2/6 China AMPS 301,+3 230,+6 101,+9 243,PMPS 323,+2.5 243,+4.5 133,+6.5 162

Status
Not open for further replies.

Chris/China (GA)/Garfield

Member Since 2013
Yesterday's awful numbers...and difficult decisions for DM

2/5 AMPS 294,+4 178,+10 246,PMPS 370,+3 279, +5 206

Not happy with the AMPS, but liking the +6 much better!! Now China...if you'd just PLEASE not do anything crazy this afternoon and give me a nice PMPS ??

I'm going to hold the 1 unit dose for a few more cycles and see what happens...if she doesn't start giving me some better numbers, I'm going to try taking the RadCat totally out of the picture and just feeding her FF and see if it seems to make any difference. I still wouldn't understand why the RC would be causing the wonky numbers, but I'm grasping at straws here.

It's probably going to be at least the week of the 15th before I can find a time to get her into the vet. It'd be so much easier if I didn't have to go so far away! Between DM and I, we have appointments every day next week and there's just no way for me to cram in a 3+ hour trip

Hope you're all having a nice Friday, despite some of our crazy cats!
 
Hey, China! What are you doing up there on shore? C'mon in - the water's great! - Cinco

That was some drop, Miss China. Don't you use it as an excuse to bounce again, now. I thought your mamabean got rid of that trampoline!

Paws crossed that she remembers how much better she feels in the lower numbers and sticks around there for a while, Chris.

Sending lots of good dr. visit vines for you and your DM. She's in my prayers. :bighug:
 
46112.jpg
 
Hi Chris,
Thanks for your take on Rad Cat. It is strange that it should raise China's bg, judging from the list of ingredients. Do you feed two meals a day, as they recommend, or do you feed several smaller meals? I wonder if that makes a difference. They specifically say that cats should eat Rad Cat the way they would eat if they were eating their prey: a whole 3-ounce portion at once. The reasoning is that cats in the wild don't graze. Rusty is a grazer. And here on the board we are used to feeding our diabetic cats many smaller meals in order not to overwhelm the pancreas. It's something that I will have to think about when I try it on Rusty. It sounds like such a great food!! But I don't want to mess him up.

Sending vines for your and your DM's dr. appointments,

Ella & Rusty
 
She eats about every 3 hours Ella...which is the same amount of feedings she was getting on the Natures Variety. I think a lot of foods recommend twice a day feedings on the labels, but with diabetics, it seems smaller meals are easier on the pancreas (which makes total sense to me...seems like a large meal would make the pancreas try to work really hard to produce enough insulin to deal with it, where smaller meals wouldn't stress it so much. They tell human diabetics to eat 6 small meals a day instead of 3 big ones, and we do a lot of stuff here that's based on how humans are treated.....as well as what's been shown to work over years of real life treatment

We've been through the "too low in carbs" discussion before Wendy and over the past 2 years, I've played with that idea several times but it's never seemed to make a big difference with her. Of course too high in carbs she goes up (like she should!)

I know Dr. Lisa's site says it's 0% and I wish I was a math whiz and could figure out how she gets her numbers! (I know there's a "formula"...I'm just not good enough in math to figure it out)

On the website, they have a pretty detailed Nutritional Analysis, but it doesn't have figures in the "Dry Matter" boxes for carb %
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top