY cat, as well he has not questioned anything I told him I received from here.

I have great results with Davidson, but it's his body who is controlling how things go.........I'm just the messenger and record keeper. It's overwhelming to say the least but read lots here and post lots of questions and next thing you know you will understand it all. I'm lucky the Lantus is working with Davidson and hope within a reasonable amount of time he can get OFJ.......

As you have read - it's your cat and you can do what you please but the PEOPLE here are experienced and all want your cat to get better.

it starts with record keeping and I advise you to start a journal at home to keep everything about your cat, more so then the SS you update here. There is no such thing as too much record keeping.

Shawna
 
Re: 2/7 DAVIDSON +2 106 +4 94 +7 115 +10 157

I also keep log books of things that were done (ie. dose changes, food changes, etc.). I'm working book #5, I think. :lol: I also keep her spread sheet up to date, too. You're right, though, you can never have too much record keeping.
 
Re: 2/7 DAVIDSON +2 106 +4 94 +7 115 +10 157

I have books as well since my other cat got sick 4 years ago and Max followed with pancreatitis. I also have folders on my computer and a carton of paperwork in my closet. I guess we all wouldn't be here if we weren't that involved, LOL.

Elise
 
This is one time I hope I don't catch up!!

UPDATE: PMPS 149

Spent the day in the BLUE zone with only one green..............tomorrow is another day..........although this day is not quite finished.

Shawna
 
i'd encourage you to not be in a hurry to reduce the dose. today's cycle would start the count over. i think it might be kinda discouraging to be focused on that. it is very common (ie, nearly every cat that i know of) for the cat to go up and down in dose many times before things clicking and the cat beginning to go down the dosing scale.

davidson's got a good thing going and just being able to hold good numbers at a particular dose is wonderful. if his dose gets reduced too soon it can take some time to get things back on track again.
 
I did not say I was reducing the dose. I merely asking questions and getting opinions. Ultimately the decision will be mine which would be based on my Vet and myself while taking in all the factors presented.

FYI - I can see how well Davidson is doing on the current dose since I am the one testing and recording the information and am fully aware of the consistency of the tests. As a result at THIS point in time there is no reason to change anything and I don't need my vet or the board to make me aware of that. I can see this for myself and remember this is to be used as a guideline since ECiD and as they say "if it ain't broke - don't fix".

In other words when you see the pattern Davidson is in there would not be any reason to make changes regardless what anyone suggests.

Trust you agree
 
Not a problem, no insults...........it's a collective decision, nonetheless our objective is all the same - get OTJ!!! Or at least stabilize our kitties so they are happy.

Davidson is happy, he gets treats and \i get to prick his ear.........

+3 88

time for a new condo, maybe a nice one with a penthouse so I can see all the other surfers out there.............LOL.
 
Am I silly or what??? I am color coding my journal and highlighted florescent green and it looked like yellow.........You are right Sandy should read one GREEN.........rest blues.

I'll fix it.

Thanks for letting me know.
Shawna
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top