2/6 Sabian (PZI) PMPS-310 1u, +2 225 +3 261 +4 269

Status
Not open for further replies.

patrick_777

Member Since 2011
Just FYI here. 1u given this morning after an AMPS test of 357. The only food in the house is high-carb, which is going to change today. I had to feed her 9L sliced beef in gravy, but only a bit...less than she normally gets with it.
 
Re: 2/6 Sabian (New Prozinc) AMPS-357 1u dose given

Great that you are going to change food. I took Janet and Binky's chart with me to the store Janet and Binky’s chart It really helped me sort through the various brands and flavors.

It will be interesting to see what difference a food change makes. With Oliver, we switched from dry to wet and his numbers came down 100 points overnight. If you are switching from high carb to lower carb, it may be less of a difference or she may surprise us. It won't matter; you are testing so you can adjust.
 
Re: 2/6 Sabian (New Prozinc) AMPS-357 1u dose given

I already have that chart printed out, stapled and ready to go with me to the store! I'm transitioning her off of dry to wet, and from high-carb (wet & dry) to low carb wet alone. I'd like to see her numbers change just due to the diet change...we'll see though.
 
Re: 2/6 Sabian (New Prozinc) AMPS-357 1u dose given

patrick_777 said:
I already have that chart printed out, stapled and ready to go with me to the store!

:mrgreen: You are SOOOO on top of it! That Sabian is one lucky kitty.

No further suggestions for the time being. Mainly just stopping by to say good morning, and hope you have a great day! Enjoy the food shopping.
 
Re: 2/6 Sabian (PZI) AMPS-357 1u +7-286

Went to the store and picked up a truckload of low-carb wet food off the list. Looked through the treats section (it wasn't Petsmart) but everything they had (even the doggie stuff) had wheat, corn or rice flour as the #1 or #2 ingredient. Ugh.

I picked up a vacupak of tuna though and might try something like that...if anything, I can use it on my own salad. Also got home and just took a reading (already running low on strips!) and it was 286, but that was a high-carb breakfast this morning and probably a little grazing on Science Diet dry.
 
Re: 2/6 Sabian (PZI) AMPS-357 1u +7-286

I don't know if we have mentioned it, but lots of us just bake or boil a chicken breast - no spices and take off skin - and then slice it up into tiny pieces and freeze it until we need a treat.
 
Re: 2/6 Sabian (PZI) AMPS-357 1u +7-286 +11-310

+11 = 310. Looks like it's averaging down from yesterday by a bit.

BTW, anybody watch the Puppy Bowl on Animal Planet? Kitty Halftime!
 
Re: 2/6 Sabian (PZI) AMPS-357 1u +7-286 +11-310

Patrick, with your weather forecast for Tues. into Wed., tomorrow might be a good time to get more strips. One can never have enough strips :mrgreen:
 
Re: 2/6 Sabian (PZI) AMPS-357 1u +7-286 +11-310

Lots better numbers today! I can't wait to see what Sabian does with that low carb food you got today!
 
Re: 2/6 Sabian (PZI) AMPS-357 1u +7-286 +11-310

Hope + (((Baby)))GA said:
Patrick, with your weather forecast for Tues. into Wed., tomorrow might be a good time to get more strips. One can never have enough strips :mrgreen:

Already on top of it! Went and grabbed 70 sugar strips and some ketone strips right before the game. :-D
Thanks!
 
Re: 2/6 Sabian (PZI) AMPS-357 1u +7-286 +11-310

Yes, Patrick, yes!

It's my first Puppy Bowl! And, yes, my first Kitty Halftime! Personally, I knew CB was MVP...


Okay, enough truly fun stuff...



When you are switching a diabetic cat's (who's newly on insulin) diet, it's both good and okay to go s-l-o-w-l-y. You know, like mixing a bit of the new into the old... Maybe a teaspoon full at a time, maybe two because you're testing. With PZI, you want to make sure food is on are board and staying in the tummy kind of deal. Make sense?

It's a food change vs now getting insulin kind of Sabian thing...

It's really great you're hometesting!

Welcome to the place you never wanted to be, but will be blessed for having found, kind of hugs,
Deb and Nikki -- and Giz, forever whispering in my heart, and who sent me Nikki...
 
Re: 2/6 Sabian (PZI) PMPS-310 1u, +2 225!

Patrick, that's an 85 point drop in 2 hrs. She still has a long way to go so please keep an eye on her and do spot checks. You'd be amazed how fast they can drop sometimes. How about start a new thread with subject Sabian (PZI) PMPS-310 1u, +2 225
 
Re: 2/6 Sabian (PZI) PMPS-310 1u, +2 225!

Hope + (((Baby)))GA said:
Patrick, that's an 85 point drop in 2 hrs. She still has a long way to go so please keep an eye on her and do spot checks. You'd be amazed how fast they can drop sometimes. How about start a new thread with subject Sabian (PZI) PMPS-310 1u, +2 225

She has access to some high-carb dry, but the wet food she's eaten this afternoon and evening was low-carb. Should I not go to bed tonight?
 
Re: 2/6 Sabian (PZI) PMPS-310 1u, +2 225!

I've been changing the thread title to this one. Should I start a thread with the same title? I hate to dupe threads.

--
Gave 1u at 8:30. About 45 minutes before her shot it was 310. 2 hours after the shot it was 225. Fed low-carb wet food and she has access to high-carb dry. She's not liking the pokes tonight either.

Is this a dramatic drop? I figured I'd be safe with the 1u with it 310 at 7:45p. Her treat for the +2 test was still a few nuggets of Purina DM dry...

By the way, she found and annihilated the baggie of "treat" DM dry food I had somewhat hidden. Probably a small handful of it.
 
Re: 2/6 Sabian (PZI) PMPS-310 1u, +2 225!

I would start a new thread.....this one is getting long and if you need help, a new post would get it quicker. Even though she has access to high carb, doesn't mean she is going to eat it. I would at least get a +3 and a +4 spot check to see if she keeps dropping down like she is. One theory is to divide the 85 by 2 which would give you approximate 42 1/2 points an hour and if she keeps doing it, she would work out to be about 140 at +4 which still probably is not peak time yet. Testing will tell you if she keeps dropping like she has.
 
Re: 2/6 Sabian (PZI) PMPS-310 1u, +2 225!

Its a sizeable drop. But nothing to get too frantic over. 225 is still pretty high up there. You said she got into some kibble (normal cat behavior). Do you have an idea when?

If you can try and get a +4 or +6 that would be good. Remember we told you the liver may have panicked from those low numbers a few days ago and expect to see some high one's to follow? Its what we call a bounce. Those high numbers can last up to 72hrs. This would be about the time it could break for Sabian. Thats why you were holding the 1u dose, while checking for ketones.

Its good to see the insulin is working! :mrgreen:

So the plan:
test @ +4 or +6 (both if you can since she is dropping). Set an alarm or stay up. Keep in mind they ALWAYS throw different numbers at the most inconvenient times. ;-) If she is around the same # its called surfing and you may be good to got to sleep. There is a meter differenece of what I believe is 10%. If dropping below that, maybe keep testing if you can.

Review http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopi ... =14&t=1122 in the case of low numbers.
Sounds like you have all the stuff for a hypo kit: http://www.felinediabetes.com/phorum5/r ... sg-1661798 ( I doubt you will need tonight but helps you sleep a little more sound).

Im heading to bed in a few. Im sure there will be people in/out thru the night. IF you ever have a true emergency, you can put a 911 icon in your original heading. You can post in pzi. And, I wouldnt hesitate to post in lantus. They may not be familiar with the insulin you are using, but they will be able to help with low numbers and other issues.

Im always a fan of keeping one post per day, unless there is a big emergency. Keeps things consolidated a bit and easier for people to help.

Look forward to seeing tomorrow for your two!
 
Re: 2/6 Sabian (PZI) PMPS-310 1u, +2 225!

carolynandlatte said:
Its a sizeable drop. But nothing to get too frantic over. 225 is still pretty high up there. You said she got into some kibble (normal cat behavior). Do you have an idea when?

Sometime between the shot and +2. Probably closer to the +2 test.
 
Re: Old thread - 2/6 Sabian (PZI) PMPS-310 1u, +2 225!

ECID...She may have a spike by +4 or so. Maybe test +3, 4 or 5. If still dropping try a +6 then continue until comfortable with her numbers. If similar numbers or the same ...go to bed (or wake for a +6 to add data - your choice). :mrgreen:

I think you will be fine.

Can you put the kibble in your freezer? Thats about the only place, other than a locked safe w/combo a cat cant get into ! :lol:
 
Re: Old thread - 2/6 Sabian (PZI) PMPS-310 1u, +2 225!

Paranoid me just took a +3 and it was 261. Looks like a lowish meter read or that high-carb snack kicked in.

I'm unstressed a bit now.
 
Re: Old thread - 2/6 Sabian (PZI) PMPS-310 1u, +2 225!

Good! She is probably surfing (within meter range) OR heading up from the kibble.
No worries about paranoid. Take a look at Latte's ss and see how much I had to test due to her frequent 100+ pt dives in an hr or two. You do what you need to do to keep them safe! :mrgreen:

Nini!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top