2/5 Morpheus amps-69 +1-71 +5.5-61 pmps-96

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 2/5 Morpheus amps-69

Donna --

If you are still home, please get a +1 at the very least. I hope you left a ton of food out for Morpheus if you left the house. Shooting this low without very much data can be dangerous. Yesterday's curve was gorgeous. Every day is different though and you have no idea if Morpheus is angling for a dose reduction. Safety is always the first consideration.
 
Re: 2/5 Morpheus amps-69

I hope you are still home and read Sienne's reply. I would not have shot a 69 and then leave. Please leave lots of food. Preferably stay home.
 
Re: 2/5 Morpheus amps-69

Nice numbers Morpheus! When they are angling for a dose reduction, they will go <50 in order to prove Hope you have a good morning...
When they want a dose reduction they go <50 to prove that they want less insulin. Wondering if Morpheus is going to prove that soon....best to be vigilant when their numbers are in the greens. We usually feed a little more food or leave food out when they are low. Hope you will be home soon to test him....
 
Re: 2/5 Morpheus amps-69 +1-71 +5.5-61

Did grab another bg before going out the door. I have mixing a Tablespoon or so of the WD into his food so trying to help him not drop when I am working. I also tried making lo-carb ice cubes to leave out but that didn't work out so well. He gets snacks (about 2T of food about +5 or +6 everyday). Been told by a couple of people to continue to shoot 60's and 70's. I don't like it, but I am trying to use my days off to find something safe for when I am working. Really hoping he keeps this up next week. If he does, then I will consider a drop to .25
 
Re: 2/5 Morpheus amps-69 +1-71 +5.5-61

Many of us shoot low numbers and it's absolutely a goal to be able to do so. However, when you've just begun to give insulin, you need to have enough data to know when Lantus onset and nadir are, what kind of duration you're getting, how much overlap between shots you're seeing, and most importantly, you need to be confident in your ability to manage low numbers should Morpheus' numbers drop lower than you're seeing. At this point, you're still in data gathering phase. I'm not sure who is advising you to shoot low at this point, but as I said earlier, safety is the foremost consideration.

I'm not suggesting you should do anything more than make sure you are around to get at least a +1 and a +2 when you're seeing numbers this low. Those tests may give you an idea of how the cycle will go and whether you'll need to intervene. The +1 will often reflect a food spike. The +2 should be around the same as the +1. If you are seeing those numbers go lower than your pre-shot, it may be an active cycle and you will need to test. Unfortunately, because you get a beautiful flat curve on one day, it doesn't mean the curve will be the same the next day or even the next cycle. Cats tend to be inscrutable and not let us know their plans in advance.

I'm glad you're thinking ahead for the work week. You may want to consider a timed feeder, unless Morpheus is a grazer. What went wrong with the "catsickles"?
 
Re: 2/5 Morpheus amps-69 +1-71 +5.5-61

Hi Donna, I don't think I have welcomed you yet so Welcome!

Sienne is right, a lot of us do shoot 60s and 70s once we have data. You're going a long way toward getting the data this weekend, but with as drastically as Morpheus's spreadsheet has changed in the last few days (since he got his antibiotic injection) I wouldn't feel very confident in doing to. Also, it looks like he hit 45 two days ago on 0.5 units, so that alone has earned him a reduction to 0.25 units BID per our protocol.

It looks like he must have had some infection going on that the antibiotic is helping to clear out. Often the infection causes their numbers to rise, and clearing the infection can make the numbers drop again very quickly. Even those of us with tons of data have to be very cautious of low numbers when a cat starts to feel better. My suggestion is to reduce his dose to 0.25 units BID tonight.
 
Re: 2/5 Morpheus amps-69 +1-71 +5.5-61

Thanks for the welcome. Unfortunately, getting a +2 on workdays is a luxury that can't be done. Because the Monday pm shot will be done blind, if he is lowish in the am (80's or less) I probably won't have it done. The kitty cubes...He tried to crunch them, rather than lick at them. He has many missing teeth as he was eating bark and rocks when I found him. Some of his remaining teeth are cracked (that will be the next project). He also scooted them around the house leaving trails of melted food. Despite all this, I am still glad I didn't listen to everyone else and euthanize him when I found him. He is started to look and act like a healthy cat.
 
Amazing how these animals know how to read S-U-C-K-E-R :lol: Somebody cared about him at one time because he had been neutered. My only guess is that he was diabetic and they couldn't/wouldn't take care of him and abandoned him out at the shooting range. Such a gentle boy. Has never given me a problem with poking his ear or shots or taking meds. I think my Oscar sent him to me.
 
I don't think you saw Libby's post suggesting that you lower Morpheus to 0.25u. I think that would be a good thing to do tomorrow morning. It will give you a day to see how he does on the lower dose. Morpheus earned the reduction!

I don't think they read "sucker." Cats choose us. I suspect you you will find that the bond that is created with caring for a diabetic cat is even more special. Morpheus knew you would be his person.
 
Lovely numbers for Morpheus and I don't think I've welcomed you either, Donna. You've got some of our most knowledgable folks posting on your condo ...it's always a treat to have them and their suggestions. Hope he continues to do fabulous on his new dose!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top