Re: 2/5 Morpheus amps-69 +1-71 +5.5-61
Many of us shoot low numbers and it's absolutely a goal to be able to do so. However, when you've just begun to give insulin, you need to have enough data to know when Lantus onset and nadir are, what kind of duration you're getting, how much overlap between shots you're seeing, and most importantly, you need to be confident in your ability to manage low numbers should Morpheus' numbers drop lower than you're seeing. At this point, you're still in data gathering phase. I'm not sure who is advising you to shoot low at this point, but as I said earlier, safety is the foremost consideration.
I'm not suggesting you should do anything more than make sure you are around to get at least a +1 and a +2 when you're seeing numbers this low. Those tests may give you an idea of how the cycle will go and whether you'll need to intervene. The +1 will often reflect a food spike. The +2 should be around the same as the +1. If you are seeing those numbers go lower than your pre-shot, it may be an active cycle and you will need to test. Unfortunately, because you get a beautiful flat curve on one day, it doesn't mean the curve will be the same the next day or even the next cycle. Cats tend to be inscrutable and not let us know their plans in advance.
I'm glad you're thinking ahead for the work week. You may want to consider a timed feeder, unless Morpheus is a grazer. What went wrong with the "catsickles"?