2/5 Shadoe amps 409 pmps 394 +5 356

Status
Not open for further replies.

Blue

Member Since 2009
Yesterday’s Condo

Yesterday's recap:
396 - amps
385 - +11
391 - pmps (shot @6pm, fluids @7pm)
353 - +2
356 - +4
409 - amps

Not much to say about yesterday, so I won't.

The nice vet was very busy; I saw that when I was at the office last nite, but she is always good to call back, which she did at the end of her shift at 11pm.
She has not had an opportunity to look closely into the 2 test info sheets I left for her, but she is going to call the lab today and get info about shipping, likely by purolator or a similar. I told her that there are others in Canada who have had their blood draws sent by their vets and it seems this one place is the only one in N.America that does the tests, so if others in Saskatoon or Calgary or Winnipeg can get the test done, then so should she.
I made a point of mentioning the prices listed for the cost of the tests, 12 and 45 US I think, and also that these 2 conditions are not as rare as she may think so having the knowledge of the process for shipping would be valuable experience for her to have in treating other diabetic cats. I said that I wanted to know what the real shipping costs would be if handled by them because I was willing to ship on my own if too costly from the vets billing. She's good though, and said they may send to their lab and have their lab ship to the US lab, or she may send directly, but would look into the logistics because there are only certain days that the tests are done, and we would have to plan when to draw blood and ship so that it arrives in time for the test.
Off the top of my head, I told her to look it up and she may find that up to 30% of all diabetic cats have one or both of these conditions, when looking at high dose animals. Yeah, I know my numbers could be whacked, but it got her attention.
I said I could try to find out more from others here in Canada who have had the tests done, if they know anything about how the shipping was done.

She said that fluids are like kitty gatoraid with good stuff that is not going to harm Shadoe so if some fluids are seeming to make Shadoe act better, it's likely good to give her some. I said I was thinking of every 2nd day, and she agreed that would be just fine.
For the pain and nausea meds, she said that I can continue to use the pepcid and Codeine TD and if I felt I needed more, just pop in and if needed to be ordered for us, she would, no problem. I do still have the cerenia on hand if ever needed.
For the insulin, she said definitely increase and is just fine with whatever I have said about being more aggressive with increases based on her numbers.
Like I said before, she may not be an expert on FD, but she is willing to work with us and is receptive to learning more.
I am glad that she is going to get the ball rolling on the 2 tests, gathering info, and then we can arrange to take Shadoe in on a day that will get the blood draw to the proper lab in time to test.

This morn, both cats jumped on the bed to wake me up, before the alarm, then jumped off; that was nice. There was nothing out of normal today - The pepcid snuck down the same was as yesterday, Shadoe had some chicken cubes while waiting for test/shot/feed time.
After all of that stuff was out of the way, Shadoe went over to nibble her fresh catnip while lying down. She was reaching up to the plant with her paw, pulled down some of the plant, then chewed on that part. In the end, she pulled the whole plant over sideways, onto herself.
Whoa, what happened there? She don't know; she just moved over a bit and pretended that it was like that when she got to the rug! Honest!
I got out a couple catnip mouses that were in a container of dried catnip, just marinating for her. I also watered and uprighted her fresh plant.
And Shadoe was happy again. She tossed the mouses around, rolled in the dry catnip, and nibbled on the plant while standing this time.

Now, she is grooming and nicely stretched out on the hall rug. She really likes the hall or the two rugs I put down there. Maybe they feel nice for sleeping.

Time to get ready for work and head out. I may be home in time for a +11, but we will see tonite. The auto feeder is loaded, there is fresh catnip on the rug, so Shadoe is fine with it. I am allowed to go out.

Scratches for all the kitties and pretty numbers on the beans' tests.
 
Re: 2/5 Shadoe amps 409

Good Morning Gayle
Well it is nice to see a happy playful Shadoe, not withstanding the numbers she is so fond of.
I am happy that it seems to have gone well with nice vet and that she is open to going ahead
and doing these tests, wthout quaoting you a $1000 bill like my vet #2.

For your piece of mind I think it is a good idea to have them done so hopefully there will be some answers, rather than just wondering.
Have a good day ay work.
We will tell Booboo to keep an eye on Shadoe for you.
 
Re: 2/5 Shadoe amps 409

Well, that vet sounds really great to work with...good for you! so happy for that at least...we hear so many stories, ya know?
Your morning sounds very busy with all that you have to do to leave...and that's not considering all that you want to do for yourself. you are so efficient...sound as if you have a big mental checklist going on each morning just to get out of the house!

That was cute with Shadoe and the catnip plant... :lol: I think George Carlin did a bit about cats who hurt themselves or do something that looks stupid and then they act all cool about it...then they run behind the couch out of sight and began screaming , well, you can imagine what they are screaming. :lol: Did you ever see that or is it before your time...?
Mine always look as if to say "I meant to do that"

ETA...ok, just found it on You tube... George Carlin is pretty raw ..lol...but it's funny... http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Nzvm8k5kSjs (adutl language... :lol: )

Hope you have a wonderful Friday and hope that Shadoe will see some better numbers...
 
Re: 2/5 Shadoe amps 409

You're vet sounds awesome, Gayle. And Shadoe sounds awesome, too. :mrgreen: His WCR is great, now if he could just get some great numbers to go along with it.

My Morgan is the king of "I meant to do that" and "I didn't do that, I was sitting here the whole time"...he never fails to make me laugh.
 
Re: 2/5 Shadoe amps 409

Randi,
I will FOR SURE share with you ALL of the shipping info/details; Canadians need to stick together and share such info because there may be some differences in costs when shipping outside of Canada.
I don't want to rush, rather want a plan in place before we do a single thing. I want my vet well educated along with me. She's really a nice lady and has been there for over a decade that I know - ever since I moved to Toronto - so she's not new.
I will be interested to see the justification for any $1000 bill for 2 tests that total to a cost of $57 USD.
Yeah, I want it in writing too, cuz anything outlandish will be shared with the public and I'll be looking at shipping it on my own. I mean come on!
If I get a good quote, it may be to your advantage to have MY vet ship Max's sample to the US :lol:

Pat,
George Carlin is one of the BEST! Thanks for reminding me; I need to put some more of him on my iPod so I can have chuckles to and from work. I just checked; I have no cat stuff in there RATS.
 
Re: 2/5 Shadoe amps 409 pmps 394

Quiet evening so far, cycle 5 isn't showing much improvement in the numbers, so if no visible move down the numbers after tomorrow's shot, I suppose we will go with another increase Sat night, just don't know up to what.

Shadoe ate ALL food in the feeder sections today, and is not licking her lips at all, but I'll give her the pepcid piece later tonite. I'll get a couple tests later, and hope we see some decent numbers.
 
Re: 2/5 Shadoe amps 409 pmps 394

Gayle
I was waiting for you to post PMPS already. I wanted to know what was up with Shadoe (well not the number, sorry)
I'm going to go ahead and do Max now.
BTW, I think I will need that info for the testing because I just might need it too, and I cannot find a vet in this city that will listen to me.
I'll check back with you soon.
 
Re: 2/5 Shadoe amps 409 pmps 394

Loved the WCR! Our kitties are so silly sometimes! Like we didn't see them knock something over or forget their dignity when catnip is involved!

Your vet really does sound like a keeper!
 
:YMSIGH: Well that was quick. Shadoe got close to yellow, but missed it on this shot.
As usual, she's all stretched out, front paws straight out in front of herself, sleeping and purring.

Her AM shot is cycle 6. If no change, we will likely increase dose on PM shot, but not sure where to go - 6.75 or right up to 7u?

At any rate, it's off to bed for us now.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top