2/6 Sami PMPS 51 +13 61 - .5 Units

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tina & Sammy

Member Since 2010
Yesterday's Condo

Sami did quite well last night. I was a little nervous when I was heading to bed at +4 and she was only 59, so I decided to give her another MM and then headed of to bed. I set the alarm for +6 so I could get another test, and she was at a comfortable 68. I did have another MM at this point mostly because I am still trying to wean the cats of the midnight snacks. Then I set the alarm again for +10, but for some reason I woke up at +9.5 so I went ahead and did then test then.

This morning I was very happy when the alarm woke me up, not two hungry kitties.

Sami did her double dipping thing this morning as was at 58 for AMPS. I gave a MM and then her 1.0 unit shot. I am wondering if she is going to earn another decrease today because after she surfed yesterday on her shed and then we shot last night. I am sure most of that insulin went into the shed and then the reminder kept her surfing the 50's and 60's all night. I will be monitoring her closely this morning to make sure she doesn't drop too low. I will probably get a reading in just a few minutes when give her +.5 MM and then again at her +1 MM.

Hope everyone has a great day. I will be spending they day knitting with some friends, as well as my fur family. Happy Saturday!
 
Re: 2/6 Sami AMPS 58

Very nice Tina! Sami is coming along nicely on those mm! Now, let's hope she will surf the day away!

Enjoy your knitting circle...sounds like a good thing to do on a Saturday.
 
Re: 2/6 Sami AMPS 58; +1.5 51

Sami is doing great so far. At +1.5 she was already down to 51. If she falls below 50 again does she earn another decrease even though she just got one yesterday and we even skipped a dose?

How does that work exactly. I delayed her last two MM just to see how things go today. I want to have those as back up if I need to feed a low.
 
Re: 2/6 Sami AMPS 58

Tina that happened with my Webber the other day. He has a dosecrease and the next cycle that night he dropped low again but Libby explained to me that is could be a little carry-over from the shed and should not last more that a cycle.
 
Re: 2/6 Sami AMPS 58

paige said:
Tina that happened with my Webber the other day. He has a dosecrease and the next cycle that night he dropped low again but Libby explained to me that is could be a little carry-over from the shed and should not last more that a cycle.

I was just looking at Webber's SS and I saw that. The only difference with Sami is that we totally skipped yesterday morning’s shot, and she still stayed below 100 all day.

I don't understand completely how the shed fills and depletes when shots are skipped, but I wouldn't have expected Sami to drop as much as she did last night after her shed was emptied during the day.
 
Re: 2/6 Sami AMPS 58; + 2 49

I just took Sami's +2 and she was 49. So she dropped 2 points in 30 minutes. Should I go ahead and feed the low, or wait until she drops a little bit more. She is sleeping right not and not showing any signs of being too low. Yesterday when she was 43 she was acting fine except being very hungry, but that was before breakfast so I didn't think that was odd.
 
Re: 2/6 Sami AMPS 58; + 2 49

yes feed under 40, a little MC and HC mix would be ok,,retest in 15

EDIT feed the 40's
 
Re: 2/6 Sami AMPS 58; + 2 49

I would check her again in 15 to see what the BG is then. 49 is still safe but I have been told you want to feed the 40's. If she is still dropping in 15 min I would give her a little LC.
 
Re: 2/6 Sami AMPS 58; + 2 49

Ronnie & Luna said:
yes feed under 40, a little MC and HC mix would be ok,,retest in 15

Ronnie, did you mean to say under 50 or should I wait until she is under 40??????
 
Re: 2/6 Sami AMPS 58; + 2 49

Another roller coaster day potentially gearing up here. :mrgreen:

She's dropped some more, give her a couple tsps HC here, see if you can set her on a surf. Your still a good 3 hours from nadir and already in low numbers.

My view, regardless of when, you dosecrease. To me this is not a case of carryover, it's a kitty whose pancrease is doing a damn fine job of waking up. You can't be testing every 30 mins for the next 24hrs!

If you give her the HC you can wait 20-30mins to test again. Anything under 40 and you HC big time before at least +4.5 in my view. More gravy than actual meat if that makes sense.
 
Re: 2/6 Sami AMPS 58; + 2.5 45

Okay, she was 45 at 2.5. I decided to go ahead and give her some HC because she is only at +2.5, and still has 4-6 hours to reach her nadir, and she just doesn't seem to like the MC food that I have. I gave her about a teaspoon of the HC wet, and then a few morsels of the dry food she was eating before the conversion to wet, which was also high in carbs. The reason I decided to give a little bit of dry was because as I understand it, it absorbs into the system more slowly, so hopefully the wet HC will bring her back into the 50's and the tiny bit of dry will keep her there until +6-+8. We will see how that works.
 
Re: 2/6 Sami AMPS 58; + 2.5 45

kate and lucky said:
If you give her the HC you can wait 20-30mins to test again. Anything under 40 and you HC big time before at least +4.5 in my view. More gravy than actual meat if that makes sense.

Hi Kate, I don't know if it is the HC food I got, but there doesn't seem to be much gravy on it. When I have given it to her in the past it still brings her up nicely, but I haven't been able to take the gravy off the food and put it on LC food. I will probably go going out later today to get some different HC, but since she seems to like this for I am afraid to get something different because she won't even touch the MC food that we have in the house. I guess she gets a little more picky when she is on a low. Although like I have said before she really does seem perfectly normal the the mid to upper 40s.
 
Re: 2/6 Sami AMPS 58; + 2.5 45

Tina,

I se your reasoning on the dry,but often it can take longer than that to really start having an impact on go on way beyond when you want it to.
Be interesting to see your numbers.

Focus on using HC Gravy to get her on a surf.

You sound like your comfortable with what your doing. Hope you guys have a nice day, enjoy your knitting group (been so long for me I can't remember how to do it anymore!) :mrgreen:


Adding here as you've posted since:
You don't need to put the gravy on the LC, it's the gravy not the meat that has most of the carbs in. Reason I'm saying the gravy is so Sami doesn't get too fulland then when she might really need to get her numbers up she's too full to eat anymore.
I got a FELIX HC, but don't know if you can get that where you are (25%)-Lucky loved it! Kitekat I think was somewhere between 14-18%? I know I used it as a MC. Again don't know if you ca get any of these brands.

You can also add just a teeny tsp of honey or karo onto LC,that will shoot her numbers up a lot (again not necessarily for a long period). Your in that zone where you want to raise her up but only enough to surf.
 
Re: 2/6 Sami AMPS 58; + 2.5 45

kate and lucky said:
My view, regardless of when, you dosecrease. To me this is not a case of carryover, it's a kitty whose pancrease is doing a damn fine job of waking up. You can't be testing every 30 mins for the next 24hrs!

I will probably test again at +3 and then continue to test every hour unless I see her dropping again. My friends will be arriving in the next hour and then there will be lots of yarn flying so the kitties will be very happy chasing needles and yarn. They also love it when my Yarnies come over because they can go from one lap to the next and get attention all day long. Not that they don't all get way more attention than they would ever need, but they get a double and triple dose on Knitting Club Day.
 
Re: 2/6 Sami AMPS 58; + 2.5 45

Sounds like a plan to me :mrgreen:

Sure does sound fun for the kitties too.

Something I meant to say. You said Sami seems fine in low 40's. I caught Lucky more than once at 27 and you wouldn't have known! Got to remember the meter variance and ECID, that's why important to lookat whole cat too.

Enjoy :mrgreen:
 
Re: 2/6 Sami AMPS 58; + 2.5 45

kate and lucky said:
I se your reasoning on the dry,but often it can take longer than that to really start having an impact on go on way beyond when you want it to.
Be interesting to see your numbers.

I didn't know how the dry food would work. This is the first time I have done this. I guess we will see how it goes. I think I gave her less than 15 pieces of food, so hopefully it won't spike her up later in her cycle after the insulin is starting to wear off. I just wanted to try something a little different and I know how much she loved that dry food.

kate and lucky said:
You can also add just a teeny tsp of honey or karo onto LC,that will shoot her numbers up a lot (again not necessarily for a long period). Your in that zone where you want to raise her up but only enough to surf.

Do cats really eat the honey or karo when it is on the food? It really doesn't sound like it would taste good. And unfortunately I have spoiled my kitties and they can be very picky about what they eat. And like any mom when my babies are sick they get just about anything they want.
 
Re: 2/6 Sami AMPS 58; +3 52

At + 3 Sami is at 52. As I stated before my plan is to test every hour for the next 4-6 hours. If she goes above 60 then I will probably give her an hour off.

At this point, not knowing where she will be at PMPS, I am assuming that I should be dropping her down to .75 units tonight. Is this correct?


Hope everyone has a great day, I probably won't be checking in much over the next few hours, but will check in before her shot time of 5:30 pm EST tonight.
 

Attachments

  • SCAN0015.jpg
    SCAN0015.jpg
    79.5 KB · Views: 140
Re: 2/6 Sami AMPS 58; +3 52

Unless she goes to rebound city (high pmps) then yes dosecrease is my vote to .75u.

I won't be around then, but sure others will. Some people shoot through rebound and then take the reduction on the next shot. I'm coming from the fact she's surfed very low numbers early in the last 2 cycles even with a skipped shot under her belt.

Looks like the MM's (thanks for explanation) really work for her.
 
Re: 2/6 Sami AMPS 58; +3 52

Wow! Looking good here and you seem to be under control. Glad Kate was here to help you. Hi Kate!

For the HC food, I got the Fancy Feast varieties that included "gravy" in the name. Like Grilled Chicken Feast in Gravy... etc.
 
Re: 2/6 Sami AMPS 58; +11 62 Need dose advice

I was getting a little concerned about the tiny bit of high carb dry food that I gave Sami this morning when at +7 she was up to 102. I waiting until +9 to test again and I was expecting her to be even higher, but she was down a little at 95. Now at +11 she is at 62, and there is still an hour before PMPS.

Now I thought that the insulin was less potent aft +6, so could this drop in the afternoon be her own body working, or is it still the insulin that I gave this morning.

Also based on the low this morning I was expecting to decrease she dose again tonight to .75, is this what I should still do.




P.S. By the way, my vet emailed me today after looking at Sami's spreadsheet and expressed her concern over Sami's numbers under 60, so I had to remind her that the meter I am using to test is not calibrated for a cat and reads 30% lower than actual. I explained that although I don't want Sami hanging out in the 40's I wasn't too concerned about her going hypo based on how she was acting and the fact that have tested my non-diabetic cat and got readings of 55 and 59 after a meal. I hope she didn't think I was being a know it all. She suggested that I only give insulin if she is over 100.
 
Re: 2/6 Sami AMPS 58; +11 62 Need dose advice

Iv'e found that Tess will eat anything if I sprinkle a little powder form freeze dried beef liver on her food. There are the one you can only get online, but most pet stores will have it in the dog food section. Just check the ingredients for 100% liver.

Just buzz a few chunks in the blender and sprinkle a few pinches on her food. I also save the water that I rinse the blender with to add to her food.Tasty! When Tess goes low I know I can get her to eat if I use this. I don't think it adds much in carbs, just taste.
 
Re: 2/6 Sami AMPS 58; +11 62 Need dose advice

I agree with a dose reduction to 0.75. Congratulations!

As far as why she is dropping again now, it could be just the HC food wearing off.
 
Re: 2/6 Sami AMPS 58; +11 62 Need dose advice

Libby and Lucy said:
I agree with a dose reduction to 0.75. Congratulations!

As far as why she is dropping again now, it could be just the HC food wearing off.

Sounds good I will give the .75 dose shortly.
 
Re: 2/6 Sami PMPS 51; NOW WHAT!

Okay, now Sami is at 51. I am going to wait another 15-20 minutes and test again, but I just can't see giving a shot when she is below 60. this morning I shot at 58, but then I immediately gave her food and then had to throw in some HC. I would like to prevent having to supplement with HC.

What should I do?
 
Re: 2/6 Sami PMPS 51; NOW WHAT!

Libby and Lucy said:
you can stall til she gets to the 60's, no problem with that at all.

Sure I can stall but does that mean I need to stall dinner too?

How long should I stall?

What if she falls below 50, then I will need to feed.

At this point I am thinking I might have to skip again.
 
Re: 2/6 Sami PMPS 51; NOW WHAT!

yes, stall dinner. If you catch a number below 50 while you're stalling, you can feed a tsp or two of LC but I wouldn't feed dinner, that will just create a food spike. How long can you stall tonight?
 
Re: 2/6 Sami PMPS 51; NOW WHAT!

I hope someone has an idea what to do. I'm totally lost... what a green ride!
Good luck with whatever you decide!
 
Re: 2/6 Sami PMPS 51; NOW WHAT!

Libby and Lucy said:
yes, stall dinner. If you catch a number below 50 while you're stalling, you can feed a tsp or two of LC but I wouldn't feed dinner, that will just create a food spike. How long can you stall tonight?

Well, with the mini meals that I have been giving she hasn't had food spikes. But I will wait for a little longer and test again. If she is under 50 I will feed the first mini meal, which is 1/6 can of Fancy Feast. Then I will test again in 30 minutes.
 
Re: 2/6 Sami PMPS 51 NO SHOT +.25 46; NOW WHAT!

She is at 46 now. I gave her 1/6 can of FF and will test again at 6:00 pm EST.

And at this point I am leaning towards a token dose or a skipped dose.
 
Re: 2/6 Sami PMPS 51 NO SHOT +12.5 40

After eating at least 1/6 can of LC food Sami is still dropping and is now at 40. I just fed some HC and another LC MM. I will test again in 30 minutes, but I think I am going to skip her shot again tonight. Is this crazy? Should I at least give a token dose.

So what does this mean. Does it mean that she might not need insulin any more. Should I resume a dose of .75 tomorrow morning?
 
Re: 2/6 Sami PMPS 51 NO SHOT +12.5 40

I would put something into the shed, not skip. It's only +12.5, how much longer can you stall and not be totally messed up tomorrow?
 
Re: 2/6 Sami PMPS 51 NO SHOT +12.5 40

Libby and Lucy said:
I would put something into the shed, not skip. It's only +12.5, how much longer can you stall and not be totally messed up tomorrow?

Well, I could continue to stall the shot, but now she has eaten 2 mini meals and a HC snack. Based on yesterday morning and seeing a similar reaction tonight I think I will go ahead and skip, or give a token dose of .25, but nothing more than that. And at this point we would be shooting a food induced number.
 
Okay, Sami jumped from 40 to 61 in 30 minutes so I decided to give a dose of .5. I was still nervous about giving her newly reduced dose of .75, but I didn't want her to see her rising all night long so gave the .5 because she was still low and I was shooting a food induced number. I also just gave her 3rd MM.

I will continue to monitor and will provide 3 more MM over the next 3 hours, and I will test her at +2 and +3 to make sure she is surfing.
 
Well, maybe I should have stuck with my first instinct.

At her new +1, after a shot of .5, she is at 45. I have given another round of HC food and will check again in 30 minutes.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top